We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House
Ranked #52 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was the last night's stay of our holiday and one of the best rooms!
We had gone for an upgraded room and were very pleased when we walked in.
The room was a very good size and had a comfy sofa, a table with two chairs, large flat screen T.V. and a nice comfy bed.
There was an outside balcony with fine ‘sea views’.
The food at breakfast was good with plenty of choice.
It is a 20 minute walk into town along the cliff path, which is why we booked, and this means the Hotel is in a quiet area.
It was very surprising how busy they are in the evenings as the restaurant is very popular. This is one on those hotels that I would describe as a ‘little gem’.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a Delux room with Sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xyzKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    92
    40
    14
    8
See reviews for
55
186
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cheshire u.k.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed in April, sorry for the delay in the review. My partner booked for one night, bed and breakfast. Arrived, checked in, had some food, which was plentiful and fresh. We had all good intentions of propping the bar up all night, but after an afternoon in Whitby and taking in the sights and sea air, arrived back at the hotel full of scampi and chips and proceeded to fall in to slumber in the comfy bedroom with en-suite. The room had everything we needed, tea, coffee, toilet etc, overlooking the front of the hotel, but we were not disturbed by any road noise, it is a quiet part of town. Breakfast was more than adequate, which set us up for the day and only a light lunch was needed. Chatted with the landlady (sorry I forget your name) when we checked out and she was hoping the brewery were going to get the property back up to standard. It is only cosmetic, but everything works as it should and would stay again and certainly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallactictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

4 of us stayed here for a 40th birthday. Room was ok, could maybe do with updating and was wee under toilet seat. Other than that had all we needed and the bed was lovely n comfy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Had a meal in the middle room. I had a roast dinner and was delicious with loads of meat, Turkey and beef. Boyfriend had steak pie n chips, he said was super. Similarly the breakfast in the morning was great, brilliant service and the grilled kippers were a highlight. We only used hotel as a base but I would recommend to anyone, any age.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jenanddave_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I recently stayed at the White House Hotel in Whitby, and found that the hotel had recently changed owners.
I found the new owner to be rude much like Basil Faulty, the food was average for the price, and the service was slow.
Despite booking well in advance at an agreed price the owner charged for what he called an upgraded room, refusal to accept would have meant finding somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for an annex room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Galea, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear paul k
It is a shame your first review for tripadvisor is full of mistakes.
You booked and paid for a standard double room. You were upgraded at no extra cost. No extra payment was asked for and none was recieved. You never mentioned on your visit that you were unhappy with your free upgrade, but thank you for pointing out that our annex rooms are very good value.
You are not original in your attempt at abuse, basil faulty is a common name used by people who have been unable to enjoy a break through no fault of the owners.
I suggest our other reviews be read by anyone wanting a balanced review of our food and charges.
Regards
Dave Galea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Kingston upon Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stopped with my wife for a much needed short break.
Everything about the White House was spot on, accommodation, food and location.

Paid a little extra and had a balcony room with a view out to sea, fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tel-Itasitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed for a 2 night break over the bank holiday weekend, the greeting was friendly the atmosphere was warm and welcoming and the room clean and comfortable, we stayed in the stables. We ate in the bar area on arrival, lots of locals in which is always a good sign. The food and atmosphereBreakfast was again a pleasant experience the choice was good and staff couldn't do enough for us. Based in a quiet area with views of the golf course and the coast line, we would certainly recommend a stay here. 25 minute stroll along the coast into Whitby, would definately recommend and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brylynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely evening here last week.Lots of space both inside and out for sitting to have a relaxing meal overlooking the sea.The staff were all very efficient and friendly and the food very good.We will certainly revisit this pub.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#13 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: Upgang Lane, Whitby YO21 3JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House Hotel is a family run hotel that overlooks Whitby Golf Club and commands amazing views along the Yorkshire Coast towards Sandsend. The House has 11 bedrooms, a restauant serving local produce from moor and sea as well as having a relaxing welcoming bar which is popular with both guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing