We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without Fault”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Without Fault”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I visited with my daughter who surprised me with afternoon tea. Unfortunately they had been a mix up with the booking, which resulted in `no booking`
The staff found us a table & couldn't have been more attentive. It is in gorgeous surroundings & the personal attention shown will mean we will return. A male member of the bar staff was particularly helpful & extremely polite.
Well worth the trip, a lovely afternoon tea & can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    409
    191
    74
    24
See reviews for
284
1,323
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights here as a joint birthday treat and were impressed from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Upon arrival we were delighted to find out we were given a double upgrade. This is the first time this has ever happened to us and was a wonderful start to our wee holiday. The room was stunning! Huge and spacious and bathroom with underfloor heating - such a luxury. The bed was massive and topped with a feather mattress topper and feather pillows. We made full use of the spa facilities and also treated ourselves to a joint massage in the double room which was a lovely treat.
The grounds to this estate are stunning and well kept. The staff who run this establishment are efficient, friendly and professional who were very welcoming and attentive to us during our stay.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and we will definitely return in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jiylees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeat
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on the luxury for less package in a club room. The hotel was in immaculate condition, it was spotless and modern too. All the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The food was exquisite and the room spacious. The hotel facilities were fantastic: we had spa treatments and took full advantage of the pool, sauna, hot tub and steam room. The hotel is set in a beautiful quiet location away from the main road, with good access to nearby Whitby. We will definitely be recommending this hotel to friends and family and we hope to return here in the future!

Room Tip: Club rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Great location just outside Whitby, a lovely walk along the excellent beach to get into town.
We stayed in Jasmine cottage, which was superb had everything we needed.....although the bedroom was a bit tight with all our gear in.
The staff couldn't have been more friendly and attentive, great chracters!!
Breakfast was brilliant and we got room service one of the evenings...only problem was having to choose from the tasty selection. All the food was seasonal, local and quality, which is what we want to see from a menu!! This made the difference between great and excellent.
All in all, a quality weekend brake and we got to take the dog too!! Perfect! Thank you to all the staff for making us feel so welcome, see you soon : )

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank imbanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

From the moment our bags were unloaded from the boot and the car taken off to be parked to the mornings e left we couldn't have been better looked after. The whole staff were friendly, efficient and well trained. Wherever we were in the estate they had time to chat and help if needed.
The breakfast was the best ever, especially if you don't want the full Yorkshire ( which was super)
The grounds were delightful and will be even more so with time. The spa was warm and relaxing, though we were there when it was fairly quiet. The sun shone and Whitby was lovely to just wander round. Do visit the church by the Abbey.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierpoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent a night there . Lovely place , fabulous food ,warm welcoming staff . The grounds are lovely beautiful view from room .The meal was amazing and our waitress ( Lily ) was very attentive. There was lots of choice for breakfast , local bread , cheese , sausages , bacon , the chef cooked your eggs to liking . Can't wait to go again

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolhadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of weeks back for just one night with friends . They have stayed numerous times but this was our first . In the previous weekends before we had stayed at The Feversham Arms in Helmsley and at The Cedar Court Grand in York which is Yorks only 5* hotel . I have to say that this is the best of the lot , and nearly half the cost . We stayed in the main hotel part overlooking the garden in a room with its own balcony . It was spotless and fitted out with the best quality items . I didn't do the spa thing but my wife did and said it was brilliant . We didn't have dinner there but we did have breakfast . This was a top notch start to the day .
We will definitely return again as we do feel like we have had value for money .
Excellent .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sunworshiper76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,118 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,067 reviews
15.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,858 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Property: Raithwaite Estate
Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing