We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait for our next visit!”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait for our next visit!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Nestled amongst the trees in a beautiful North Yorkshire location, Raithwaite Hall is the perfect place to relax and unwind, a little bit of heaven! The gardens are beautifully kept and a pleasure to stroll around. We had dinner in the Brace Restaurant, the food was delicious and varied in choice. All the staff at this location were really friendly and helpful. We had rooms in 'The Keep' and although the main hall was only a short and pleasant walk away, staff offered to buggy you between the two buildings in little covered in golf buggys. Thank you to all the staff for making it a memorable stay for myself and my family, will hopefully be returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,289
    390
    188
    74
    23
See reviews for
275
1,279
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at this luxury hotel for one night last week. Our choice was governed by the proximity of the hotel to both Sandsend and Whitby. As we were accompanied by our dog, we were allocated a room in a small annex a few yards from the main hotel. The room was more like a small suite with a lounge and bathroom downstairs, and a super-king sized bed up a short flight of stairs. Apart from breakfast, we did not use the hotel restaurant - walking the short distance to Sandsend, and a pub meal (where we could take the dog).

As reported by other reviewers, the hotel was set in beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcl99pop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The weekend was a present from our daughters & it did not disappoint. A couple of days before we were due to arrive,Simon the concierge rang to ask if there was any dietary needs etc.i thought how lovely to have the personal touch.on arriving was greeted by Simon &shown to our room &was told when we were ready He would take us on a tour of the estate.what a beautiful peaceful place,Simon took my husband& myself &introduced us to the staff and they are all great made you feel very special. we stayed in the keep which is small but perfect.we ate in the Brace restaurant for our evening meal the food is a explosion on your tastebuds.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a fabulous hotel. Just loved the rooms, the service it was such a shame I had only planned to stay overnight so didn't get chance to fully appreciate all the facilities. Next time I will go for longer. Staff amazing and on leaving Peter the Porter gave us a tour of the site in his golf buggy which we had been unable to do because of lack of time. So close to the beautiful beach at Sandsend too (avoid the Prawn Red Thai Curry at local pub - far too hot). Should have stuck with the hotel where the food looked delicious. Would definitely recommend this estate something for everyone with the main hotel and surrounding cottages.

Room Tip: If you want a view don't have a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a fantastic night at this exclusive resort! The Raithwaite Estate always manage to capture the theme of the day (World Cup) and add some class to it! Of course, the setting is superb, the gardens are looking stunning, food was top class and entertainment superb! I especially liked the guy on the bongos who is often seen around Whitby. Nice touch, who ever came up with that idea. Great evening, great dancing, class venue!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickenliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages which are fantastic and have every thing you would ever want. The kitchen is beautiful and the bedrooms are extremely comfortable.
All of the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.
Quite fantastic and can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cottages rather than the hotel itself. The ones nearer to the hotel are easi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights last week and we were very impressed with service provided by the staff at this hotel. They were very helpful with any requests we had. My wife had some treatments in the spa and was very pleased with them and we both used the pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi and were very impressed with these facilities. The grounds are beautiful too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe8014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Property: Raithwaite Estate
Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing