We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal weekend break”
Review of Seacliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seacliffe Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A good clean friendly hotel. The breakfast was brilliant with a good choice. We stayed for 2 nights in a room on the 2nd floor which was at the rear of the property, clean, quiet and very comfortable. The location is absolutely perfect, just a short 10 minute walk from the centre. The management and staff were all very friendly and I would recommend a stay here, we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Staff was very attentive and friendly. Our room was a good family room it was a treat to have a separate bedroom for our daughter. Unfortunately it was not very clean, dog hairs on the black bed spreads, very dusty, shower base dirty ( came off with a wipe) lots of what looked like coffee & tea stains all over the doors. The beds weren't made properly and the matrasses were not good. It was disapointing as all the rooms on the ground floor, breakfast room, lounge, reception was absolutely spotless.

Breakfast - day 1 ok but very dry scrambled eggs, day 2 lovely scrambled eggs which I had with smoked salmon (6 tiny little strips, hardly a mouthful), day 3 a massive amount of very dry scrambled eggs and after 3 mouth fulls I noticed bits of potato mixed up with it that's when I stopped eating as they didn't even serve potato with breakfast so god knows where they'd come from. My partner had full english 2 mornings and wasn't very impressed and he is not fussy. The last morning he had poached egg on toast and bacon and the eggs tasted of vinegar and there was a black hair under his egg. We left hungry the last morning.

For a £100 a night I did expect to get a clean room and a good breakfast.

The best thing about the Seacliffe was the friendly and smiley staff and the position of the hotel you just crossed the road and you could sit down on a bench and enjoy the sea view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel was in a superb position over looking the sea. Our room, which was a family suite, was too small even for two people and the sink in the en suite was so small it was impossible to wash properly. We did not think it was good value for £90 a night.
Customer service was sadly lacking by the manager in that we were not told that choices for the evening meal had to be made before 5pm on the day of dining, therefore, we were left without an evening meal and had to walk into town. On the day we were leaving, we were told that there would be a 4% charge for using a credit card even though we had not been informed of this fact on booking.
The breakfast, although there was plenty of choice, left a lot to be desired, as the bacon appeared to have been microwaved rather than grilled as it was very pale with white fat.
The dining room staff were very efficient and pleasant which was a contrast to the management.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this hotel due to the small size of the rooms and noise from adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrislily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

If your looking for a Quiet , relaxing , few days away then this is the place to go and stay !

We will be returning and already booked ! .

Arrival :
Met by a young girl who booked us in and explained to us where our room was , very polite and welcoming .

Room 5 :Very Modern Clean Room , very comfortable 4 Poster Bed, with bay window looking out to the sea , Tea and Coffee supplied with kettle, Hair dryer , and a iron board and iron on request .
Bathroom was immaculately Clean With nice big walk in shower you even get shampoo and hand wash etc which is a nice touch !. And enough loo roll to last you a Month ! ( some places you only get 1 roll to last your stay ) .

Water always red hot and Heating on , ( most places the radiators never get warm , but you can guarentee a nice warm stay here ! .

Staff : Dawn and Mandy were Brill very down to earth but professional , made our stay even more enjoyable , we were made to feel so welcome . But all Staff were as equally nice and polite.

Food : Brilliant Food , Breakfast you could have everything you wanted, cereal , fruit , yougurts , Cooked english brekki , they even do Salmon and kippers etc . You really do not go hungry ! ....
Evening Meals , absolutely Delish ! , and a platefull too ! portions are great ( infact the first night i couldn't finish all mine ! My partner loved her meals also , i think it was something like £13.00 for two courses amazing value for how lovely it is .

Bar : Drinks priced reasonably , and Glasses gleaming ! , ( my hate is going for a drink somewhere and getting a dirty glass !) Not once did we get a dirty glass ! .

The place had a really nice calming feeling to it , very polite staff too !

We HIGHLY reccomend This place for people to go ! , you really should not be dissapointed .

Unless your the kind of person that look's for every nook and crook and makes mountains out of hills then your stay here would be perfect !

Price : Well it is rather Pricey , but its worth paying !
As the saying goes you pay for what you get , and what you get at this place is worth paying for ! :-).

Room Tip: We had room 5 , Which is a Premier room , but we also saw room 12 on leaving which also has sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorbyMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We rung up for a late booking, we were a little concerned as it was the only hotel that had any vacancies, but we had no need to worry, lovely hotel, big enough so you didn't feel like you were invading personal space (I have stayed in b and bs before where it has been like staying in my grandmas spare room) but not a big chain hotel. I think the room was expensive for what we got but we did get a nice sea view and a pair of binoculars so we could look out to sea. U get towels and body wash shampoo soap and towels included, as well as a kettle and teas and coffees. Breakfast was included in our price, my partner had full English and enjoyed his but I chose poached egg and salmon and was brought 10 tonne of scrambled egg and about 5 tiny flakes of salmon (that isn't an exageration), over heard a woman behind and it had happened to her the previous day, they did have cereal though so all wasn't lost. Would stay here again if it was cheaper.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claireabella89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were a bit nervous at the fact that this hotel was the only hotel out of about 30 hotels in Whitby that had a room available over the bank holiday weekend as we had taken a risk and arrived on the Saturday lunchtime as a spur of the moment mini break. We were wrong to be nervous. It is a lovely hotel, the room was spotlessly clean with lovely modern decor and bed linen. No candlewick bedcovers in sight! The only negative I can say is that we found the mattress to be very hard. We were upgraded to a sea view room...room 4...at no extra charge and that bed was a lovely brass bed with brass bedstead and the mattress was perfect. Breakfast was faultless...continental and also a hot breakfast made to order. Full English fry up, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs or locally caught kippers which my husband ordered and were yummy!

I love Whitby and the location of this hotel was spot on for us..the surrounding area was lovely, clean and very picturesque. A lovely walk to the shops and I particularly love the little old fashioned ticket office converted into a coffee shop called Clara's on the beach front. Have taken the hotels phone number and will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank blanket72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was a last minute booking, The Hotel appears to have just finished its refurbishment, i would still continue the upgrade by painting over the Wood panels and doorframes etc to complete the brighter image, plus the Bathrrom doorframe in room 10. On a more positive note we found the Owners and staff very friendly. The waitress's and reception personnel were very helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. We had the evening meal which was cooked and presented to a high standard, albeit i would put a couple of Roast spuds with the Lamb Dinner to compliment it. The Breakfast was one of the best we have had, freshly cooked, piping hot and good quality. There are 2 floors and no lift so this maybe a problem to some people.

Room Tip: Request a recently refurbished room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nut1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,093 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
857 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacliffe Hotel

Address: 12 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £93 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seacliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Seacliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing