We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, lovely staff and facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, lovely staff and facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights while attending a wedding in Whitby. We were greeted and checked in by Peter who was wonderful, explaining the facilities and taking us to our room and showing us where everything was. We had tea and sandwiches in the conservatory which were lovely, the views of the gardens and the tinkling music from the piano were very relaxing after a four hour drive.
The walk around the gardens was amazing, lots of little secret areas to rest or relax in the gorgeous sunshine.
We can't wait til we make a return visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,274
    388
    188
    73
    22
See reviews for
274
1,263
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

A very relaxing place to stay away from the crowds in Whitby. Gives easy access to further places in the area including Sandsend and Runswick Bay. Due to unfortunately bad weather during one day of our stay, I used the spa facilities and had a very relaxing treatment, with very knowledgeable staff. The breakfast in the main hotel (where we stayed) was one of the best we have had in any hotel for years - choice and quality excellent. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StulynSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Booked night before knowing nothing about the hotel. It was absolutely fabulous from the minute we arrived to when we checked out. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us, our room had a lovely balcony and the bathroom was bigger than some rooms we have stayed in. Breakfast was excellent and the evening meal superb.

Room Tip: we had room 104 - great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59valerie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We visited the Raithwaite Estate and stayed at the Keep for a five night stay. The keep is only about a year old but there are areas that need improvement. First, the atrium area during the day is well lite by the sun but takes on a sauna like quality. They have sky lights that open but they only open them when the temperature reaches sweltering. The appointments in the lounge and dining area are very tasteful and the hotel is immaculate. The most significant point I can make is that the service is superb! We had a little glitch with our room but it was handled very well. WE came home one day and the smell of sewage was overpowering in the room. We went to speak to the desk clerk and she offered find us another room. (initially she had an issue with an upgrade but I insisted on speaking with the manager on duty who quickly remedied the situation.) We were moved to a suite (Scoresby Suite) and were assisted by Matt in moving our belongings. Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed by the suite. I didn’t complain because we had been given the courtesy of the upgraded suite but if I was paying full price for the suite I would have been hugely disappointed. Despite being very large, there was only a wardrobe and no dresser or bureau to put away our clothes. The bathroom door would not remain shut without locking it as did the shower door. The bathroom was smaller than the one we had in the previous suite with no towel rack, or space to set down our bathroom kits. The toilet was squeezed into a narrow space, which was very uncomfortable. I bruised my side three times trying to get up from the toilet and striking myself on the vanity corner. There was also a portable air conditioner which might have been handy if it had been set up but the exhaust, which needs to be laced outside, was not sorted out. I understand that the British have some difficulties with sorting air conditioning as it is rarely needed but this seemed a shame because the unit was in the room.

We only eat breakfast in the hotel one day. The full English breakfast served along with a buffet of Continental items was 11 pounds ( nearly 22 dollars US), a bit stiff for anyone’s taste in Whitby. Despite the rooms for improvement, the service as I said, was extraordinarily excellent. Pleasant, courteous and very efficient.

Room Tip: I wouldn't select the suite because the price and amenities are inconsistent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyCityDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Myself, my fiancé and mother in law, went to Raithwaite Estate for a weekend break in Whitby. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the newer of the two buildings and because there was only about 20 rooms, there was an intimate, personal feel to everything and almost felt like we had our own home!
The lounge/reception space was beautifully designed in a modern but elegant way, lots of comfortable seating around and the space felt so open and light because of the glass roof and staircase. All the decor was chosen to allow light through and maximise space. We also felt we could be relaxed in this communal space and not have to 'dress up' to have a few drinks at the bar etc.
The breakfasts were lovely. Very good range of choices on the menu and a breakfast bar with lots more to offer as well.
All the staff, without exception, were kind, approachable, knowledgable and friendly and seemed to be proud of where they worked.
The spa was in the other building (golf buggy rides available to and from but only a ten minute walk). Very clean, small but very lovely pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. There are a range of treatments on offer but book up early as most of them got snapped up before we booked!
Our room was large, with a balcony and big, spotless bathroom, (request a bath if you want one cause we unfortunately only had a shower,) our bed was huge and very comfortable. iPod player, big TV, good hairdryer in room.
We've stayed in a lot of hotels recently for one reason or another and this was the one we liked most. It's a pity it's so far from us but if we head up to Yorkshire again, we wouldn't hesitate but book another stay! Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have stayed thee times at Raithwaite Hall, once in a cottage opposite Reception and twice in The Keep Room 1003. We found 1003 particularly useful as it had a patio door leading on to a lawn so we could take the dog for a walk directly from the room.
Breakfast was taken in the Keep and had a wide choice available. We took dinner in the main dining room. We were transported to and from the dining room as and when we wanted.
We found the service to be excellent. ALL the staff are helpful and friendly.
The only downside was that vegetables were extra on half board.

Room Tip: The booking clerk is very helpful with the choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently had a wonderful 3 night stay at this exclusive resort. The setting is fantastic and the gardens are wonderful. The bedrooms very comfortable and the decor throughout the hotel is excellent. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient - nothing was too much trouble.The food in both the bar and restaurant was of an excellent standard and the service great. A wonderful place to stay and looking forward to having another stay there soon.

Room Tip: Rooms all seemed to be equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassie7648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Property: Raithwaite Estate
Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing