We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star luxury”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Treated my wife to a weekend stay in this lovely Hotel situated between Sandsend and Whitby.The place is amazing,its set in beautiful grounds that you can wander around at your lesuire.The spa which is free to use is wonderfull with a swimming pool,Jacuzzi and steam room plus sauna.The rooms are fantastic,big beds ,great bathrooms .our room had a large plasma TV on the wall and a balcony that looked onto the gardens.The breakfasts are to die for,i had full English and its the nicest ive ever had.We loved the place and its only 100 yards from a bracing sea front walk along Sands end beach

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heedtheball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Heedtheball,
Thank you for writing such a fantastic review of our hotel!
We are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us and had the chance to relax in our spa!
We truly hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
There are newer reviews for Raithwaite Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,658 - 1,664 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

Just returned from a surprise birthday weekend here after my husband had a recommendation about the hotel from a friend. I'm happy to report the recommendation was well made and this hotel is fabulous.
Had a slight problem getting there - bear in mind the satnav postcode will take you to a house rather than the hotel. The porter said it happens a lot!
On arrival we were greeted warmly by the receptionist and porter and nothing was too much trouble. This customer service lasted throughout the weekend, every member of staff was polite, courteous, friendly and eager to help. It was really refreshing to find such great service instead of the usual 'can't be botherted attitude' you tend to get in this country.
Our room was lovely, a good size with a lovely big bed (very comfortable), balcony and a good sized bathroom (with underfloor heating that was amazing!).
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was lovely, well presented and tasty. My only issue is that there was only one vegetarian option which in this day and age isn't really acceptable and meant we couldn't have had a meal there on the second night as I would have had to eat the same thing again. The waiters were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for us.
Breakfast staff were the same. Really good breakfast selection of continental and cooked foods. I really liked the chef there cooking eggs to order and I had a very tasty omlette courtesy of him.
We had tea in the poachers bar on the second night which had again the token pasta vegetarian dish but I found a cheese salad sandwich with fries for variety. Lots of local produce on all of the menus which I really liked.
My husband treated us to treatments at the Spa. We chose a scalp massage followed by back massage which were lovely. Unfortunately we had a problem with the booking though. My husband had booked the treatments in by phone a couple of days prior to our arrical so we could plan other activties around this but when he turned up at the spa they had no record of us and said they'd had an email from us the day before cancelling which was untrue. Fortunately they had some time at the very end of the day to fit us in otherwise it would have been a real disappointment when he'd specifcally chosen a hotel with a spa for a birthday treat. I would also just say that we had to lie on wet towels for our treatments which I don't think is right and surely left over from the couple having treatments before us??
So, all in all, a very lovely stay and I'd definitely consider staying again or recommending to friends. The only things that stopped me giving this a 5 out of 5 were the spa disappointment and the lack of veggie options on the menu.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clementine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Clementine8,
We really appreciate your wonderful and honest review!
It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was to your liking!
Thank you for your feedback regarding your spa treatments and dining experiences. We will certainly pass your comments on to the necessary departments to ensure mishaps like this do not reoccur in the future.
Your inspirational comments regarding our team will most definitely be passed on!
We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Just had a couple of days at this lovely spa hotel, service excellent. Nothing too much trouble for any of the staff. The rooms are spotless and well decorated. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, we upgraded our room, so had a really nice outlook onto the gardens, would love to go back in summer as the gardens will look spectacular. Breakfast is excellent, chef in restaurant to fry your eggs as you want them, and make you a fresh omelette.

This is not a criticism but the jacuzzi could be a little bit hotter and the sauna, but the spa is lovely and really enjoyed it, next time I will try some treatment.
Can I just point out that on the reception there is a gentleman called Peter the Porter (his words not mine, and he is wonderful so helpful and pleasant thank you it was much appreciated to be greeted with a lovely smile and warm welcome.
Will I be returning most definately

Room Tip: Treat yourselves to a couple of days, we upgraded to a room overlooking the gardens, cannot say what...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda2360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Linda2360,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our country retreat!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to make the most of our facilities!
We will pass on your motivational comments to Peter and all of our ladies and gentlemen!
We hope to welcome you back soon when you can enjoy some time in our beautiful gardens!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Had a wonderful night's stay at this lovely spa hotel just outside Whitby. The service was excellent and the staff are all extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming.

Afternoon tea with scones fresh out of the oven then a relaxing afternoon in the lovely spa. Very nice pool area with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, absolute bliss. The delicious evening meal was served by very friendly waiters for whom nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and ours had a balcony overlooking the gardens. What a nice place it must be in the summer to enjoy the evening sun.

Breakfast is fantastic serving local produce and eggs cooked to order.

All in all someone has cleverly got this place just right - congrats to whoever that was!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRB_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

HRB_UK,
Thank you for writing such a fantastic review of our country retreat!
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that your room was to your liking!
It is great to hear that you had a good experience in our spa and enjoyed your dining experiences with us!
We put our success down to the dedication of our service professionals, so we will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all of our team!
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Lovely place to spend a weekend, or a week for that matter. The place is well appointed and spotlessly clean, the staff are an engaging, efficient delight and the food is of a good standard.

Enough said.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Properlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Thehairbarebunch,
We really appreciate your fantastic review of our unique hotel!
Thank you for your inspirational comments regarding our ladies and gentlemen; we will be sure to pass them on!
We hope we can welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We booked for afternoon champagne tea and what a perfect treat for a miserable Sunday afternoon. The Staff were very attentive and friendly, all the scones, sandwiches ,cakes etc were superb (start the diet tomorrow) will definitely go back and try Sunday lunch, a really lovely classy place in a superb location.

Room Tip: We only called for afternoon tea so I cannot rate anything else.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helensmith135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Helensmith135,
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our country retreat!
We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your champagne tea at Poachers Bar and will certainly pass on your motivational comments to our team!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This is the second time for me at Raithwaite Hall and it was just as good as the first. It was my partners birthday treat and although he doesn't usually pass comment, I was delighted to hear that he had thoroughly enjoyed his stay. The attention to detail is fabulous and the spa certainly did the trick. A birthday gift of a massage for Terry was wonderful and I was quite happy to indulge in the jacuzzi. We ate in the Poachers Bar and had some mouth watering mussels, and in the morning a truly scrumptious breakfast with the addition of marmite!!
Once again I'd like to say a big thank you, all the staff are courteous and attentive and I think that Peter is a great asset. Hope to see you soon xx

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Allitel,
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us and Poachers Bar didn’t fail to impress you!
We are thrilled you both enjoyed your time using our spa facilities and enjoyed your Yorkshire breakfast!
It is our pleasure to pass on your wonderful comments to Peter and the rest of our ladies and gentlemen.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,135 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
438 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £93 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing