We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked this hotel for my parents for my dads birthday.
My parents really enjoyed it, exceptional service and quality all round.
Rooms were immaculate and the food a breakfast plentiful and great quality.
Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,320 - 1,326 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our 3rd visit here. Unfortunately it's lost that intimate feel of a small luxury hotel due to all the add ons. They were building all the cottages and the keep when we were here last. We were told on our previous visit that the guests in the keep and cottages wouldn't have access to the pool and spa but clearly this is not the case. The pool and spa are now just too small and inadequate for the amount of accommodation on site. The young men on the bar remain pleasant and welcoming however I cannot say the same for the reception staff. On our departure the card I used for deposit didn't go through and the lady quite loudly said the card won't go through. This was clearly her mistake as it went through when she put the details through again but no apology. Not very professional at all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrotsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Enjoyed the high quality service, the superb breakfast, and the very clean facilities. The Keep was modern, set amongst lovely grounds, and staffed by very helpful and friendly workers. A very short drive into Whitby and its charms, the hotel is an ideal weekend destination.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at the Keep, first weekend away with my new boyfriend (he organised everything!) Absolutely stunning, I'm so sad we could only stay the one night. The room was elegant and very spacious, adorable little balcony with crenelations! (If you're the damsel in distress type this was so cool!) Fabulous bathroom, and I'm the type to judge a hotel by it's bathroom. Giant shower, big enough for two with both a rain shower head and a normal one and a lovely double ended bath. (very romantic!)
I wish we'd had time to make use of the hotel's facilities it all looked lovely. We even got driven with our bags in one of their little golf buggies (the little things make me happy!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZweeNiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my husband to be on 28-30th april to celebrate our first anniversary. We stayed at The Keep. Luxurious room and surroundings. We loved it. The only negative aspect was being away from the main hotel building, we were reliant on golf buggy transport to and fro, which was a slight hinderence, as we didnt have direct access to the spa/restaurants. We will return, but next time we will request main building.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was our third stay at Raithwaite. It is in an incredible setting which is away from the hurly burly but fun of Whitby during Goth week. Raithwaite is a haven of calm, in a quiet country location, and surrounded by fields and greenery.

The star of the show is the health suite with its swimming pool, jacuzzi , sauna and steam room. The breakfast is lavish and well thought out. The staff are friendly and I cannot think of a better place to say when in Whitby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor of the main building have the best view. If given the choice, choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a stay at The Raithwaite Estate and have to say for 5* expected more!
We arrived on Friday evening and were escorted to our room by the receptionist and immediately were greeted by a horrendous smell in the room. As maintenance were off duty we were supplied with some air freshner with the assurance that the problem would be dealt with the following morning. Mentioned it again on the Sat morning on our way out but was disappointed to find the problem(we suspected drains!) was not addressed. We continued to raise the matter but nothing was done.
Also the second bedroom had no duvets and we were left with 1 sheet and 1 blanket on each bed until the Saturday evening when we desperately asked for more, the receptionist was puzzled as to why there were no duvets!!
On checkout we were asked if we enjoyed our stay and we replied no, stating the problems we'd had. All we go was a sorry and that was that!!!!
Have to say really expected more from a 5* but they didn't seem bothered as I assume they are trading on past/very generous reviews!!
I would encourage anyone who wants to go to look on trivago for the offers first, not worth paying the extortionate full price!!!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
857 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,156 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £89 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing