We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Wow what a Gem. we stayed for 2 nights, and were really pleased with the hotel and staff.
Its location made it perfect for a stroll in to Whitby. The food was very well presented and the staff in the all areas seem proud to work at the raithwaite which is pleasing to find now days.
The gardens make for a short peaceful walk and we will be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room as the locals some times use the hotel and leave early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,289
    389
    188
    74
    23
See reviews for
275
1,279
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stopped at Raithwaite for our wedding anniversary on the 6th july 2014. When we arrived we was greeted by Simon the Concierge who took our cases up to the room. Nothing was too much trouble for him or the rest of the staff. The room was lovely with its own balcony and a small table and chairs. The swimming pool and the spa complex was immaculate. The food was excellent too. Cant wait to go again. Totally enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

Mr & Mrs M Wilson

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123celebration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family and I recently spent a weekend for a birthday at Raithwaite and could not fault the staff or the accommodation. When booking the weekend, the staff were quick to respond by both email and telephone to ensure that we obtained the best value room. The family room we were given was brilliant. A terrace, living area and two double rooms with ensuites. This was far better than the family room envisaged of a double room with an extra bed. Had the staff not been so helpful upon booking we as 3 adults would have ended up booking two rooms, so this made the weekend extra special.

We ate in the bar where the food and service could not be faulted. The bar was extremely busy, but the attentive staff couldn't have been more helpful in trying to find room for us to eat.

This is the second visit we have paid to Raithwaite and it certainly won't be the last.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isobel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently visited Raithwaite for a relaxing weekend and chose this hotel because of all the positive reviews. The first night we were staying in The Keep which is separate from the main building. On entering the room we were overwhelmed by how warm it was. There is no air conditioning built into the rooms so they had put a portable unit by the patio doors. The doors needed to be open for unit to work. This became a problem at night as we couldn't leave the doors open as they led on to a communal patio. The room temperature reached 28 degrees overnight and with no fresh air, this led to a very poor sleep. This wasn't helped by sleeping on the most uncomfortable bed we've ever experienced in a hotel. Be aware the matress is very firm!! The next morning we were moved to the main building and luckily our room had windows so were able to keep them open to get some fresh air. On a positive note the rooms were very clean, lovely bathroom. Food was lovely, had a nice meal in main restaurant. Although we were a bit bemused when we ordered seasonal vegetables and a dish of only carrots came?! They also brought us a warm bottle of table water and we had to ask for ice. Staff were generally pleasant. It was pouring with rain when we left and for some reason they don't have brollies, however they offered to get our car for us which was a nice touch. The bar staff in poachers were a bit slow, we gave up ordering drinks after waiting for 20 minutes while staff giggled amongst themselves. The singer/pianist, although good, was overwhelming loud for such a small area and did not make for a relaxing meal/drink. Some gentle background music would have been preferred. Pool was nice, very clean. All in all, some positives and negatives. I think we visited with high expectations, and came away wanting something more luxurious for the price we paid.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTravellingTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have stayed in many 5 star hotel (The Savoy, The Goring, Rockliffe Hall) and I struggle to see how Raithwaite has attained a 5 star rating.

The Duluxe room we booked was split over two floors, (no hairdryer in the room). The staff were friendly enough but it is quite evident they need to be trained properly, one does not know what the other one is doing, poor communication. This was apparent from the first minute we arrive to when we departed.

We were looking forward to our evening meal in the conservatory; the pianist/singer albeit very good was far too loud as you would expect the music to be toned according. Our order was taken but never repeated back, two minutes late another waiter came over to take our order again. We were not offered a wine list and menus were just left on the table, the soup was like coloured water and two bowls were incorrect, two steaks were ordered, the medium rare arrived overcooked, this was returned. The medium well arrived and this was well done. The medium rare was returned only to be replaced by exactly the same. My mother ordered seasonal vegetables which basically was a plate of baby carrots (no other vegetables in sight). After the meal my sister in law ordered a hot chocolate only to be told they had ‘run out’ – all in all very disappointed.

Breakfast was poor, again we sat in the conservatory – porridge cold, no cornflakes, luke warm coffee served with no milk, cold scrambled eggs which was more like ‘runny porridge‘ and finally an overcooked ham omelette with no ham as was requested. Used crockery remained on the table throughout breakfast. On departing it was torrential rain and having to walk to the hotel room from the reception area of the main building. There was only one umbrella available to use even after asking for another, was told they did not have one.

On checking out – the bill was settle, we were not asked if we had an enjoyable stay. I asked for a brochure as a friend was contemplating her wedding here, only to be told they do not have any brochures.

To summarise the hotel appears disjoined, the staff need more training, the chef needs to ‘up his game’ and the quality expected for a 5 star hotel certainly was not delivered, it was a very disappointing birthday weekend.

Room Tip: Duluxe room was not in the main hotel, plus it was split over two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebekah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Spent the weekend at the Raithwaite Estate with a group of friends and had a fabulous time. From the moment we arrived till leaving the service we received was impeccable. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive. As this was a special celebration we pushed the boat out and stayed at the Lake House which was spectacular and finished to a very high standard with more comforts than home ( not very often I get to say that ). We attended the Brazilian theme night at the restaurant, on arrival we received cocktails followed by a Brazilian feast and excellent entertainment. The whole evening was thoroughly enjoyable.

If you are looking for 5 star accommodation in fabulous surroundings on
the idyllic east coast this is the place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Returned to Raithwaite Estate for second visit, this time with a group of friends to celebrate a special occasion, and we hired the lake-house for a night. This is a truly stunning property ideal for groups of friends/family to spend time together, whilst still having your own space, as the rooms are so large. The bedrooms are particularly luxurious and most have their own on-suite. You are also able to make use of all the hotel facilities. Certainly makes you feel like you're living a millionaire's lifestyle, albeit for too short a time!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank poolfan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Property: Raithwaite Estate
Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing