We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B & B, Tara & Pat, Bolton.”
Review of Ellies Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ellies Guesthouse
Ranked #17 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic B & B, Tara & Pat, Bolton.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Me & my Mum recently stayed for 2 nights at Ellie's Guest House. On arrival we were greeted by Pete & Val who could not have made us feel any more welcome. We stayed in room 3 which was a large spotlessly clean room, with a pretty little seating area. Breakfast was absolutely delicious & Val's homemade scones went down a real treat (a must). Will definitely be returning again and without hesitation would recommend this B & B to anyone. Tara & Pat, Bolton.

Room Tip: Room 3 - lovely large room with a little seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
172
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My Husband and I stayed at Ellie's Guesthouse for two nights (29 May) after reading the reviews we were not disappointed. We were made to feel very welcome by Val and Pete, The room was spotless and very comfortable, The made to order breakfast was delicious and Val's home made scones were scrummy! We would definitely book again without any hesitation !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we recently spent 2 nights at Ellie's B & B. We stayed in room 5 . It was fabulous- clean, spotless, very modern, lovely facilities. Pete and Val were the perfect hosts and breakfast was wonderful - cooked to order every day and fresh homemade scones . Wonderful . We will definitely return

Room Tip: room 5 was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambertruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Really friendly people running an excellent guest house.
Very comfortable, good breakfast, we felt really welcome. Good car parking arrangement. Best to phone before booking.
Recommended, we will go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I would stay here again BUT I would ask to stay in one of the rooms on a lower floor. We stayed in room #8 (attic) and it was a long 3 flights of stairs climb to our room. The room was very clean, nice bathroom with shower and bathtub. I would also warn about the very low angled ceiling on the left hand sit of the bed. I thought I could see it but i ended up bashing the top of my head into it twice. Also the B&B was advertised as having WIFI but we could not connect in the attic room. The B&B is in a very good location to the sea front but up the hill from most of the bars and restaurants. One VERY good feature of booking with this B&B is that for 2 a day you can park in the school car park (during weekends and school holidays ONLY).....otherwise parking is very scarce or nonexistent. The hosts were great and were very welcoming.

Room Tip: choose a room on one of the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Spent 3 nights here during the Whitby Gospel Convention, made to feel very welcome and Val and Pete are the perfect hosts. Very comfortable, clean rooms and great breakfasts! Many thanks and hopefully see you again soon. thanks, Andrew

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed with Val & Pete in 2014 - the room was extremely clean and the service was excellent. It served up all the special touches for a few days away. The breakfast was outstanding and nothing was to much trouble - thank you for your hospitality. I would recommend this guest house to anyone. Amanda and Steve Grainger Sheffield

Room Tip: Room 5 was on front but nice and airy - up a few flights of stairs but excellent accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 714SteveandAmanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#5 of 151 in Whitby
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellies Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellies Guesthouse

Property: Ellies Guesthouse
Address: 4 Langdale Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellies Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellies is a friendly family run guesthouse offering quality bed & breakfast accommodation, where you can be sure of a warm welcome in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Ideally positioned on the West Cliff just a few minutes walk from Whitby Pavilion, the sea front, Whitby Abbey, Whitby town and harbour, and all other tourist attractions. Our location also affords guests easy access to the nearby North Yorkshire Moors including Goathland (Heartbeat's 'Aidensfield'), Teesside, Scarborough and Filey. Whatever your interests - arts & crafts, walking, cycling, sea fishing, sightseeing, business trip or simply a holiday, Ellies Guesthouse offers a warm welcome, excellent accommodation and a substantial full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ellies Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing