We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A well located hotel with excellent staff providing a very good service. A good restaurant providing high quality food and a good range of wines. Breakfast excellent. Spa facility good.
We were in a new building on the estate and travelled to the main block by golf buggy which was always available. It was easily walked too. Our only reservation was the lack of air conditioning in the room. It may have been unusual for the north east, but the weather was warm and sunny and as a result the room was far too warm and difficult to cool down. A surprising omission for a new building that needs rectifying.

Room Tip: Check out cooling facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSB462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,529 - 1,535 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

What really stood out at Raithwaite was the excellent service, from all staff we encountered. Our twin club rooms were of excellent quality- particularly the mattress & pillows- one of the best nights sleep I've ever had! The entire hotel including the spa was spotlessly clean. The variety, quality & presentation of breakfast was superb. We will be back!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank GemBz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed in the Keep. It was having a few teething problems. The floor mounted air conditioner was very heavy and clumsy and noisy so we didn't use it. The chain on the french windows was broken and the hot tap on the sink didn't work. The staff were excellent and very helpful. I think we would have preferred the main hotel. The menus were unpriced and they had to send to the main hotel for priced menus!

Room Tip: Avoid the Keep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed in a self catering cottage in the grounds of Raithwaite hall for a week whilst I was recovering from an operation. We have visited Sandsend and Whitby many times before but not noticed this place before which seems to be making a name for itself in the area.
Our accommodation was excellent, very clean, very comfortable and top spec in terms of decoration and finish.
The hotel spa facilities were available to us and we enjoyed our time there. The gardens are definitely worth a walk through and it was lovely to sit between the lavender and roses and breath in the scent. The staff were always very welcoming and eager to help, this was noticeable both on reception, bar staff and gardener s as well as spa facilities.
We didn't use the restaurant as it seemed a bit expensive and quite formal, but it was very popular with people especially over the weekend.
We found the area rich in wildlife and wildflowers which I hope further developments at the hotel will be particularly considerate about in their developments. From plans I have read this does seem to be one of their priorities at present. There are still a lot of developments taking place in the grounds , but they seem to be quite well managed and try to limit negative effects to people staying there as much as possible. This hotel would make a super setting for a wedding reception or wildlife study centre. I hope they can marry the two together.

Room Tip: Self catering was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelsmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A weekend away as a birthday present. The room was nicely appointed with a lounge area downstairs plus the bathroom, and the bedroom upstairs. It was very warm but we were able to leave the French window ajar to let some air through, which was particularly appreciated by our dogs who were able to join us. The windows in the bedroom area were velux so opening them for air flow was compromised by the sunlight coming in in the morning.
The staff were professional, if a little disjointed in communication between themselves at times, and friendly.
The evening meal was very nice, although if you are a vegetarian the choice is a little uninspiring! I'm sure they can think of something more than pasta or risotto.
The spa is lovely and the treatments we had were well executed.
The best thing is the location - beautiful grounds, close proximity to the beach and to the Cleveland way path. We didn't move the car all weekend. We walked the dogs on the beach and enjoyed the cafe at Sandsend after arriving, walked a full day walk along the coastal path to Runswick Bay and back on the Saturday, and I even managed to fit in an early morning run on the beach on Sunday. A walk into Whitby is very doable, although we didn't manage it this time have done so before.
Super weekend, will be very happy to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stayinborrowdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed for three nights in the Keep. Very comfortable bed and good shower. As others have noted the rooms get rather hot but we were assured that this will be rectified. Breakfast is served at the Keep but not dinner. We had a very good dinner in the Poachers Bar in the main hotel. Breakfast was of a high standard. The service is excellent throughout. In particular Amy was amazing; very professional and helpful including advising on where to visit in the area and where we might stay as we moved on to the Dales. Special mentions for Paul and Sabine; always smiling and helpful. It was only a short distance into Sandsend for a good walk along the front. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked a "special" 2nights away without our teenage daughters (who were enjoying themselves at pony club camp). The courtyard room was lovely with a downstairs sitting room area and a spacious upstairs bedroom. Downside:- no bath in bathroom, no clothes storage space in the bedroom and the courtyard ( sounds picturesque) was the carpark out the front and a brick lined water run behind. Room was however very comfortable and very clean and a pleasant place to relax in. We had a treatment in the spa included in our package and this was very relaxing and enjoyable. The pool and sauna area clean and pleasant although crowded at times.
Food was fantastic and dinner service was excellent.
There are lovely gardens hidden away at the back of the hotel and a very pleasant walk to Sandsend that takes maybe 20 mins.
The hotel is very modern and lacks a little in character and there is still building work ongoing outside in the grounds.

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay and all our needs were attended to. We would definitely consider returning here

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ripdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
870 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
646 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £89 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing