We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top two days in Whitby”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellies Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ellies Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top two days in Whitby”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Quiet, centrally located. The rooms were modern and well fitted out with first class bathrooms. Really good breakfast with a wide selection of choices. Pleasant and friendly hosts. Ideal for a short break in Whitby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buspack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
164
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Pete and Val brilliant hosts, nothing any bother to them. Room on the top very nice but a few stairs. Plenty of little touches around the room. Breakfast was served within us sitting down and it was very nice.

Room Tip: I have nothing negative to say about this. Just if you are in an attic room there is a lot of stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appliance15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Pete and Val are very welcoming and helpful with their local knowledge and you do feel as though you are being welcomed into their home. As with all Whitby guest houses, there are a lot of stairs up to the rooms so please be aware. The room was well furnished and tastefully decorated, as well as being very comfortable. There were the usual tea and coffee facilities, generously provided, as well as shower gel etc in the en-suite. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, including fruit, cereals and a variety of cooked breakfasts. There are parking facilities in a local school yard if required - enquire of Val and Pete for details. All in all, our stay in Whitby was greatly enhanced by this guest house.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2509Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellies_Guest_House, Owner at Ellies Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hi Jill & Stuart

Thanks for your kind comments we really appreciate you taking the time.

Kind regards

Val & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Ellies guesthouse was well run, clean, modern and comfortable, hosts Pete and Val were very welcoming without being intrusive. Breakfast was great, well cooked, plentiful and lots of choice. Nice touches in the room were a fully stocked hospitality tray with sweets and biscuits.
The location was good, near all amenities but not noisy at night. All in all a lovely long weekend in Whitby, we will return to Whitby and most definitely Ellies Guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We realy enjoyed our stay ,there was the four of us,we could not have picked a better place for our weekend away ,,the b&b is lovely,we stayed in room 5 very nice everything was spotless ,tea tray fully stocked ,breakfast realy good ,I loved the cheese omelet , val makes some very nice scones,also liked the all the hand crafts val makes ,Peter and val are very nice people,made the four of us feel very welcome, Thank you both.

Room Tip: Any room will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gannet66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

me and my husband went fri 13th sep to sun 15th sep for our anniversary. pete and val couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. breakfast was amazing with lots of choice. room 8 which we stayed in was lovely and clean and very modern. the extra special touches were lovely such as biscuits and chocs on the tea tray in the room! we will 100% be staying again and have already recommended ellies to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keeley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellies_Guest_House, Owner at Ellies Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hi Keeley & John

It was nice to meet you both. We're pleased that you had a good time at Ellies and in Whitby. Thanks for recommending us to your family and friends.

Hope to see you again.

Regards

Val & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a lovely weekend with friends, B & B was perfect, very friendly, very comfortable, Pete and Val couldn't do enough for you!
The breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and freshly cooked.
The rooms were very clean and modern, with coffee/tea facilities.

Thanks for a lovely stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#22 of 152 in Whitby
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#4 of 152 in Whitby
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melrose Guest House
Melrose Guest House
#9 of 152 in Whitby
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#12 of 152 in Whitby
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellies Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellies Guesthouse

Property: Ellies Guesthouse
Address: 4 Langdale Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellies Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellies is a friendly family run guesthouse offering quality bed & breakfast accommodation, where you can be sure of a warm welcome in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Ideally positioned on the West Cliff just a few minutes walk from Whitby Pavilion, the sea front, Whitby Abbey, Whitby town and harbour, and all other tourist attractions. Our location also affords guests easy access to the nearby North Yorkshire Moors including Goathland (Heartbeat's 'Aidensfield'), Teesside, Scarborough and Filey. Whatever your interests - arts & crafts, walking, cycling, sea fishing, sightseeing, business trip or simply a holiday, Ellies Guesthouse offers a warm welcome, excellent accommodation and a substantial full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellies Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing