We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

From the moment you arrive, to the second you leave, the attentive and discrete staff ensure your stay is seamless. The attention to detail, from menu, decor, grounds to ambience is hard to beat. I highly recommend this boutique spa hotel! Easy to see why it has the small luxury hotel accreditation. Well done

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyOH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,316 - 1,322 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent one night stay in The Keep . The customer service from the staff is very good - they even put our bikes in a room of their own to keep them secure! Nice bedrooms with plush bathrooms, very good bar snack and lovely swim in the pool. Overall very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in April after booking last minute. This place is not cheap, but the rooms and facilites are superb. We stayed in The Keep and found the accommodation comfortable and clean, staff attentive and friendly. We used the Spa facilities which were great. Breakfast was fit for a king ready to set you up for the day, we didn't eat evening meals there due to poor ratings from previous comments on here. We didn't expect to find that building work was underway during our visit but it didn't spoil the stay. However I feel that the expansion of this Estate may spoil what they have at the moment, let's hope it doesn't.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb0rah52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from staying Saturday night with two other couples and enjoyed quality service superb breakfast in the sun room with lovely garden views we had our evening meal at the keepers which was excellent as was the service & staff we did a offer which included Sunday lunch which is well worth it worth every penny the rooms were nice & clean we weren't in the main building but were only a mins walk from the hotel. We walked into Whitby on the beach it's a beautiful walk but you need to be fit it took us a couple of hours there and back but we worked up a appetite for our lunch it's ideal for a nice quite weekend away with lovely friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweeneytodd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked this hotel for my parents for my dads birthday.
My parents really enjoyed it, exceptional service and quality all round.
Rooms were immaculate and the food a breakfast plentiful and great quality.
Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our 3rd visit here. Unfortunately it's lost that intimate feel of a small luxury hotel due to all the add ons. They were building all the cottages and the keep when we were here last. We were told on our previous visit that the guests in the keep and cottages wouldn't have access to the pool and spa but clearly this is not the case. The pool and spa are now just too small and inadequate for the amount of accommodation on site. The young men on the bar remain pleasant and welcoming however I cannot say the same for the reception staff. On our departure the card I used for deposit didn't go through and the lady quite loudly said the card won't go through. This was clearly her mistake as it went through when she put the details through again but no apology. Not very professional at all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrotsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Enjoyed the high quality service, the superb breakfast, and the very clean facilities. The Keep was modern, set amongst lovely grounds, and staffed by very helpful and friendly workers. A very short drive into Whitby and its charms, the hotel is an ideal weekend destination.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
857 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,156 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £89 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing