We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seacliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seacliffe Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2008

Having read several other reviews about this hotel I was wary of what my wife and I would find, but I need not have worried. The owner is a lovely woman who makes you feel very welcome and the hotel itself, although small, is fine. We had room number 2 which has a small but adequate bathroom attached (not one of the 'cupboards' described by other reviewers) so perhaps we were lucky (so try and book this room if you're going there!). It was small, cosy, clean and suited us fine for the two nights we were there. The bar is welcoming and the prices are very good. Breakfast was excellent (the full English was one of the best I've had) but we didn't take dinner there so I can't comment on evening meals. This was our first time in Whitby and we are definitely going to go back there - it's a lovely little typically English seaside town and would look great in the summer I would think (although it looked pretty good in the middle of Feb), and the Seacliffe is ideally placed for the beach (although there is a steep climb down to it).

All in all, we had a great weekend there and I would definitely visit again. Incidentally, the owner told us that they are not satisfied with some of the rooms and so are closing over Christmas for renovation and refurbishment.

  • Liked — Friendly welcoming atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillofWythall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    60
    34
    22
    12
See reviews for
22
137
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warrington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2008

We visited in December making use of the 3 nights for 2 offer, the hotel itself was warm and welcoming and they even had free mince pie and mulled wine for late afternoon treats. We had a sea view room on the 2nd floor, the down stairs and the 1st floor were toastie warm but by the time we reached our room it was freezing cold as the heating only came on at 4pm and it was below freezing outside!!. The room was very small but clean and as others have pointed out the en suite was mouse sized! We have stayed in Whitby many times over the years and can recommend many establishments that are to a much higher standard for the money but not this one!!

  • Liked — The position
  • Disliked — Very very cold, mid Winter and we had to ask to have the heating on!!!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vampires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2007

This hotel has a lot to be said for it. The staff are very friendly, and the food is lovely, one of the nicest breakfasts I have had anywhere, with a full vegitarian option. However, the rooms are tiny. We only stayed two nights but it was a good job I didnt actualy take a suitcase, just an suit carrier which could be hung in the wardrobe, because there would have been nowhere to put it. My girlfriends case was constantly in the way and she banged herself on it a couple of times. The bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel, and anyone of any size would have found it a nightmare to use. (We poked our noses in a couple of other rooms to check we hadnt been given the only small one, and they were all pretty much the same).
Overall a nice hotel, but if you are looking for a good sized room, look somewhere else.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank behr662016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

Me and the rest of my year went for a week to whitby, they split us into two hotels,the moorlands and the seacliffe hotel. The staff were quite welcoming, all of my friends had very small rooms except for one big room, they say it's en-suite but its hardly! I was with two other class mates and we had alot of storage space but the bathroom was tiny! It smelt and even the cupboard fell off. But the food was lovely so i cannot complain and the rest of the rooms eg, lounge, dining room were cosy.
When we went into the moorlands everyone was jealous, the staff were nice aswell, but the actual hotel was amazing, so if you had to choose between the two, i'd choose seacliffe for the food, adn moorlands for the rooms!

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2006

We have just returned from a stay at the Seacliffe and I don't think we will be returning any time soon. Our room was very small, the 'ensuite' consisting of a toilet and shower shoe-horned into a wardrobe sized cupboard...the sink was actually in the main bedroom!
The bedroom was clean but the decor was shabby and the room very cheaply furnished. The hotel appeared to be selling two star accommodation at four star prices. Not good value IMHO.
The staff were all very polite and helpful and the breakfast was entirely acceptable - we both had a veggie breakfast. However, our plans to dine in the heavily-marketed 'candle-lit restaurant' were scuppered when we were told the restaurant was closed. (Bearing in mind this was during August - when does it open???) You may wish to read a few more reviews before booking - best of luck!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Murrey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2006

we arrived on the Sunday afternoon after a 5 hour drive, we went to the hotel and meet the owner, she was very arrogant, we said that we were on a captain cook break, which she replied that we do not do them any more, we showed her our booking letter and was told that they would have to open the restaurant for us for the 2 nights that we were staying, we then went to our room having paid extra for a superior room, that was a joke it was small and shabby. Then we noticed that it was a non smoking room, in our letter it was confirm that it would be a smoking room. we went down to sort this out and asked for our deposit back as we were not happy to stay, she then refunded my wife’s card, when we went to our car we noticed that she had infact taken another £50.00 deposit, we then went back in to get our refund. We have stayed at this hotel before and it was very good with charming owners, but it seems that the hotel had been sold, and new people had taken it over.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank teignman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2006

Just returned from a three night stay with a party of friends. Everyone was very disappointed with the standard of the accomodation. Rooms were small and tired, and ensuites consisted of wc and shower in a cupboard! Every room had some fault ( ensuite doors badly fitting, loose toilet seat, small wardrobe etc). This does not represent good value for money and much better accomodation can be booked elsewhere for less.

On the positive side, it is clean and warm, and the breakfasts were generally good, although don't order kippers expecting a pair, you will only get a small single piece of fish!

They claim from their advertising that they are good value for money and many guests return year upon year. We will not be doing so.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacliffe Hotel

Property: Seacliffe Hotel
Address: 12 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seacliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seacliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing