We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spa hotel”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Had a wonderful night's stay at this lovely spa hotel just outside Whitby. The service was excellent and the staff are all extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming.

Afternoon tea with scones fresh out of the oven then a relaxing afternoon in the lovely spa. Very nice pool area with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, absolute bliss. The delicious evening meal was served by very friendly waiters for whom nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and ours had a balcony overlooking the gardens. What a nice place it must be in the summer to enjoy the evening sun.

Breakfast is fantastic serving local produce and eggs cooked to order.

All in all someone has cleverly got this place just right - congrats to whoever that was!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

HRB_UK,
Thank you for writing such a fantastic review of our country retreat!
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that your room was to your liking!
It is great to hear that you had a good experience in our spa and enjoyed your dining experiences with us!
We put our success down to the dedication of our service professionals, so we will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all of our team!
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,716 - 1,722 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

Lovely place to spend a weekend, or a week for that matter. The place is well appointed and spotlessly clean, the staff are an engaging, efficient delight and the food is of a good standard.

Enough said.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Properlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Thehairbarebunch,
We really appreciate your fantastic review of our unique hotel!
Thank you for your inspirational comments regarding our ladies and gentlemen; we will be sure to pass them on!
We hope we can welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We booked for afternoon champagne tea and what a perfect treat for a miserable Sunday afternoon. The Staff were very attentive and friendly, all the scones, sandwiches ,cakes etc were superb (start the diet tomorrow) will definitely go back and try Sunday lunch, a really lovely classy place in a superb location.

Room Tip: We only called for afternoon tea so I cannot rate anything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helensmith135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Helensmith135,
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our country retreat!
We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your champagne tea at Poachers Bar and will certainly pass on your motivational comments to our team!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This is the second time for me at Raithwaite Hall and it was just as good as the first. It was my partners birthday treat and although he doesn't usually pass comment, I was delighted to hear that he had thoroughly enjoyed his stay. The attention to detail is fabulous and the spa certainly did the trick. A birthday gift of a massage for Terry was wonderful and I was quite happy to indulge in the jacuzzi. We ate in the Poachers Bar and had some mouth watering mussels, and in the morning a truly scrumptious breakfast with the addition of marmite!!
Once again I'd like to say a big thank you, all the staff are courteous and attentive and I think that Peter is a great asset. Hope to see you soon xx

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Allitel,
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us and Poachers Bar didn’t fail to impress you!
We are thrilled you both enjoyed your time using our spa facilities and enjoyed your Yorkshire breakfast!
It is our pleasure to pass on your wonderful comments to Peter and the rest of our ladies and gentlemen.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We spent 2 nights at Raithwaite Hall with friends in December 2012. Everything about this hotel is fabulous! - luxurious - warm - friendly - brilliant spa/pool - lovely restaurant & Bar.

I would love to go back to this hotel :-))

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileenmoss49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Eileenmoss49,
Thank you for a fantastic review of Raithwaite Hall!
We are thrilled you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I could not fault this luxury spa hotel just outside Whitby. I took my mother and two other family members for a milestone birthday surprise during December and our every need was attended to by the courteous and friendly staff. The rooms and bathrooms we had reserved were large and superbly appointed and had balconies through french windows. The bar and lounge were very comfortable and of course the spa and pool in the basement offered the very finest in treatments. Fine dining in the restaurant was quite an experience with a menu that featured local game dishes. The wine cellar was stocked with a large selection of very good and some vintage wines from all over the world. Breakfast was included in our room rate and many of the items on offer were locally produced including yoghurts, jams and the inevitable black pudding. Because it was winter-time the grounds were a bit bare but it was still nice to walk up to the lake and then through the manicured gardens.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Raitman,
Thank you for such a fantastic review of Raithwaite Hall!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us enjoyed your experience in our spa and in our restaurant!
We hope we can welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Raithwaite Hall for two nights on business during heavy snow in January.

After a very long and stressful drive was greeted by the concierge who came out to the car park to meet our party with a brollie. Received a very warm welcome, a quick and efficient check-in followed by an explanation of everything in the room and the hotel's facilities.

The hotel is modern but not too contemporary. As other reviewers have mentioned the rooms are spacious with incredibly comfortable beds and all mod cons. Underfloor heating in the bathroom, complimentary Molton Brown products, luxury hand made biscuits, water and a turn down service in the evening.

Had dinner in the bar on both evenings. Good choice of food which was amazing and beautifully presented. On the second night the waiter had taken the initiative to set up a table for our party in a separate suite at the end of the bar so we could dine in private. This was very thoughtful and we had a great meal and excellent service from three waiters/waitresses.

Breakfast in the morning was also of a very high standard. Many of the products are locally sourced and are of great quality. Good choice of food including extensive Continental or fully cooked (Yorkshire, of course) breakfast.

The spa was outstanding. Pure luxury with amazing facilities.

The staff and the service overall was outstanding. All the staff were friendly, attentive and polite. Nothing was too much trouble and many of them went out of their way to accommodate special requests.

Good customer service is about making the guest feel special and the stay a memorable one - the staff at this hotel achieved that and in abundance.

This hotel has to be up there with one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, in the UK on business. It also represented very good value for money.

Would not hesitate to stay here again if I am ever in this part of the UK.

Thanks to the management and all the staff at Raithwaite Hall for making my stay a truly memorable one - and for all the right reasons!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob007Kent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Rob007Kent_UK,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of Raithwaite Hall!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time in our spa and had a positive dining experience in our Poacher’s Bar.
We will pass on your inspiring comments to our ladies and gentlemen and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
877 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
647 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
463 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £90 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing