We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spa lets down the excellent service”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“spa lets down the excellent service”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

front of house staff give excellent customer service as do the restaurant waiting staff & peter the porter. The customer service in the spa & the spa lets the hotel down .
Also if you are booking a courtyard suite do not book 403 it is next door to a pump/ boiler room & its like sleeping adjacent to a
tumble dryer!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jj1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Jj1066,
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our ladies and gentlemen, we are pleased our team was able to ensure you had an enjoyable experience at the hotel.
I am sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your experience at the spa and hope you were able to speak to our Spa Manager or Supervisor to express this so a resolution could be found.
Our courtyard suites have had a lot of compliments since our opening so it is a shame that your room was to your satisfaction.
We hope you will give us another chance to impress you in the future
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,324
    407
    191
    74
    24
See reviews for
284
1,319
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel for a valentines treat and were amazed by the friendliness of the staff who constantly asked if we were enjoying our stay !! The room was fantastic and very clean ..... We will certainly be back to this fabulous hotel !!!!

Room Tip: Choose the Jefferson suite ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Tony A,
We are ecstatic that you were happy with your stay with us here at Raithwaite Hall and are thrilled that we were the right setting for your Valentine’s Day treat!
We truly appreciate your motivational words regarding our ladies and gentlemen and will certainly pass them on!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Cannot fault our stay at Raithwaite Hall Hotel. My husband and I stayed one night (winter warmer package) and we were instantly impressed with the service of all staff who were all friendly. The hotel was one of the cleanest I've stayed in with excellent food (I would go back for the breakfast alone!) Afternoon tea was also nice (in with the package) with a very posh but laid back / relaxed atmosphere. The room and bathroom were both very clean and even had our only patio area. We never had a spa treatment but the pool facilities were good. Lovely gardens to walk around. Overall a lovely break and ideal for all ages.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Sarah B,
Thank you for writing a fantastic review of our unique hotel!
We really appreciate your comments and are thrilled that you were pleased with our service and the Winter Warmer Package overall!
We hope we can welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My boyfriend booked this as a romantic valentines break for us, selecting a 1-night dinner, bread & breakfast option. Upon arrival the reception staff were very warm and welcoming and a very pleasant member of concierge carried my bag to our room (the Jefferson suite) and showed us around. We were impressed with the room which had an enormous comfy bed and a private view of the gardens.
We had a nice stroll around the gardens before heading down to the spa where I had pre-booked a couple of treatments for the afternoon for myself and my partner. Sadly this is where things began to go downhill. There were only 3 loungers which were all occupied so we had to use the uncomfortable chairs around the pool edge which were impossible to relax on. The sauna and Jacuzzi were lovely but sadly the steam room was out of order. My partner went for his treatment first (an intense muscle release) and I went in for a neck & back massage. Although the staff were really friendly and the facilities looked really good, the massages themselves were very poor. I’m not exaggerating when I say I’ve had firmer back tickles! I was really quite shocked and disappointed (not to mention £95 lighter in the pocket).
We didn’t have much time to dwell on it as we had to hurry to get ready for dinner which had been booked for 6:45pm – unfortunately that was the only time they could give us. Thankfully the restaurant was lovely and the food was delicious. Hats off to the restaurant staff who did a brilliant job, very friendly and polite.
We finished the night off in the lounge with a few cocktails which again was very pleasant.
Breakfast the next day was delicious and I think they had pretty much anything you could have asked for.
Upon check out we were asked how we had found our stay at Raithwaite Hall and expressed our disappointment at the level of service in the Spa – the hotel offered a quick apology and assured us this would be fed back to management before asking us to sign for our £450 bill.
I’m left with mixed feelings about Raithwaite. I had high expectations from a luxury spa hotel and feel somewhat let down. If they can pay more attention to the minor details then it has the potential to be a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deneze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Deneze1,
Thank you for taking the time to right this review.
I am sorry that your experience at our spa was not to your satisfaction. We truly do appreciate your feedback and have passed on your comments to our Spa Manager to ensure that this does not reoccur.
We are pleased that you had a positive experience at Brace Restaurant and Grill and that your room was to your liking.
We will also be sure to pass on your kind words regarding our ladies and gentlemen to our team!
We do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed early February to attend a friends wedding in Whitby. On our arrival on Friday night we were greeted by very friendly staff. The room was clean and very comfortable. We ate in the bar on Friday night the food was of a very high standard and we had a very enjoyable meal. We also enjoyed the pool and both thought the breakfasts were excellent, again with very friendly and helpful staff.
The only negative was the taxi firm recommended by reception, we headed off to the wedding, my wife in a cream dress, in a filthy taxi, with numerous cigarettes burns on the rear seat!
All in all a great weekend, certainly a hotel where we would like to return to.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JonnyB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
JonnyB777,
Thank you for such a fantastic review of Raithwaite Hall!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed your experience in our spa and in our restaurant!
We hope we can welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Raithwaite in one of the rooms in the block adjacent to the main hotel. Whilst the room was nice, there were 'logistic' issues which took the shine off of it a little (hence our rating of 3 in this category): a lack of cupboard space for your clothes - we had to live out of our suitcases for the 3 days: and the bathroom/ toilet being located downstairs and the bed upstairs - not good in the middle of the night. And the toilet did leak.

We ate there twice, once in the bar and the other time in the restaurant. The food was good: we enjoyed it but considered it a bit overpriced for what we was. The breakfasts were excellent: a wide choice of hot or cold (I'd recommend the kippers). Service in the restaurant and bar was friendly and attentive.

The spa facilities were excellent.

The grounds and location were lovely. The gardens looked fantastic and were a lovely backdrop to the hotel.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay. Despite the constructive criticisms, we'd recommend it to friends and would be back

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
John H,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your courtyard room. We will be sure to pass this on to the relevant departments as we are always looking to improve our guest’s experience.
We are so delighted you were pleased with our spa facilities and enjoyed our gardens!
We hope we can welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We have just returned from our 2nd astonishing stay at this hotel. The balance of charm and attentiveness is perfectly judged by the staff and commences from the moment you arrive. We were upgraded on arrival, simply because the room we requested was not available!!! The following day we were upgraded again(because I peevishly mentioned the bathroom floor underheating was not working). I love the generousity of spirit and sensitivity towards guests. I love the inclusivity shown to us as 2 gay women.
The food is completely excellent..The spa ambience enveloping.I would be surprised if I ever find a hotel that encapsulates such superb customer service. There is nothing about this hotel that I wouldnt recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
ew2,
We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your second stay with us here at Raithwaite Hall!
We will certainly pass on all off your kind words to our ladies and gentlemen as I am sure everyone will be thrilled that we were able to create the environment you were looking for.
It is a pleasure to hear you were able to take full advantage of all of our facilities and we hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
808 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
493 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
417 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Property: Raithwaite Estate
Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing