We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Our parties of three ladies arrived at Raithwaite Hall after a blustery afternoon in Whitby. We were impressed from the moment we drove through the gates. We had our luggage carried from the car for us, a very easy and affable experience at check in and then moved onto our rooms. My room was the largest - it had been set up as a twin but on request was very quickly changed to a king as I was staying on my own and fancied the extra space! Yorkshire Life Magazine, a selection of teas and coffee and home made biscuits were all available. The bathroom was huge and decked out with Molton Brown toiletries.

The lighting in the room was fabulous, the mirror was very flattering(!) and there was plenty of space for luggage. We unpacked quickly and moved to the spa in fluffy slippers and robes.

The spa is gorgeous. We were told it was quite busy when we went in, but in actual fact it was just nice. Fabulous poolside showers, great pool, loungers galore - including heated mosaic tiled beds, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi - fabulous.

After a quick relax we moved back upstairs and had water delivered when our rooms were turned down. A lovely shower and change later we were downstairs for some dinner. We ordered a bottle of prosecco and there was a bit of a wait due to one gentleman tending the bar and serving meals on his own. But we didn't let this spoil things. Dinner was amazing! The food was very well prepared, cooked and presented and the ingredients were clearly of a high standard. There was some trouble with the bill but this was only because we had paid for the set menu but had eaten a la carte. It was quickly sorted out to our satisfaction and we went to our rooms for a very comfortable nights sleep.

In the morning we went for breakfast at our leisure and were not disappointed. The service and selection was great! Lots of little special touches - in general the hotel provides special touches as a norm!

We checked out but left our bags as we had treatments in the spa booked for later that day. After another trip into Whitby and Sandsend we came back to the spa. I had a neck back and shoulder massage and a relaxing foot treatment. It was phenominal! I was so relaxed by the time the massage was over I didn't think I could move! We spent all afternoon relaxing around the pool and using the facilities. We stayed for as long as we dare - it had started to snow a little and we had to get back across the moors to Leeds so thought we had better make a move. After an aromatherapy shower we set off and bid farewell to Raithwaite Hall.

It would be fair to say when we arrived each of us were pretty high up in the stress stakes! It would also be fair to say that when we left we felt like we were on cloud nine!

The staff were all local and had a great knowledge and rapport every time we spoke to them. Everyone was so lovely and really seemed to enjoy working there.

I absolutely cannot wait to return - Just give me an excuse!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janine11982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjman499, General Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

janine11982, Thank you for your amazing review.
We are thrilled you found complete relaxation at our special retreat
and it is so encouraging for the team to receive such
positive comments
We look forward to seeing back at Raithwaite soon

Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,119 - 2,125 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

The first impression of Raithwaite Hall was good, very prompt check in and help with luggage. Lovely room, if I am being picky just slightly compact, but with a balcony and fab view of the wonderful gardens. Lovely en suite shower room with underfloor heating and comfy bed. Staff all seemed helpful. We had a few teething problems with TV and wireless internet access not working in our room, the receptionist was helpful and supplied us with a cable for the internet, but the TV couldnt be mended that night, and we were leaving the next day. It seems from previous reviews I am on my own but I wasnt quite so bowled over with the food, I felt the menu was a little restricted, for my taste anyway, and meals could have been better presented for the cost. There were a couple of small issues with breakfast also, but it is a very newly opened hotel and I am hopeful any small problems will be ironed out.
All in all we really liked the hotel, the relaxing atmosphere and the attentive staff, and we hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: The garden is so nice i would ask for a view of that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herewardtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjman499, General Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

herewardtw_, We are so pleased you enjoyed our unique retreat and all its amazing surroundings. We truly appreciate your comments and will strive to continuously to make improvements. We have recieved such wonderful positive comments on our locally sourced dishes and I am truly sorry you did not find anything you liked. You will have to come back and try our Spring and Summer market menus. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Regards Richard Mansell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We had a memorable mid week stay, the highlights of which were the spa treatments and the evening meal. The staff couldn't have been any better, always helpful and at hand without ever being obtrusive. The review in the Guardian didn't do the hotel justice. Whilst it's not the most architecturally stunning building the furniture and fixtures are all of the highest standard. The food was fantastic and whilst not cheap the evening meal was value for money. We booked a deal that included breakfast otherwise it would of been £19.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve2826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We have just returned from raithwaite hall having stayed for the weekend and what a fabulous place it is. The hotel staff are very proffesional and friendly and will help you wherever they can. The rooms are excellent and the food too is superb with good local choice dishes. A trip in the rolls royce phantom parked outside the hotel is a nice treat for a ride into whitby and although you pay for this service it is the icing on the cake to finish a perfect weekend stay at this fantastic hall. Will definately be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Portabello-Vintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjman499, General Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

portabello-vintage, Thank you for your review
The staff really appreciated your kind words.
We are so fortunate at Raithwaite to have such amazing
ladies and gentleman as part of the team.

We look forward to seeing you back at the retreat soon

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed here with my two friends as a girls weekend away! All the staff were so friendly and willing to help. The hotel has a real luxury feel and the rooms are spacious. Homemade shortbread was a winner!! We had a faultless 3 course meal, I recommend the Yorkshire Parkin! We were able to use the spa all day after check out in the morning. The spa is lush! We all had treatments I had a deep tissue body massage which was amazing! We were all so relaxed and agreed we would definitely be returning x

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Reviewertron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Myself and 3 other ladies stayed at Raithwaite Hall on the 2nd December for 1 evening for my Mam's 60th birthday treat. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, the decor is sumptuous & the rooms are amazing and the spa - well need I say more!

On arrival we were greeted by a lovely gentleman who took our luggage to our rooms. Each of us enjoyed a relaxing massage & a lovely evening meal. The only thing I would say is that the evening menu was very restricted, a few more options would have been wonderful. Saying that the breakfast was lovely, ample choice for every taste.

This hotel is perfect for a relaxing weekend & the friendly, helpful staff make your stay even more special. A short walk to the beach & not to far from Whitby center.

We all loved our stay here & didn't really want to leave, a couple more nights would have been fantastic. I will certainly be returning next year hopefully for our anniversary! It would be brilliant if another deal came up on Groupon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotLips2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjman499, General Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

hotlips2011, Thank you for your kind words
I was so pleased to read you had a wonderful,
relaxing time at our unique retreat and that your mum enjoyed
a special birthday to remember.
We look forward to having you stay longer next time!

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed mid week for two days at the Raithwaite on a package deal. The staff were, polite, approachable and friendly and it was great to hear so many local accents. The food was plenty, well presented and tasty, The rooms spacious and nicely furnished, The spa delightful and the grounds pleasing and relaxing.
We did have a few problems but this we feel was down to teething problems and we felt that the team at the Raithwaite listened and were keen to help quickly. I also left an item and the staff tracked it down and are forwarding it on.
We would definitely recommend a stay here - a great base too to some wonderful places near by.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room overlooking the gardens as the front entrance and delivery carpark is a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat21_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjman499, General Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Kat21_9, Thank you for your review.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the retreat and all the great
and wonderful places within the local area.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
893 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
650 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
470 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,193 reviews
2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £97 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing