We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant trip!!!”
Review of Whitby Steam Bus

Whitby Steam Bus
Ranked #3 of 17 Tours in Whitby
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant trip!!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

I've been on Elizabeth quite a few times now and my children never fail to be amazed by it. A lovely way to have a trip round Whitby and the driver showing off the fire is one of the best bits.

Helpful?
1 Thank kayz1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    57
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best ride in North Yorkshire”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

It's not just the beautiful Elizabeth that makes the ride worthwhile, the commentary is just absolutely brilliant.
Take in the views, smell the steam and smoke and wave to the audience because thats how it feels everyone loves Elizabeth!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CAD666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another Ride on Elizabeth....? - Yes please!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Went on our second ride on Elizabeth with my 10 year old son. A fantastic bumpy ride around Whitby with all of the smoke, fire and smells of associated with the age of steam!
Accompanied by the polished and amusing anecdotal commentary by Vernon's good lady wife, this trip is well worth the time and money - Will I be going for a ride on Elizabeth again? - without a shadow of a doubt!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Brilliant experince, one i will defently not forget, not just the ride but the views aswell, always a que and very weloming staff, can't wait ti get back in August to go again, espically when they staff sent a birthday card back to my neice as it was from elizebeth and made her birthday. Anyone to say anything less than 'EXELLENT' is missing somthing

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Debs327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
“A nice little jaunt back about the town on a wonderful machine.”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I have been to Whitby twice, and twice I have taken a ride on Elizabeth the steam bus. The dedication and smiles of the team that maintain and operate the bus is well worth it. A roaring fire, piercing whistle and hiss of steam is the perfect soundtrack to the fascinating talk given by the conductor as you climb steep hills, tight bends, then whisk down on the return trip into the town. Both times my wife and I have ridden the bus, the driver has been none other than the fellow who drove the Hogwarts Express in the Harry Potter films. In my mind, a trip on Elizabeth is just as magical.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitby Steam Bus also viewed

 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Whitby Steam Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing