We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice weekend breat”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House
Ranked #47 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“nice weekend breat”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

booked this with groupon, day before due to leave hotel phoned our break had been cancelled as new owner wouldn't take on groupon bookings let us re book at same cost but no evening meal - quite nice hotel, bit out of the way very thin walls could hear next door quite clearly, not comfy beds, staff friendly but wouldnt go again

Room Tip: ask for one not above the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evilbarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Galea, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
All your criticisms have been taken on board along with others.
We moved into The White House in January and have been working to improve many of our letting rooms including the annex. There are many more improvements planned for the future including new central heating. The bedding has already been upgraded.
Whilst we appreciate your review, the overall score you gave us does not compare with the individual ratings you scored us, and would ask that you consider this and possibility of increasing the overall star rating.
Regards
Dave Galea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    95
    40
    14
    8
See reviews for
57
196
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We got this as an unbelievably cheap Groupon deal as a getaway just after Xmas, so was not really expecting much. The hotel is nice, overlooking the golf course, and a pleasant walk along the beach took us into the centre of Whitby, a lovely, traditional fishing harbour.

We stayed in the Annex - Room 16, and it looked pretty shabby from the outside, but perfectly adequate once in. Toiletries were just adequate, shampoo, body lotion and conditioner. Ther is a hairdryer in the room. There was no view, from the annexe, just a Velux window, which was not really a problem especially given the price, as we just wanted a base to sleep for a couple of nights.

The bathroom was obviously new, and spotlessly clean, - some of the towels being brand new, and some a bit threadbare; - and the bed was, (in contrast to a previous review); beautifully comfortable, and I would have probably slept like a log if not for the loud intermittent 'bang' coming from the heater!!

We couldn't sleep without it on, as the room was cold without it. Also in contradiction the the previous review, the heater was working fine, and it got too hot one night, resulting in me getting up at 5 a.m. to turn it down!

The food was very good, although at dinner some items seemed cooler than they should have been, and the breakfast was help yourself, even hot drinks & toast! The staff could do with some training however, as the barman, although a lovely attentive and good host, didn't know what a brandy glass was, even as he held it in his hand! The waitress who served at dinner just plonked the bottle of wine on the table without pouring, which, to us not really a problem, but would have probably offended those looking for 'service'! Some of the wines and items on the menu were unavailable, but acceptable alternatives were offered.

All in all a lovely stay, (understandably things will improve after the changeover) - if not for that damn heater!! It will be interesting to go back to see the changes...

Room Tip: Dogs are welcome in certain rooms, probably why we were put in the Annexe! The rooms in the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbird29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed three nights and ate in the restaurant twice. Honest, non pretentious food at fair prices and reasonably comfortable and warm. Narrow steep stairs to the bedrooms. Rooms, bedding pillows and mattresses nothing special though furniture adequate and room large enough. Staff were nice and welcoming and helpful. The price made me hope for more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkcrofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Galea, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear hkcrofter

Thank you for your review, although it relates to before 6 January which was before I took over. I would be grateful if you could let Tripadvisor know this so that they will remove it for me.

Regards

Dave Galea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Exceeded our expectations. Staff and new management were superb, food good and location was ideal for us; overlooking the sea and the greens of the adjacent golf-course. On the northern edge of Whitby and an exhilarating walk along the cliff-tops (tarmac) into the port and the myriad of small shops and cafes, most open in mid-january. Comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeicsDamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in the annexe and were a little dubious due to previous comments. However the night we stayed was a frosty night and not once were we cold. Also can I just clarify that the bed was very comfortable.
The hotel has just been taken over by new owners. They have only been there a week! They were very welcoming and friendly. Always checking that everything was okay. We ate lunch there and we had a very tasty meal. The breakfast was also well cooked. Cereals, fruit juice and tea/coffee were all help yourself.
Well positioned away from the hustle and bustle, but easily walkable into town. Backed onto a golf course and right near the sea front near a promenade to walk into Whitby.
Will definitely return. Good luck to the new owners.

Room Tip: We didn't mind sleeping out in the annexe at all. However older people might prefer to stay in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northantshelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just recently stayed at this lovley hotel with a groupon deal and was not expecting much. To our delight it turned out to be a really nice hotel and the staff were exceptional!!!
We were given room 8 which had a balcony overlooking the golf course with absolutely fantastic views. The room was very clean and the bathroom was fab with a jaccuzzi bath which we did not expect. The breakfast was extremely good - help yourself to fresh fruit, chilled juices, cereals and toast. The very pleasant waitress took our order for a full English breakfast which was delicious. I would definately reccommend this hotel and we cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a juccuzzi bath and balcony overlooking the golf course. Fantastic !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel itself was nice the rooms very clean, but the room which we stayed in was outside the hotel in the annex in the car park. We walked into the room and it was freezing we put the heater on and went out for a couple of hours and when we got back it was still cold. I had to have a bath to warm me up and had to have my scarf on in bed while I watched the television. The bedroom eventually warmed up about 11.30pm. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have slept on and had no sleep all night.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helenlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Galea, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Helenlew
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
All your criticisms have been taken on board along with others.
We moved into The White House in January and have been working to improve many of our letting rooms including the annex. There are many more improvements planned for the future including new central heating. The bedding has already been upgraded.
Whilst we appreciate your review, the overall score you gave us does not compare with the individual ratings you scored us, and would ask that you consider this and possibility of increasing the overall star rating.
Regards
Dave Galea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,091 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
799 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: Upgang Lane, Whitby YO21 3JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House Hotel is a family run hotel that overlooks Whitby Golf Club and commands amazing views along the Yorkshire Coast towards Sandsend. The House has 11 bedrooms, a restauant serving local produce from moor and sea as well as having a relaxing welcoming bar which is popular with both guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing