We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Been Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crescent Garden House
Ranked #12 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never Been Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have been staying at Crescent Garden House for 10 years. My now husband proposed during our stay there (at the top of the 199 steps, not Crescent Gardens) and we had our wedding night in The Suite a year later.
The décor is fantastic and so carefully themed for comfort and relaxation, as is breakfast - just what you need after an excellent nights sleep with the sound of seagulls and waves not distracting from the cosy rooms.
Hugh and Jane are so warm and welcoming we really couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Whitby.

Room Tip: Seaview does what it says, if you are there to relax and catch up rear facing rooms have all the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
257
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have stayed here now for a few years when attending the Goth Weekend in October and have loved it each time. The owners are welcoming and the rooms are lovely and we have stayed in different ones within the B&B except the room with the jacuzzi but it is on my to do list. Look forward go visiting them again next year :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllieChic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Was surprised by the wife with a 2 night stay in the beautiful Crescent Garden House for my 30th Birthday, beautiful views from the room, & well worth the money, beatifully decorated. nothing was too much trouble for the owner, a true gentleman, and the breakfast was great! will defenitly be back at some point everyone came away thinking how great it was. will be back thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here on a spare of the moment choice as we just drove to whitby hoping to find accommadation. So glad the sign said vacancies as this is a 5 star establishment and well above any B and B we have stayed in before. From the minute we walked in and met the owner we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The room was sheer luxury with a fantastic jacuzzi bath and cleanliness beyond belief. The breakfast was the best we have ever experienced and we will definately be staying with them again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendiejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherwod forest
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Booked this last minute due to a predicted hot weekend (unfortunately they were wrong). As a result we had to take a room without a sea view but was happy to get in for two nights. Despite this we were well impressed with the room, with everything we needed. The whole place is extremely tastefully decorated and far from your normal B&B, very upmarket.
Breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice.
The location is ideal and not far to walk to the beach, shops, bars etc.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elise001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed for one night as we arrived the previous night in Whitby and were unable to secure two nights at the other hotel, in retrospect glad we couldn't. I can't recommend highly enough this hotel, what a gem very stylish, clean and beautifuly furnished. Lovely to be able to relax in the lounge area and see the sea, we stayed in room 1, fantastic wet room!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcleanjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary.
We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived, and were very impressed with the lounge area.
Our room was excellent, tastefully decorated with a perfect view of the sea.
We slept wonderfully and breakfast in the morning was superb.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudger265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#22 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Garden House

Property: Crescent Garden House
Address: 3 Royal Crescent, Whitby YO21 3EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crescent Garden House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Please book directly with the hotel *** Crescent Garden House is a stunning, fully renovated 6-storey Georgian 'boutique-style' bed and breakfast with 9 en-suite rooms (2 of which have large jacuzzi baths). We are fully licensed to serve alcohol in our luxurious open-plan guest lounge/reception and outside on our decked terrace with sea/garden views. Situated on the prestigious Royal Crescent (West Cliff) and enjoying stunning sea views and spectacular sunsets across the bay out towards Sandsend. This peaceful relaxing location is only a few minutes walk into town to access all the bars and restaurants Whitby has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crescent Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing