We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again, rude and aggressive owner!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon Farm
Ranked #16 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never again, rude and aggressive owner!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few times last year great no problems, apart from the farmer very abrupt n rude on the last visit, thought maybe having a bad day! So visited again this year.....never again, camped with a large group, adults and children, we set up as far away from others as possible, first night no problem, second night we were even quieter and that's when the verbal and aggressive abuse started! I really think he should not run a campsite, or get some customer/people skills! Happy to take your money tho! Only good thing about this site is the views

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Owner at Beacon Farm, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
WITH GROUP BELOW
In response to your review. I am aware that this is the extremely large group that was booked on last weekend that we had many problems with unfortunately. Firstly there was more than one complaint made about your group by the other campers regarding excessive noise and swearing near young children. Secondly two of the young boys in group blatantly ignored a sign that says do not go beyond this point unless you have authorised access. Thirdly one of the tents in your group ignored our signs again and pitched up without booking in, then decided to trespass into our neighbours fields and into there woodland (not easily done). Fourthly we had to warn you two times about noise and this was around the half 11 time. I myself then told two men in your group again about noise at half past 12 at night about noise and did say if I have to warn you again we would unfortunately have to ask you to leave. In all honesty I would not like to be coming down to your tent in the early hours of the morning when I could quite happily be in bed. I would reiterate that if it is an all day drinking session that you are after whilst camping then this definately isn't the place for you. I also note that you say that you would not return again and quite simply even if you wanted to we unfortunately wouldn't let you out of respect for the other friendly campers that we get week in week out. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    36
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
45
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Angry farmer came complaining of noise, in a very abrupt manner, speaking to us like naughty children in school! only once we where asked to turn down the music but out of respect we turned it off completely. We were pitched as far away from any one as possible, and members of our group took turns to go walk make sure no other campers could hear us with each returning informing us you cannot hear a thing!! There was at least a dozen kids with us all asleep in our tents, ranging in age from 2-12, surely children of such ages would awake easily in strange surroundings with the apparent noise? Also they need to communicate slightly better within the office!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Owner at Beacon Farm, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
WITH GROUP BELOW
In response to your review. I am aware that this is the extremely large group that was booked on last weekend that we had many problems with unfortunately. Firstly there was more than one complaint made about your group by the other campers regarding excessive noise and swearing near young children. Secondly two of the young boys in group blatantly ignored a sign that says do not go beyond this point unless you have authorised access. Thirdly one of the tents in your group ignored our signs again and pitched up without booking in, then decided to trespass into our neighbours fields and into there woodland (not easily done). Fourthly we had to warn you two times about noise and this was around the half 11 time. I myself then told two men in your group again about noise at half past 12 at night about noise and did say if I have to warn you again we would unfortunately have to ask you to leave. In all honesty I would not like to be coming down to your tent in the early hours of the morning when I could quite happily be in bed. I would reiterate that if it is an all day drinking session that you are after whilst camping then this definately isn't the place for you. I also note that you say that you would not return again and quite simply even if you wanted to we unfortunately wouldn't let you out of respect for the other friendly campers that we get week in week out. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here recently and the owner was down right rude. A shame really as this could be a lovely place if they made the effort. Perhaps they should learn some people skills and buy some stronger disinfectant for the loos which smelt of urine. Definitely won't be visiting again and will take my business elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Owner at Beacon Farm, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
WITH GROUP BELOW
In response to your review. I am aware that this is the extremely large group that was booked on last weekend that we had many problems with unfortunately. Firstly there was more than one complaint made about your group by the other campers regarding excessive noise and swearing near young children. Secondly two of the young boys in group blatantly ignored a sign that says do not go beyond this point unless you have authorised access. Thirdly one of the tents in your group ignored our signs again and pitched up without booking in, then decided to trespass into our neighbours fields and into there woodland (not easily done). Fourthly we had to warn you two times about noise and this was around the half 11 time. I myself then told two men in your group again about noise at half past 12 at night about noise and did say if I have to warn you again we would unfortunately have to ask you to leave. In all honesty I would not like to be coming down to your tent in the early hours of the morning when I could quite happily be in bed. I would reiterate that if it is an all day drinking session that you are after whilst camping then this definately isn't the place for you. I also note that you say that you would not return again and quite simply even if you wanted to we unfortunately wouldn't let you out of respect for the other friendly campers that we get week in week out. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brotton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was the third time we have stayed at the site and the last. Having two Happy visits previously we had an issue with the owner who was very rude. On our second night a member of staff asked us to turn down the music. I apologised And immediately turned it off altogether. From then on Party members took it in turns to walk to the limit of Sound Making sure that other campers were not been disturbed by us. Several hours later the owner barged into our area And told us in a very aggressive manner that he was sick of telling us to Be quiet. We tried explaining that we had only been asked once to turn the music down And that we had been checking our noise levels. He continued to Be rude And Even threatened us with police action. A point worth noting Is that we were a large family group all with children who were asleep in our tents. Surely if we were been extremely noisy our kids would have not been able to sleep. Our friends And family have visited on numerous occasions for camping And have Made special journeys for the ice cream. All of us were disgusted by his attitude And have all vowed never to take our business there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank timnlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Owner at Beacon Farm, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
In response to your review. I am aware that this is the extremely large group that was booked on last weekend that we had many problems with unfortunately. Firstly there was more than one complaint made about your group by the other campers regarding excessive noise and swearing near young children. Secondly two of the young boys in group blatantly ignored a sign that says do not go beyond this point unless you have authorised access. Thirdly one of the tents in your group ignored our signs again and pitched up without booking in, then decided to trespass into our neighbours fields and into there woodland (not easily done). Fourthly we had to warn you two times about noise and this was around the half 11 time. I myself then told two men in your group again about noise at half past 12 at night about noise and did say if I have to warn you again we would unfortunately have to ask you to leave. In all honesty I would not like to be coming down to your tent in the early hours of the morning when I could quite happily be in bed. I would reiterate that if it is an all day drinking session that you are after whilst camping then this definately isn't the place for you. I also note that you say that you would not return again and quite simply even if you wanted to we unfortunately wouldn't let you out of respect for the other friendly campers that we get week in week out. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great place to come and chill. This was our 5th visit.
Kids play area works well as they disappear to let you get on with the cooking (and also strangly disappear when the washing up needs doing).
If you can't be bothered with cooking and washing up, there is the cafe that we didn't go to this year (I enjoy the challenge of wild cooking), but in previous years has been great for Full english.
Field a bit lumpy under my sleeping mat, but this is camping, and the sleeping mat is a bit defective. Others slept fine.
Showers and toilets not the cleanest, but again this is camping
Showers were warm rather than hot (and remember your 20ps - although you can get them from the office if you need some)
Staff very pleasant and other campers polite.

Previous visit nearly spoilt by other rowdy guests, but site manager got them to leave which everyone else on the campsite was happy about.

This is not the place to go for nightlife, wifi, wild parties or late nights - it's a great place to go for a relaxing camp with some added luxury of a warm shower in the morning and the cooked breakfast if you want it.

And you can take the dog and park next to your tent (they never let it get too full, so book early)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have been camping here since 2008 with my son. We have been from April to September and the site is always clean. We get a warm welcome to each visit when booking in at the shop. You can get the forgoten supplies beans, water carrier etc. The facilities get cleaned daily with a new coat of paint for each new season. We have stayed when tractor pulling and farm equipment was on show. Very interesting. As this is a working farm you have to be aware of farm traffic and respect the country lifestyle.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billikwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just back from 2 nights camping (Fri and Sat) at Beacon Farm. We had a great couple of nights, we found the showers and toilets absolutely fine, my experience does not mirror the recent reviews, the site had a couple of groups of D of E young people, their behaviour was impeccable, nice and chilled atmosphere on site, had breakfast both mornings on site, absolutely fine, I'm sorry if the other reviewers didnt have the same experience, I however would have no concerns around returning to enjoy the farm, the view of Whitby in the distance and the local pub on the edge of the site and plan to return soon.
Ps no dog poo in sight!

Helpful?
1 Thank HelenA-Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
2.0 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#1 of 48 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#137 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.6 mi away
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Farm

Property: Beacon Farm
Address: Beacon Farm Beacon Way, Whitby YO22 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing