We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Whitby B & B”
Review of Ellies Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ellies Guesthouse
Ranked #24 of 154 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just had a fantastic weekend away in Whitby made all the better by the stay at Ellies B & B with Pete & Val.

Its a good location close to the town centre and sea front and we enjoyed the relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

The room was really comfortable with plenty of light from the two windows and the facilities were first class.

We have stayed at several B & B's in Whitby and this was by far the best.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BITTERBLUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellies_Guest_House, Owner at Ellies Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hello Brian & Mye

Thanks for taking time to write such a positive review. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
Val & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have stayed here quite a few times since Val & Pete took over this B&B in around 2011. They are a lovely couple who have worked hard to make their guesthouse the place it is today and they are constantly looking at ways of making improvements, The B&B is warm & welcoming. The breakfast is lovely and as well as the usual full English there are other lighter options including scrambled eggs & smoked salmon. The room we had is really nice, good quality furniture and a really comfy bed. Towels are big and very fluffy, I had to ask Val for towel fullfiness tips. The B&B is in a handy place, a minutes walk to the Westcliffe through some lovely gardens, past the whale bone into the town. Or you can go into town the other way down some windy streets. We love this place and are already booked to go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindyl00B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Beautiful rooms comfortable beds shower and WC area clean Tea coffee biscuits and hot chocolate in the room Parking in a nearby school yard if needed Well placed and run by two friendly hosts well organised and friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just spent 4 nights at Ellie's and can thoroughly recommend this excellent B & B. We stayed in room 3 which is large, very well presented, very clean and comfortable with a lovely atmosphere. The hosts are welcoming and very friendly and the quality of the breakfasts is absolutely superb. This is the second time I have visited Whitby and stayed at Ellie's and I would definitely stay there again - it is well worth it and I highly recommend this wonderful B & B. Julie Shaw

Room Tip: Have stayed at the top in room 7 and lower down in room 3 and I loved both rooms - very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaw_julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just spent 2 days in whitby,at Ellie's guest house,very friendly couple,room was very clean and very well decorated,tasteful furniture.
Tea and coffee making facilities,with branded beverages,nescafe,pg tips,ect top biscuits as well.
Short walk to the sea,shops and bars.
Breakfast was not a dissapointment,fresh coffee,tea,fruit juice,branded cereal,home made scones(yummy) quality sausage,bacon and mushrooms,plus a choice of eggs ,toms,beans and much more.
All in all an enjoyable stay....reccomended

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

we stayed 4 nights in June at this most lovely b and b it was spotlessly clean, modern and warm with brill breakfasts and very, very welcoming hosts.
you could truly feel that Val and Pete cared about all they were doing and providing for their guests
WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Dave and Sue Pessall

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pessallp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We chose Ellies to stay and were not dissappointed it was ideal for walking the breakfast off and exploring by foot the centre and you can have a lovely walk along the sand to Sandsend.Val and Pete are very good hosts and look after you my wife is gluten free so she struggles a bit with what she can eat.Not a problem here she got gluten free sausages in the morning and bread and chocolate brownie in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin and H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 19 in Whitby
470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elford Guest House
Elford Guest House
#51 of 154 in Whitby
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#18 of 154 in Whitby
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#4 of 154 in Whitby
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waverley
The Waverley
#28 of 154 in Whitby
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#8 of 154 in Whitby
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellies Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellies Guesthouse

Address: 4 Langdale Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £75 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellies Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellies is a friendly family run guesthouse offering quality bed & breakfast accommodation, where you can be sure of a warm welcome in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Ideally positioned on the West Cliff just a few minutes walk from Whitby Pavilion, the sea front, Whitby Abbey, Whitby town and harbour, and all other tourist attractions. Our location also affords guests easy access to the nearby North Yorkshire Moors including Goathland (Heartbeat's 'Aidensfield'), Teesside, Scarborough and Filey. Whatever your interests - arts & crafts, walking, cycling, sea fishing, sightseeing, business trip or simply a holiday, Ellies Guesthouse offers a warm welcome, excellent accommodation and a substantial full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ellies Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing