We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seacliffe Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Seacliffe Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
cambs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Excellent hotel and service was very good. Views from front bedroom excellent and food
very good. Would go again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeycambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    59
    34
    22
    12
See reviews for
22
136
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Granted the room was small with height restrictions but very homely. Staff are very helpfull, especially Dawn who is a gem!! Hope she is well looked after as is a credit to the hotel. Had lovely stay but nearly came home early due to very other people with barking dogs and throwing up gone 12. Luck for us they only stayed 1 night. If the staff had not been so nice we would have come home early! Glad we stayed the 3 nights as had a lovely time all meals and breakfasts were great thanks again Zoe Ian and Bobby the dog.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zoe_emails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

I wish we had checked out this hotel on trip advisor before booking, £82 for a small room with a sink in it and a shower so small i could not stand up in it, the room was dirty and made me ill. I dont no how they can call this 4 star, its not even a 2 star. We didnt stay for breakfast. there are plenty other nice hotels in whitby, my advise is...... give this one a miss.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AgoodoneWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateshead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Seacliffe Hotel and can safely say we will be using this establishment in the future.excellent location curtailed with friendly,amiable staff and clean rooms with excellent views.nothing was too much for the staff,and every request was greeted with a smiling !no problem at all!.i do not hesitate in recommending the seacliffe.thank you very much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sutton75Gateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

We stayed last night at the Seacliffe Hotel. Upon arrival the staff were informative and friendly.
The walk into Whitby is about 15 minutes.There is a steep climb back to the hotel if you have trouble walking but away from the noise of the town. We were able to receive a late night key so there are no problems with a curfew either.
We stayed in one of the sea view rooms which was lovely and warm for us upon arrival which was considerate given the weather. The shower enclosure and bathroom was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. The tea/coffee tray was well stocked and we required more milk for our coffee, the staff made sure we had enough of everything. The breakfast was very tasty with lots of choice. It was just what we needed before our long walk along the Cleveland Way.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England, North Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

we had aroom at the front the view was excellent the staff were friendly and helpful
and the food was excellent My husband is disabled and they were very good with him,nothing was to much trouble.thank you for makiing my birthday special

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaretcampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

We recently stayed here for a couple of nights with friends. The good points are that the hotel is clean and in a nice location with sea views. Rooms are a bit small but that wasn't a problem as we weren't in them much. If you were staying for longer than a couple of nights you would have a problem finding space for your clothes, only 4 hangers were provided and the hanging space was tiny. We were in a refurbished room and it had been decorated nicely. Unfortunately the showers are not very good, more of a fine mist than a shower. And none of us slept very well, if at all on the first night as the pillows are so hard. We asked the housekeeper the next morning if we could have softer pillows, she looked doubtful but said she'd try, which she did and the second lot were slightly better. Only other moan would be that they weren't very accommodating at breakfast, I'd asked if I could swap the sausage for a hash brown but for whatever reason that wasn't allowed, they still took the sausage off though!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacliffe Hotel

Property: Seacliffe Hotel
Address: 12 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seacliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seacliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing