We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night at Basil"s hotel”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House
Ranked #47 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I recently stayed at the White House Hotel in Whitby, and found that the hotel had recently changed owners.
I found the new owner to be rude much like Basil Faulty, the food was average for the price, and the service was slow.
Despite booking well in advance at an agreed price the owner charged for what he called an upgraded room, refusal to accept would have meant finding somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for an annex room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Galea, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear paul k
It is a shame your first review for tripadvisor is full of mistakes.
You booked and paid for a standard double room. You were upgraded at no extra cost. No extra payment was asked for and none was recieved. You never mentioned on your visit that you were unhappy with your free upgrade, but thank you for pointing out that our annex rooms are very good value.
You are not original in your attempt at abuse, basil faulty is a common name used by people who have been unable to enjoy a break through no fault of the owners.
I suggest our other reviews be read by anyone wanting a balanced review of our food and charges.
Regards
Dave Galea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stopped with my wife for a much needed short break.
Everything about the White House was spot on, accommodation, food and location.

Paid a little extra and had a balcony room with a view out to sea, fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tel-Itasitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed for a 2 night break over the bank holiday weekend, the greeting was friendly the atmosphere was warm and welcoming and the room clean and comfortable, we stayed in the stables. We ate in the bar area on arrival, lots of locals in which is always a good sign. The food and atmosphereBreakfast was again a pleasant experience the choice was good and staff couldn't do enough for us. Based in a quiet area with views of the golf course and the coast line, we would certainly recommend a stay here. 25 minute stroll along the coast into Whitby, would definately recommend and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brylynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a lovely evening here last week.Lots of space both inside and out for sitting to have a relaxing meal overlooking the sea.The staff were all very efficient and friendly and the food very good.We will certainly revisit this pub.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed for on night . Situatued on the outskirts of Whitby in mainly a residential area. So nice and quiet later in the evening. Takes approx 20min to walk into Whitby along the coast. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff. Our room was in the annex. This was a nicely modern decorated room with excellent facilities and extremely clean. The following morning we had the full english. I have to say it is probably one of the best breakfasts we have ever had, not only had they locally sourced alot of the produce, the portion size and quality of the food was excellent. We will definately return at some point for another weekend break

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for one night on our way. We were allocated a room in what they called the annex. This is situated at the top of the carpark. I was a bit sceptical at the time, but I needn't have been.
The room was very spacious and well lit. We had a double bed and there was plenty of storage space. The bathroom was of a good size with toiletries (good quality) and plenty of towels. The shower had a little issue in that the rail holding the shower head kept coming out of the holder and the shower head kept sliding back towards the wall.We mentioned this on departure and the woman behind the reception couldn't believe that this had not been mentioned before. She was so upset about it that she gave us a reduction on our room bill. We had not really been inconvienced by the issue. Tea, coffee and biscuits are also provided in the rooms.

Breakfast is served in the main pub restraunt area. Plenty of choice from a full english to kippers. All served in a very nice area overlooking a golf course and the sea.

One thing to remember if you are booking this Hotel. It's a 20 - 25min walk into Whitby along the coast (lovely views). If you get a taxi it's about £4.

Room Tip: Annex rooms are very quiet and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just got back from a lovely stay here, the rooms were great and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

We ate in the pub the night we arrived and the food was very good. The breakfasts were very good although the vegetarian breakfasts were basically the full English without the meat and a little small so the next day we asked for an extra poached egg and hash brown which they gave us with no issues, would just suggest they make this standard rather than having to ask and having a smaller breakfast on the first day. Unlimited toast and tea was great.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, we stayed in rooms 6 (family room), 8 (deluxe sea view room with balcony) and room 19 (in an annex separate to the pub with sky light) No issues with any of the rooms and they had set up a travel cot in the family room as well as it having a single and double bed and had great views of the golf course and countryside. Room 19 was for my brother and his girlfriend and was clean and comfortable and perfectly fine despite not having the views and the deluxe room was lovely with the balcony.

The location was great with lovely views of the sea, headland and countryside and golf course. The walk into Whitby was fine, we had a 3 month old baby with us in a baby carrier and the walk into Whitby wasn't too long as it was lovely weather and flat with the only steps at the end of the West Cliff down into Whitby town.

The rooms were a bit pricey but probably in line with the rest of Whitby which is quite expensive as it's so popular. The pub had a lovely atmosphere and was light and airy and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Thanks for a lovely stay, would definitely stay again :-)

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the family room 6 if you have a baby and older child it would be very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_and_S1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.9 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: Upgang Lane, Whitby YO21 3JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £78 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House Hotel is a family run hotel that overlooks Whitby Golf Club and commands amazing views along the Yorkshire Coast towards Sandsend. The House has 11 bedrooms, a restauant serving local produce from moor and sea as well as having a relaxing welcoming bar which is popular with both guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing