We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with efficient and friendly staff”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in Raithwaite Hall for a two day break from Sunday to Tuesday. Our stay was excellent. All staff were efficient and friendly without being fawning. Our room was very good and the bed was very comfortable. The view from our room onto the garden was beautiful particularly in the hot weather that we had last week. The hotel spa pool was welcome after walking round the local beach at Sandsend. The Yorkshire breakfast was excellent and the chef was on hand to make omelettes to order. We ate in The Poacher’s Bar for lunch and evening meal. The food and service was excellent. I had a very tasty steak and would definitely have it again. The only sour note was a customer complaining about a glass of water at unnecessary and bullying length to a waiter. She had obviously had a bad day killing Dalmatian puppies. Great hotel and we would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden. The high quality will be the same as in the rest of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Billamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,275 - 1,281 of 2,187 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Amazing hotel, beautiful rooms have stayed several times now. Quite expensive but you get exactly what you pay for which is luxury and class. Great amenities and food excellent, great customer service

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Where to begin? Everything was top class and quality service from the beginning to the end of our stay. The staff were friendly and welcoming and so helpful. The room was perfect with exquisite views. The breakfast was outstanding. The gardens and the hotel setting were spectacular. Our stay was so relaxing and enjoyable . We were with our family and little ones and we all loved every minute of it. We will certainly be going back, maybe for some winter magic!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

At the moment we are having some work done on are kitchen and needed somewhere to go for lunch. Raithwaite Hall is just a few miles away between Whitby and Sandsend and seemed the ideal place so we called in and where amazed at the quality of the food and the service and the estate in general. Although I haven't stayed there for a night I could hear people who where staying there talking with each other and commenting on how impressed they where with everything including the food, the pool and the rooms and what is more I haven't seen so many people with smiles on their faces and that includes the staff. Myself and my wife will certainly be going back to try an evening meal and I would also recommend walking around the estate in general, it's remarkable. They also do wedding services and receptions and one was about to be carried out on the afternoon we were there and I can only say I wish we were family friends because I really wish we were going to be there you could tell it was going to be a very special day.

Room Tip: It's 5 Star and you can tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We went there for our wedding anniversary. The staff was excellent, they made us feel welcome from the get go. Everybody had a little attention towards us regarding our special day. It was genuinely pleasant, every member of staff made eye contact and greeted us with a smile.
The place itself was immaculate, the location was great.
Overal we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The beautiful surroundings compliment the excellent service and in a beautiful hotel. The staff were welcoming, helpful and overall providing an excellent service. The food matched everything else of quality, although the service in the restaurant sometimes fell short. The breakfast and Poachers bar service was second to none. Five star treatment at its best. Although the rooms were very good, an attention to the absence of shaving points in the bathrooms and rails over the bath for showering needs attention.
Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Having stayed last weekend , we are very Happy to commend All the staff we had the Opportunity to meet , be it formally , or just Passing Pleasantries .
Our Approach to Reception was warmly welcomed , and we were expertly advised of the Hotels Facilities , and told about the Breakfast prices & Procedures , along with late checkout Opportunities & Sunday Lunch ( exceptional ) Value .
We have done our best to recollect staff names , in Particular Emily /Lucy & Simon , who were able with a Smile to give us a Brilliant Service .
The Hotel was Accomodating a Wedding , but there were Adequate Staffing Levels for Service not to be Diminished .
The Setting is Beautiful & location away from the Main Road Allows you a Great nights Sleep . There are Beautiful beaches within Walking Distance & Should you wish to Venture out Whitby has Some nice Restaurants .
We have Booked again & Look forward to our upcoming Stay ( within the Next Two weeks ) . On a Light Hearted note , on the Rare Occasion I Ask for a Non/ Low Alcohol Beer / Lager , They said very Sorry we have "run out " of Stock !! Must Have been Some Wedding !!
Gordon. Doncaster .

Room Tip: Room 402 , Lounge Down stairs , upstairs Bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
652 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
477 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £108 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing