We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top class Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Have stayed at Raithwaite Hall on more than one occasion and have found the amenities and service to be faultless. The breakfast is one of the best I have experienced anywhere and really appreciate the chef on hand to cook eggs /omelettes. Dinner is very much a picture on a plate and you could well still be hungry at the end. As seems to be common now the dinner menu does not change often so if you are staying more than one or two nights you could get a bit stuck. Our room was delightful and the bed very comfortable. The situation of the hotel is great, with a lovely garden. Sandsend itself is a short walk away and Whitby less the a ten minute drive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,251
    378
    185
    72
    22
See reviews for
265
1,240
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Sandsend, Whitby's little neighbour, used to be the quiet seaside place where our children could play boisterous cricket on the huge beach without offending anyone. Since then it has become Yorkshire's niche resort. It now boasts a beautiful country house hotel in an idyllic setting. Hidden in a wooded valley surrounded by pines, gorse and rhododendrons, Raithwaite Hall is an oasis of tranquillity. Cheerful staff greet you warmly and conduct you to your delightful room which has every amenity, including robes and slippers. You look out on the terraced gardens and listen to the tinkling brook that wends its way past your window. And peace envelops you. There is a spa with a large indoor pool and jacuzzi. And, if you still aren't relaxed enough you can have a soothing massage. And if you are too relaxed, there's a lovely two mile walk along the cliffs into Whitby, a much shorter walk into Sandsend (which boasts one pub, one smart restaurant and an upmarket wine bar) or a nearby golf links.

Breakfast is a delight, served in an airy conservatory. Whitby kippers, rhubarb compote and homemade muesli are the star attractions as well as standard breakfast elements. It is hard not to keep eating and eating.

If you plan to dine in the hotel, a good breakfast is essential... because you won't get much for dinner! The dinner menu sounds delightful, though there are a few clang combinations that might suggest the chef has more enthusiasm than taste. The dining room is elegant, though a little cold (both in decor and temperature). Service is pleasant, but not knowledgeable. But the food is lacking in both flavour and quantity. My wife's soup, served by being poured from a little milk jug, barely covered the bottom of the plate. Restaurants often serve bread rolls that have been baked from chilled, but they should be proved before baking, and then baked for long enough to make them crusty. Otherwise you get dense, soft, flavourless rolls with a shell rather than a crust... as was the case here. My starter of 'goat’s cheese custard' consisted of a single ping pong ball of cheese in the middle of a vast slate. It had a consistency closer to Polyfilla than custard. It tasted of nothing, lacking the sharpness of a goat’s cheese. Our main course sea bream consisted of a very small thin fillet that had been pan-fried sufficiently for the surface to be browned, but the centre undercooked. Perhaps it had been cooked straight from the fridge. The 'baby chard' was actually samphire, though no worse for that. The dish looked lovely; the quantity of food would have been small in Mayfair. But this is Yorkshire!

Overall, our stay at Raithwaite Hall has been delightful. But our evening meal was a great disappointment. How can a kitchen that produces such a lovely breakfast fail so comprehensively at dinner?

Room Tip: Some rooms on the third floor are lit by roof windows and have no view. Ask for a room with a prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I've stayed here before in the keep but this time I stayed in the main hotel so;
Staff as usual were very friendly, professional and attentive. Stayed in room 104 which was a good size, huge shower which was excellent and the comfiest bed I've slept in for ages. The breakfast was excellent. As usual the pool/gym area was clean and I find it great to unwind in the pool after a long day. The staff couldn't do more to assist me, I'm beginning to use this hotel more and more when I'm in the area as I can't find fault. The location is also good, 10-15 minutes walk and I'm in whitby centre, the views from the end of the drive are breathtaking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu7C9F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was my 7th stay at Raithwaite Hall, still enjoyed it as much as much as my first stay, which was a spa break when the hotel first opened
The standards are still as good, we love the area and have watched everything develop around the hotel.[The Keep, the new cottages etc.]

If you want to chill out and enjoy comfort and excellence, try it.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good, we prefer a walk in shower and separate bath, just ask this is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria30next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guisborough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We spent 20th Jan.. my 70th b/day at Raithwaite Hall....was a lovely and relaxing time, we arrived on Monday lunch time, our room was ready , we were on the 3rd floor, room excellent,although I would have preffered a wall window, instead of 2skylight ones. but this was still ok.. My name on the t.v.screen was a special touch. lightsnack in the Poachers bar, which is decorated very calmly, and comfortable furnishings, Then spent some time in the pool,spa. only the 2 of us in.. and felt very special, another couple arrived just before we left. A back massage for me,(treat off my daughter) from Zoe, was great..took a lot of "knots" out I didint know I had. .. Then our evening meal, again in the Poachers, wine and food waiters very helpful, and pleasant, I had the butternut squash soup, steak, and bailys cheesecake, The steak was perfect, and very succulent.my Husband had the same, apart from the starter, he had mushroom risotto... all highly recomended.. Breakfast in the conservatory, again the selection was very varied, we has the full Yorkshire.. Yes would def return to Raithwaite Hall.. and prob spend more time in the pool..

Room Tip: prob ask for one , not with a skylight..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pumkinpieGuisborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carluke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Have just returned from a two night stay at the Raithwaite. Absolutely amazing. The hotel is and the staff excel in courtesy and helpfulness. Nothing is too much trouble for them and I felt so relaxed and comfortable. The food was also brilliant. This was a christmas present from our daughter - roll on next year. Kate Nisbet, Scotland. .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We chose this hotel as it's dog-friendly and we've visited this area for many years. Greeting staff were pleasant and helpful but we discovered on arrival that our room was on two levels, with sitting room, bathroom and (very small) wardrobe downstairs. The bedroom was up quite steep and narrow stairs which was not ideal for us as my partner has to visit the loo several times a night. The 'greeter' offered to see if there was other availability but came back quite quickly to say there was no other dog friendly room available. There is a whole building 'The Keep' which is especially for guests with dogs but apparently this was not available, something to do with building works but reason not very clear. For future interest, we called in to this building as we were leaving to find that guests had been staying there so it was a bit of a mystery. We feel we should have been told in advance that the room we had been allocated was on two levels, bathroom and bedroom on different floors. Rooms were clean and pleasant, TVs in both rooms, usual tea, water, biscuits provided. Nice shower, easy to use, hot water, complimentary soap etc. However, the really strange and very annoying feature was that there was no storage at all in the bedroom - no drawers, shelves, hooks, hanging space or mirror (just a little make up mirror). We had to leave all our clothes on the floor! The bed, pillows, sheets etc were lovely: new, nice colours etc. As the loo issue was a problem for us, we would have expected some acknowledgement - a voucher, a reduction or something. However, we were told we had been up graded (not our choice, we would have been happier with a standard room with facilities on one level) as though we should be grateful! The pool was lovely, the food and service at breakfast was excellent. However, as this isn't a cheap hotel, we might have expected a bit more concern about the problems caused by the split-level accommodation. We did pass on our comments to reception.

Room Tip: Check in advance if bedroom and bathroom on different levels might be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Property: Raithwaite Estate
Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing