We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're going back a 2nd time!”
Review of Seacliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seacliffe Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 9 August 2014

1st time my wife and i had been to Whitby and after a 2 hour drive in a cold october morning this place is exactly what we wanted. It was easy to find, parking on the road outside and a nice friendly welcome as we entered. the room was small but very clean. It had everything needed and if not we was just told to ask.
the breakfast was brilliant, staff friendly, and have already booked for this year. ( October 2014)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christian1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Seacliffe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked this hotel for a single night by phone. That was quite a struggle but we got there in the end. Our reception was 'matter of fact' and no offer to help with luggage or show us to our room. The room (18) was facing the side so had no outlook to speak of. Whilst reasonably clean, there was no guest information and minimal in the way of facilities. We have stayed in similarly priced
£90.00p per night and had far more. The room was small and a credit to thing ingenuity of the owners in respect of what you can do with sawn up pine furniture. Overall cleanliness was reasonable, but the shower was a bit dirty. There was a choice of breakfast which was okay. Our room was in part of a later extension and as is often the case the walls are paper thin. Unfortunately we had to listen to a 'lullaby' CD on repeat all night! How the child or for that matter the parents slept listening the mawkish warbling of the dreadful female singer is beyond us, hence the sleep quality. Not the hotels fault but beware! We made the owners aware and I suspect we were not alone. This did not temper our view of the hotel as it would be unfair. Our room was okay for one night but no more.

Room Tip: Think rooms based in the original building will be better.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_calvert84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have just returned from a last minute mini break in Whitby. We were lucky enough to get a sea view double which was very comfy, spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel. Lovely ensuite with large shower and a lovely touch of binoculars to use in the room. Breakfast was excellent and served by a lovely, attentive and hard working waitress.
We decided to try and stay an extra night and all the staff were really kind and helpful and we managed to get a different double at the rear of the hotel and this was also excellent. Many thanks to everyone who made our short stay so excellent.
We love Whitby so we will return and stay again at the Seacliffe Hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for four nights from 7th July Welcome was great with lots of suggestions for where to eat and photo opportunities. Room a little small ( considering £100per night). Breakfast more than filling with plenty of options. From there on wasnt great staff not talkative and as a result it just turned into a place to sleep rather than a place in and of itself to enjoy. Shame really, will we go back to Whitby yes back to the Seacliffe no. PS the bar was the worst bar I have visited in my little variety and absolutely no atmosphere not evem music

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just had a lovely stay at the Seacliffe hotel in Whitby perched right on the sea front with stunning views of the beach and sea. Our room (8) was spot on with a separate single bedroom that and the hotel its self was spotlessly clean through out. Breakfast was cooked perfect with friendly staff nothing was too much trouble i will defiantly stay there again.
To top it all we left our ipad there and they rang us up to tell us and posted it to us the following day such honesty and kindness you dont find every day. So a big thank you to all at The Seacliffe for doing that. 10/10

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JOANNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I write this review at 5 am in the morning, as I am wide awake again!. We booked in for 2 nights and first impressions were good. The room is rather small and basic but very clean. The lounge and bar area are nice, but you have to wait a while to be served. Breakfast is excellent, the best I have had in a hotel in England. We had evening meal 1 night, it was OK, nothing more, my main gripe is the lack of sleep. We stayed in room 4 and the room directly above us had an insomniac staying in it, now I know this is not the hotels fault but the squeeking floor boards are. From 3 or 4am on both nights, constant pacing up and down. Seacliffe, sort the floor boards out!!! That said, whitby is a lovely place and the hotel is ok. I would recommend it, when the floor boards are sorted.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank julieann17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Ours was a last minute decision to go to Whitby for the night, from the minute we arrived nothing too much trouble for the owners, made you feel welcome from the minute you opened the door. Room comfortable well decorated and clean, breakfast very hearty, in fact a bit too much for me! Go on book you will not be disappointed, and it's opposite the sea so if you get a room at the front you get the best of everything. Just one thing to note it's over 3 floors and no lift.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,073 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,141 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
438 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacliffe Hotel

Address: 12 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £90 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seacliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Seacliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing