We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, relaxing and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, relaxing and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Raithwaite Hall is what you'd expect for a great hotel. Great accommodation, fantastic food and wonderful amenities, a pool and spa facilities with beautiful gardens (perfect for wedding photographers). The surrounding coast and countryside all add to this as a destination.
What sets the hotel well above the norm is the staff, all of whom are friendly, efficient and their smiles and good nature really helped us enjoy a very relaxing long weekend.

Room Tip: The main house would be preferred but the rooms at the Keep (2 min walk) are to the same high standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andypix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,247
    377
    185
    72
    22
See reviews for
264
1,237
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just a little review on The Fabulous Raithwaite Hall. My wife,s staff at work paid for us a night at Raithwaite Hall for a wedding gift and all I can say is WOW! What a fantastic place. The staff are absolutely top of the range. Very friendly and attentive, nothing is too much trouble for them. The ground,s outside are absolutely stunning and are definitely worth a wandering around. The room,s are gorgeous and the bed,s are sumptuous. We will definitely go back. It maybe a little expensive but for a special occasion it would be hard to beat. There,s also a spa downstairs with a small gym, a swimming pool, a steam room and sauna. The whole place is very well put together and very we'll organised indeed. I must also mention that this was our second visit there. Hopefully next time we,ll go for two nights rather than the one as it,s quite a fair size place and there is a lot to see and do. Also I must mention the breakfast, it is tremendous and all locally sourced produce which is nice to see.

Room Tip: I think they are pretty much of a great standard so it would be hard to say, although we have stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wonderful hotel where the staff make everyone feel special. Fantastic spa and food. They even have a hotel dog to cuddle. The gardens are very relaxing with plenty of chairs to sit . Will be back as it's a very special hotel for a occasion

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel and rooms are beautifully presented. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the beautifully kept gardens. We stayed as part of a pure indulgence package which was great 3 course dinner and full breakfast including a hour treatment in the spa which you could choose from a variety of treatments splitting your time between a couple of different things. Also full use of the pool, hot tub , steam room etc. The staff were all pleasant and friendly. All in all a great stay I would love to do again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hall better if using the spa as the keep is a little away from the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotty62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilberdyke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My fiancée and I stayed at raithwaite hall for our anniversary. We had previously booked accommodation elsewhere but on arrival this was of a very poor standard so I booked raithwaite hall last minute and wasn't let down. From the moment we arrived we were met by a very friendly and helpful concierge. Check in was extremely quick and efficient and having explained our situation with the previous hotel we were ushered into the bar fir a relaxing drink whilst our luggage was taken to our room for us.
On our golf buggy ride to our room we had explained to us the facilities of the hotel, the spa, the restaurants, the grounds/gardens (whixh are amazingly kept and so beautifully peaceful). We quickly changed to our swimwear and headed to the spa. Relaxing saunas, steam room, jacuzzi and swimming pool along with treatment rooms meant for a relaxing 3 hours. We were informed whilst we were there that they have designated adult only times which was a very nice touch for those wanting to escape. Evening meal we dined at the restaurant in the keep, the food was amazing, scallops and chorizo to start and lobster and steak for mains were
unbelievable.
The rooms are spacious, modern, extremely comfortable. Everything you would expect from a luxury hotel. The location is amazing with easy access to runswick, sands end, whitby.
Above all the staff are brilliant, they simply cannot do enough for you, genuinely warm, welcoming and extremely professional. I would recommend raithwaite hall to anybody and will certainly be heading back in the near future.

Jonny Leason

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnyemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The owners have spent millions creating this wonderful hotel. All the rooms, dining/bar areas are simply superb and it's a real haven of a place to de-stress and relax. Great pool, steam room and sauna, all virtually brand new. You can walk to the beach at Sandsend in 5 minutes. Whitby itself is a 10 minute drive or you could walk it. Food excellent and drinks not stupidly overpriced for such an outstanding venue.

Room Tip: Get in early. This place will be off the scale popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Outstanding - great staff, great food and a superb Spa . One of the best English Hotels that my wife & I have stayed at over the last few years. The staff work very hard but always with a smile to make each guests stay a special occassion . Will definitely return to this Hotel. A great stay.

Room Tip: Just a superb all round holiday experience - all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimLinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
1.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Property: Raithwaite Estate
Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing