We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous”
Review of Beacon Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon Farm
Ranked #12 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Please ignore the previous 3 reviews folks , who are all from the same crowd who were about to be thrown off anyway due to the disgusting language from small children . As ever the staff were friendly and helpful . We will be back again for sure.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    41
    6
    5
    12
See reviews for
54
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We have been to beacon farm twice now and we love it the owners are very nice (thanks for loaning me your pegs and the cable) the veiws are great and there tea room is lovely we will be back again and again. See you soon

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The owner was very rude and aggressive to wards our group and for the things he said and for him to say about other campers were complaining there was us and three others would not recommend to anyone

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Johndalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went to this site for 1 night with my sons football team & there parents we were told we had the bottom field to ourselves & that the kids can make a football pitch if they wanted once set up we popped into whitby for some lunch then went back to the site. MrAngry farmer then approached us telling us that we needed to leave the site & get a refund as the kids had been peeing on his corn field which they hadn't, I had read reviews on this site before we went & there were plenty of comment about the farmer being confrontational.As an owner of a camp site his people skills leave a lot to be desired so save yourselves an argument & book elsewhere, don't use this site.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
Helpful?
6 Thank Nw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

visited this site 28 of us phoned up informed the owner boys footv club and parents not a problem would put us a the bottom of the field .left the site came back from whitby settled down for the afternoon the kids lost there ball in the corn field so went and got it ten miniutes later mr angry farmer came with his dog who had a poo in the field where kis were playing and started shouting pack your stuff come for a refund they have wrecked my field and been weeing in the field which they hadnt then calmed down carried on watching what we were doing then accussed us of throwing sandwiches on the floor by the way no one had brought sandwiches .only go to this site if you are a monk or a nun as all the big man farmer does is watch u all day

Helpful?
6 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Owner at Beacon Farm, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Sharon,

Firstly, I'm sorry you have felt the need to write such a review. The only real time we have major issues with the campsite are when groups such as yourselves start to make it unpleasant for the other campers. We had complaints of your children running around unsupervised, weeing near the tents, using totally unacceptable language and messing around in the toilet block. This coupled with the fact that they were running around in the corn field (even after it is stated on the camp rules sheet not to and after telling you twice) meant that we have the duty to warn you that if the behaviour continues then we would unfortunately have to ask you to leave. I'm sorry that we felt the need to say something to you but if we feel something needs to be said for the respect to the other campers, then we will. I wouldn't agree with the comment about the site only being for nuns or monks either. I would say the campsite is great for families, couples and groups alike looking for a cost effective way of holidaying (as long as they are happy to respect other campers and adhere to a few basic campsite rules).
Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were staying in a cottage nearby and initially called in to sample the ice cream, however when we noticed that they also did breakfast we went back twice, first time we had the full english with pot of tea...yum, really good quality ingredients, second time we had bacon baps, I asked if I could have an egg and mushrooms on mine and the waitress said I could have whatever I wanted, and it was so good. The staff were so friendly and full of useful information, re local paths and tracks to take us down to the village and to Whitby. Also the ice cream is lovely, they do 30 flavours, unfortunately because we were only staying a week we didn't manage to work our way through all of them.....oh well just have to go back and carry on where we left off!

Helpful?
3 Thank LizSmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We've just returned from 3 nights camping at Beacon Farm. We were initially concerned having read some of the reviews on here, but we stuck to our plans, prepared to face disgusting bathrooms, angry owners and rowdy neighbours. What we found was a very reasonably priced campsite (£42 for 3 nights for a family of 5 + dog), basic facilities although by no means as dreadful as other people seem to have found them and friendly,quiet neighbours. The staff were friendly both when we phoned to book and when we arrived on site. The site was small enough to allow our 3 kids freedom to roam safely. By far the best part of our stay was the on site cafe which served a mean breakfast and great ice creams and milkshakes, all reasonably priced. if you want to pay £30 + a night to stay somewhere with heated toilet blocks, pitches crammed together like sardines in a tin and a barrier that is shut at 10:30pm not to open again until 7:30am, then this is not the site for you. For us Beacon Farm was an ideal place to stay, great value for money and nearby to lots of nice places to visit, fossil hunting at Boggle Hole, fish and chips and beer in Robin Hoods Bay and interesting shops, Lobster and Prosecco in Whitby. We will definitely be visiting again.

Helpful?
2 Thank FeralBrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
2.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,001 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
799 reviews
2.3 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#2 of 52 in Whitby
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#122 of 151 in Whitby
103 reviews
19.5 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Farm

Property: Beacon Farm
Address: Beacon Farm Beacon Way, Whitby YO22 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing