We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FANTASTIC ACCOMADATION LOVELY LOCATION”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Streanaeshalch

Spectacular views from the front of the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular views from the front of the property
A 'home from home' ... ... all year round
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Spectacular views from the front of the property
A 'home from home' ...
... all year round
Fully equipped kitchen
A great place to entertain or be entertained
Sleep well ...
... in light and airy bedrooms
Newly refurbished bathroom with walk-in shower ...
... or relax in bubbles
A great holiday for you in great surroundings
near the impressive Larpool Viaduct (view from balcony).
The Larpool Viaduct
Floorplan
Whitby Abbey
Robin Hoods Bay (15 minutes drive away)
Looking towards Whitby from Sandsend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kath T
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC ACCOMADATION LOVELY LOCATION”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We booked the Streanaeshalch holiday home for the Whitby scooter rally and was delighted with the accommodation ,it is the best accommodation we have had in Whitby in the last five years ,Definitely a home from home ,Very comfortable place to stay lovely and clean and everything provided for a great holiday .Great location under the old viaduct and riverside setting with a view of the old steam trains running across on the other side of the river Esk, Nice steady 25 minute stroll along the cinder track to the old town of Whitby. We have no hesitation of recommending these holiday homes to any body considering a trip to the lovely town of Whitby This holiday home gets 5 STARS + from us .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and high standards of the accomadation
Liked least: only staying for a couple of days
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Thank you for such a positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Streanaeshalch. We do try to provide everything that may be needed and are very lucky to have a house in such a beautiful location. We'd love to welcome you back next time you're thinking of visiting Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylid
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were going on the Flying Scotsman that weekend. It was easy to book and the owners were so helpful with anything you need to ask. The area is so tranquil and would be great in the summertime. The views are spectacular and you are near enough to the town centre. We were four adults my husband, daughter, her fiancé and myself. There is plenty of room and the beds were comfy. The first night I was laid in bed listening to the owl! When we arrived and being near the river we had ducks greeting us. The house itself is truly a home from home and a well looked after house. I would like to thank the owners for letting us stay there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and how much was in the house
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We also hope you enjoyed the Flying Scotsman!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca M
Billinge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A perfect new year stay.”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booking the cottage was simple and very good value. Correspondence was great and friendly.
The house is perfectly placed on the river, right next to Larpool viaduct and opposite the train tracks. We managed to see the steam train which was great!
Plenty of parking right on the front, with little benches to sit and watch the wonderful and varied birdlife on the river. If your into bird watching, then you won't be disappointed.
The house itself is very well equipped and very clean. Lovely bedrooms and bathrooms. The pillows in the twin upstairs bedroom I found to be very hard, and as the house was full, I had to use them. This is personal preference though. My brother in law, who had the double bed as his fiancee is pregnant, said his pillows were fine :-)
The kitchen, again, very well equipped but without teatowels (not sure if they are normally in there or you bring your own)
I cooked a new year roast with ease in there and the dining area is large and sits 6 people easily.
There are games, dvds, videos, books and a wealth of information which was handy as we had never been to Whitby before.
Its a few minutes drive into town or you can walk over the viaduct.
We will definitely be booking again!
Thanks Judith & Richard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Rebecca,
Many thanks for your review.
You should have had tea towels... sorry!! No excuses This may be down to the fact that our brilliant caretaker / cleaner had two flat tyres and had to arrange an alternate who maybe didn't know the procedure as well.
Will also check out the pillows when we stay in February.
Nevertheless, thank you for the great review, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Richard & Judith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benbo441
Deryshire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great house! Fantastic Setting for Relaxing Weekend!”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovley house, Everything you could wish for!
Four friends needed to chill, great location, easy 20 minute into Whitby!
Already booked for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefull area!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Thanks so much for your review, looking forward to welcoming you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best family holiday location in Whitby”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great week in Whitby. Although the weather wasn’t very good ‘Streanaeshalch’ more than made up for it. The setting is perfect, down by the river where the grandchildren went crabbing every evening and opposite the steam railway, waving to the passengers whilst enjoying a glass of wine, albeit indoors but occasionally on the lovely balcony if the rain allowed.

The exceptional level of fixtures and fittings surpassed our expectations with every appliance, gadget, game, video, book etc you could wish for. My son, who is now 37 and I particularly enjoyed reliving his childhood by playing ‘Downfall’, something we hadn’t played for over 30 years.

The layout of the house was ideal for four adults and two children. The kids loved the bunk beds, there was plenty of room in the lounge for everyone to relax and the large dining table meant that we could all eat together as a family.

I would certainly recommend ‘Streanaeshalch’ if you want first class family accommodation, close to Whitby and also accessible to everything else that North Yorkshire has to offer. Our favourite place is Runswick Bay. Great family beach in a quaint setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It surpassed our expectations
Liked least: The steep hill up onto the road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
What a wonderful review, thank you so much. I think you've given us some marketing tips - the crabbing sounds great and we are particularly pleased you liked our "vintage" games selection! Hope to welcome you back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous :)”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We came to Whitby with our two children (10 months and 3 and half) for a week's break with grandparents. We were really impressed with the location and facilities that the owners offered. Being able to see the steam engines every morning from the living room balcony was so fantastic!!! The house was fully equipped with everything that you would need for a young family. Thank you Richard and Judith for our wonderful family trip :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
We are really pleased you had a great time. We do try to keep the house equipped to a high standard and are glad you had everything you needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallascre...
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Myself, husband & toddler had a lovely short stay at the end of June. The weather was glorious and the house is stunning & in a marvellous spot. The filter coffee and choccy biscuits were much appreciated too, Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: House. location & ducks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay (and your biscuits)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing