We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We spent two nights at Rathwaite Hall to celebrate my wife's 65th. birthday. We could not have chosen a better hotel - great room, fabulous setting, fantastic food and facilities and staff who genuinely wanted to help make our stay a memorable one.

The hotel is located in a beautiful part of Yorkshire with small seaside villages such as Runswick (a real gem), Robin Hoods Bay,Saithes and the North Yorkshire Moors all close by.Definitely a must for that special weekend away.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite the view from the balcony is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djs147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,886 - 1,892 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

Excellent service and food although you must book for the restaurant at the weekend as it was full.
beautiful rooms and gardens

Only problem we had was i requested a twin room and it was made up as a double room but this was rectified after a couple of hours.

didnt use the spa as we were leaving sunday and you have to pay 45.00 after 11.00 am - pity

otherwise well worth the stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchessYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed for one night on Sun 3 Sept for our wedding anniversary and cannot fault any aspect of our visit apart from it wasn't long enough! The staff are a credit to the hotel with special thanks to Pippa on reception,Dave our porter and our friendly waiter at dinner which was delicious.
The room was lovely with a small balcony and a very comfortable bed,also visited the spa which was very relaxing and clean.
Would recommend to anyone thinking of booking we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maemcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

spoilt by flies. These were particularly prevalent at breakfast. Mystified as to why the hotel management would not install fly deterents or at the very least cover the food to ensure hygiene.
This is a great shame as service, general standard and location very good.

Room Tip: Just velux windows on third floor, with no insect mesh repellant let alone air conditioning. Lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susanbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Went here for a long weekend end of August.What a lovely hotel .the garden was peaceful and very nice.The staff could not do enough for you . We had a room on the second floor over looking the front of hotel.The bedroom and bathroom were lovely the bed really comfy .The staff were great made you feel welcome and could not do enough for you which is really nice .It is a lovely place and hope to come back sometime.I would have a balcony room next time overlooking garden they looked nice.The food was great we ate in restaurant both nights .The biscuits in the room were yummy .Everywhere really clean as well.Did not use the spa this time ,but looked nice.

Room Tip: Looking over garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wlm05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had a week-end break here in August. We had a courtyard room with a balcony, lounge and a first floor bedroom. The room was sumptuous and well fitted. Room 408 had a Balcony overlooking the river and was a great place to start and the day.
The Spa facilities were excellent and the hotel was set in some wonderful gardens. The restraint was OK but we both felt that it was priced at the high end - whenever a menu has the prices written out I've been disappointed. That said the service was excellent and the staff were really helpful,
The breakfast was excellent, a great selection and a nice way to start the day.
The location was excellent, we walked into Whitby along the beach and it's really easy to walk into Sandsend.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Exiled_Cumbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Lovely hotel friendly clean and welcoming everyone there to help turndown service very nice touch will defiantly return and recommend. Restaurant clean and cosy with lovely views over manicured gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
894 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
650 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 19 in Whitby
470 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 19 in Whitby
1,195 reviews
2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £97 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing