We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee shop”
Review of Beacon Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Went for breakfast. Good cooked breakfast, all done to order so a little wait, but no problem as we were on holiday anyway. Friendly staff.
Nice views across the countryside from inside coffee shop.

Thank Somersetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Beacon Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

I have been going to Beacon farm for short stays for the last three years, it is a very basic site with a shower and toilet block, washing up station (that is not outside and has hot running water), a lovely cafe and the most wonderful ice cream.

I love going to this site and have recommended it to all my friends (I am even dragging some off this weekend to stay there). I like that it is very small and gives you space to fly a kite, play football, badminton, tennis or anything that takes your fancy. ( this is all on grass, not courts. I don't want to mis-inform) They only take a limited amount of tents because the facilities could not support any larger numbers. I like this as I don't want to be tripping over guy ropes due to crowding. The playground was waterlogged in the summer, but everywhere was and could probably do with a little bit of attention, my 10 year old loves it.

They take dogs and I have never heard anyone complain of any dogs behaviour, Jet is the farm dog and wanders round in the morning to see if anyone can't finish their bacon.

Overall a really relaxing place with no pressure, a wonderful view (did I mention you can see Whitby Abbey, espiecally cool when the sun is going down and shines through the windows). Lovely people who cant do enough to help you. I will continue to go.

I have yet to visit the pub but will get into it one day.

1  Thank Ellsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Had a wonderful stay at Beacon Farm (end of August 2012), we were camping and found it to be very well organised, the family were very helpful letting choose our own pitch, it wasn't overcrowded, plenty of room between the pitches. The view of Whitby from the camping field is excellent. The facilities were clean and above average in our opinion. There is a farm shop selling everyday essentials which was really handy. The ice cream was to die for abd the cafe had a really good menu serving breakfasts, snacks and a varety of 'main' meals.

There is a small park for young children and also a rooms that has a bouncy castle suitable for younger children.

There is a pub right next door 'The Wilson Arms' they also serve meals but we did not stay for food, I must admit that the bar was very quiet and we left after just one drink.

The walk in to Whitby is about 1.5 hours and is quite pleasant, a taxi back cost us aroubd £7.

A good restaurant to try in Whitby is Moutrays, its wonderful and highly recommended.

All in all, a good stay

Thank wheato1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I called up twice to make a booking to be told he would not take my booking, yet would take my friends. The attitude of the old man on the phone was disgusting, for someone who is in business I would have expected a lot more, he was rude unhelpful and appallingly disrespectful and ill mannered. I would certainly not spend one penny at this site in the future and suggest anyone who wants to be treat with a modicome of respect I would suggest you find alternative accomodation, there are a lot nicer places to camp around Whitby.

3  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEACON2012, Owner at Beacon Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Hi, I remember this situation. As stated at the time, we had been full for bookings on our campsite the two weeks prior to your request. We had however kindly let your friends stay as a favour, this took us to our absolute maximum. We were at the point where we couldn't take anymore bookings as this would not have been fair to the other campers on site. i.e for room and facilities. etc. So unfortunately we couldn't fit you on to the site. I understand this was an inconvenience to yourselves, but couldn't do anything about it. It wasn't our fault that we couldn't fit you onto the site on the bank holiday weekend as it was such short notice and we are also aware that it was yourself that was initially rude to our staff member because we couldn't fullfill your request. Booking well in advance would be reccomended. Many Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I have been to all five cottages for both full weeks and weekends away as my grandparents come here often and we absolutely love them. All the cottages are done out lovely, the kitchens have all the amenities needed and more and the wood burning fires make them cosy and homely. They have been renevated from old farm buildings so some of the rooms have gorgeous original features and beams. The bathrooms are modern and always spotless and when you arrive the kind owners usually leave some milk and some fresh homemade scones as a welcome gift. A lovely touch. The bedrooms are also very nice. Everything is done to very high standards.

Views from the cottages are stunning, you can see right to the coast and can see Whitby Abbey.

Also just to say the ice cream that Beacon Farm sell is amazing, definitely worth a try!

We always thoroughly enjoy our time at these cottages, they are all very good and my grandparents would also highly recommend them as they are in a quiet spot in the countryside but close enough to Whitby so you can see the sights. A very relaxing break every time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Beacon Farm is known in Whitby for its ice cream, but there is more to Beacon Farm. Its a campsite and caravan park, it has great views down to the Abbey at Whitby. The farm has a small cafe and a covered children's area in a converted barn.

Beacon Farm is a family business with three generations involved. All of the children help out with different jobs, they understand what families want.

3  Thank Hopefull-guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank 594hans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEACON2012, Owner at Beacon Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
2.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,081 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,244 reviews
3.7 mi away
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#5 of 52 in Whitby
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#125 of 152 in Whitby
104 reviews
19.4 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Farm

Address: Beacon Farm Beacon Way, Whitby YO22 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing