We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We spent 2 nights at Raithwaite Hall with friends in December 2012. Everything about this hotel is fabulous! - luxurious - warm - friendly - brilliant spa/pool - lovely restaurant & Bar.

I would love to go back to this hotel :-))

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileenmoss49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Eileenmoss49,
Thank you for a fantastic review of Raithwaite Hall!
We are thrilled you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,720 - 1,726 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

I could not fault this luxury spa hotel just outside Whitby. I took my mother and two other family members for a milestone birthday surprise during December and our every need was attended to by the courteous and friendly staff. The rooms and bathrooms we had reserved were large and superbly appointed and had balconies through french windows. The bar and lounge were very comfortable and of course the spa and pool in the basement offered the very finest in treatments. Fine dining in the restaurant was quite an experience with a menu that featured local game dishes. The wine cellar was stocked with a large selection of very good and some vintage wines from all over the world. Breakfast was included in our room rate and many of the items on offer were locally produced including yoghurts, jams and the inevitable black pudding. Because it was winter-time the grounds were a bit bare but it was still nice to walk up to the lake and then through the manicured gardens.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Raitman,
Thank you for such a fantastic review of Raithwaite Hall!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us enjoyed your experience in our spa and in our restaurant!
We hope we can welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Raithwaite Hall for two nights on business during heavy snow in January.

After a very long and stressful drive was greeted by the concierge who came out to the car park to meet our party with a brollie. Received a very warm welcome, a quick and efficient check-in followed by an explanation of everything in the room and the hotel's facilities.

The hotel is modern but not too contemporary. As other reviewers have mentioned the rooms are spacious with incredibly comfortable beds and all mod cons. Underfloor heating in the bathroom, complimentary Molton Brown products, luxury hand made biscuits, water and a turn down service in the evening.

Had dinner in the bar on both evenings. Good choice of food which was amazing and beautifully presented. On the second night the waiter had taken the initiative to set up a table for our party in a separate suite at the end of the bar so we could dine in private. This was very thoughtful and we had a great meal and excellent service from three waiters/waitresses.

Breakfast in the morning was also of a very high standard. Many of the products are locally sourced and are of great quality. Good choice of food including extensive Continental or fully cooked (Yorkshire, of course) breakfast.

The spa was outstanding. Pure luxury with amazing facilities.

The staff and the service overall was outstanding. All the staff were friendly, attentive and polite. Nothing was too much trouble and many of them went out of their way to accommodate special requests.

Good customer service is about making the guest feel special and the stay a memorable one - the staff at this hotel achieved that and in abundance.

This hotel has to be up there with one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, in the UK on business. It also represented very good value for money.

Would not hesitate to stay here again if I am ever in this part of the UK.

Thanks to the management and all the staff at Raithwaite Hall for making my stay a truly memorable one - and for all the right reasons!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob007Kent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Rob007Kent_UK,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of Raithwaite Hall!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time in our spa and had a positive dining experience in our Poacher’s Bar.
We will pass on your inspiring comments to our ladies and gentlemen and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I was looking for a top quality hotel at a reasonable price to host my husband's 50th birthday party in January. I had seen magazine features on Raithwaite, which is the only luxury hotel on the North Yorkshire Coast and the reviews were good. If you don't know this part of the world, Whitby and Sandsend are stunningly beautiful. Eleanor in the Events team was very helpful with lots of great suggestions and was very patience with my poor organisational arrangements! The Chef designed a menu around my husband's personal preferences and there were lots of personal touches. We stayed in the magnificant presidential suite - which is huge and had a champagne reception. This was followed by a 5 course meal in a private room with great attention to detail from two waiters who rarely left the room. They got the balance of being attentive whilst not been fussy. Raithwaite organised a fantastic cake and recommended a florist for flower displays. All really helpful. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The spa is small but lovely. I particularly enjoyed sitting in the jacuzzi on a very cold and snowy Sunday morning, looking at the waterfall and icy stream. Perfect. There were 12 in our party and I think all of us would go back again to this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you want something very special, go for the presidential suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beartravels2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Beartravels2003,
Thank you for such a great review!
We are ecstatic that you chose Raithwaite Hall as the location for your husband’s 50th birthday party and are so pleased to hear that everything went well!
We will certainly pass on your kind comments regarding Eleanor and our other ladies and gentlemen who helped make your evening a success.
We hope to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

With my husband and our family all going away for the new year, we wanted a really stress free and relaxed Christmas where we wouldn't have to lift a finger! Having stayed here before we thought it would be a perfect countryside getaway for us all. It was so Christmassy, with a lovely big tree at the reception area. Christmas eve, I have to say was my favourite. It was more low key than Christmas day, which was very busy and noisy. The restaurant had a theme night that included food from different countries, which I loved! You could see how much effort was put in, it was really impressive and by far my best Christmas eve! There was a meat section with included lots of different Salami which I thought was not only delicious, but also quite a different thing to have...very thoughtful! The bar staff and waitresses were all really nice too and helpful whenever I asked any (sometimes silly!) questions about the food! After dinner we sat in the bar it was warm and low lit- just perfect way to end the evening. Christmas day was great too- just a little different. More noisy and busier than the previous night. Food was great and nothing was too much bother for the waiters. I felt there could have been some entertainment for the guests in the evening, as apart from the bar area there didn't seem to be much else going on. its also very close to the beach, which although was freezing cold and I didn't go, some of our family did and they had a great time. There was a lovely lake at the end of the hotel with pretty walkways around that I had a little walk around and could feed the ducks too! If you want a really relaxing, stress free getaway for a few days this is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeartsandLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

HeartsandLove,
We are so thrilled our country retreat fulfilled your needs throughout your stay with us and that we were able to help create some special Christmas memories for you!
We will definitely share all of your wonderful comments with our culinary team and all of our ladies and gentlemen who shared Christmas with you!
We hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

A genuine surprise to find this place so close to Whitby… A genuinely good hotel with staff so pleasant and helpful that it feels slightly odd. We came here on business, late in the evening in the middle of a winter rain storm, and were constantly surprised - by the quality of the rooms (good TV's, warm, decent bathrooms & good toiletries), the good bar, the restaurant which serves really good local steaks and has a descent wine list. Were only there for one night so didn't ever see the place in daylight, but we were grateful to find a place of this quality and standard in this area. Clearly someone is confident that it's going to work, as they've invested a lot of cash in this property and invested in staff who actually seem to care whether you're being looked after. A real oasis and whilst perhaps being a bit corporate for non-business users who may prefer something more boutique, it's a very good hotel in which you're not going to be disappointed.

Room Tip: Cabins are good but you have to go downstairs to use the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 900cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

900cc,
Thank you for writing such motivational comments regarding our ladies and gentlemen, we will definitely share these with our team!
We are ecstatic you were happy with your stay and our bar and restaurant was to your liking!
We hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future, and hopefully you will get the chance to relax in our Spa and gardens.
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We chose this beautiful hotel as the current deal made it an outstanding option compared to all other competitors in the region. We weren't dissappointed in any aspect of this hotel's offerings and we look back and wonder why we didn't stay a week and travel out from this hotel to the locations in North Yorks that we visited ove that period.
Our deal excluded breakfast which was also a good choice as there are easy breakfast options at nearly all of the tourist venues and breakfast was an expensive addition at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scud56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Maxidog1,
Thank you for a fantastic review of Raithwaite Hall!
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon and maybe you can try our delicious breakfast too!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
877 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
647 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
463 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £90 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing