We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,friendly efficient staff,perfect for a short break or function.”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

As a family group we only had one evening stay to acknowledge a significant occasion.From arrival to departure the various members of staff we met could not have been more helpful or efficient .The rooms ,facilities and fittings were of a very high standard and everything was spotlessly clean.Our pre booked evening meal in one of the restaurants was of good quality and service in a pleasant atmosphere.
If there was any issue it would be trivial in the fact that they charged for morning papers that in a facility of this rating I would have expected it would have been provided as a courtesy.
Other than that minor issue my lasting impression will be of the quality of staff from top to bottom and start to finish.

Room Tip: Our party were spread in various areas and all reports were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank huddersfieldranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,197 - 1,203 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

My Wife and I along with our little dog have stayed twice at Braithwaite, We had room 405 on both occasions which was ideal, close to the hotel, dog friendly, and ideal for our needs. My Wife enjoyed the swimming pool and I enjoyed walking albeit slowly with the dog, The hotel restaurant was first class with attentive Staff, Afternoon drinks in the afternoon on the rear terrace was always a treat (enjoyed also by Penny the 16yr old dog) The Staff in every department were ultra caring and helpful, lovely food, quality property, impressive gardens, just the place to unwind, relax and enjoy being alive, Nothing in this life is perfect and never will be but, its as good as it gets!! We will be back and health permitting pretty soon.

Room Tip: Only ever used one small lodge,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ostrichman1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the keep which was a short distance from the main hotel. It felt a bit like a premier inn and was a bit soulless! However, the room was very nice and the bathroom fabulous with lovely toiletries. The bed was very comfy but the extremely soft pillows weren't to our liking. The worst thing was the lighting out the back flooding into the room all night!! The staff were all very pleasant and I got the impression they worked hard. Breakast was excellent. There was a bit of a lack of attention to detail, our clock in the room was incredibly dusty and the room was generally a bit dusty (that black furniture's a nightmare to keep clean!) I had to ask for a clean mug at breakast. The next day we didn't have any mugs at all.
I was really disappointed with the spa. Kids and their parents play fighting in the pool didn't exactly make for a relaxing time. Another reviewer mentioned there were set times for kids. I didn't know this or I'd have avoided these times!
Still, it is a lovely place. Sort out those outside lights and give some pillow options and I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JC9079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is simply wonderful. If you're needing a high quality break in the area then visit Raithwaite. The mainly young staff are are superb, occasionally too keen to please, but that can never be a fault. The decor and atmosphere is entirely customer focussed. Love it. Wish it was nearer.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank thomasmartinthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay midweek for one night, we had purposely booked to use the spa and have the pregnancy package and a similar non pregnancy package both with afternoon tea, however this wasn't the case and it simply went downhill from there!
We relaxed in the 'relaxation area' to then be greeted by two therapists, taken to our treatment room, both therapists were rude and completed our consultations at the same time very loudly making it hard for us to think straight hence replacing any relaxed state with stress and confusion! Not a great start, we then asked about the 25 minute facial and polish we had booked to which infuriated one of the therapists shouting telling us we weren't booked in and only had our massages booked, we then asked about afternoon tea which we had booked also (-all included in the packages) - to be told "it finishes at 5" rather than simply going and asking if they could rectify the issue, after a long heated discussion with the very rude therapist she finally agreed that she would see if we could have the package we HAD booked. This made for a very uncomfortable, non relaxing 90 minute treatment with two therapists whose attitude was disgraceful. After the treatments we returned to the reception to complain and to the bar to have our afternoon tea, the duty manager, said the drinks and afternoon tea would be complimentary due to the issues encountered in the spa. One of the therapists also offered us two 25 minute treatments the day after but we declined as the stat had already been ruined by this point. We assumed all would be fine after this.
On ordering room service later that evening, we were told the club sandwich which was on the very limited room service menu wasn't available!! So ordered 2 portions of chips, 2 cokes and a small pasta dish- to the total of £28.00!!!!!!!! The chips were luke warm and only half a bowl full and similar to those of a well known fast food restaurant. Very disappointing- the salt mill they sent with our dinner was empty with no bung in- such a simple thing to check why did no one do this??
On top of this - the room we had was above reception and as it was so warm to open the window simply filled the room with the aroma of cigarette smoke - how lovely for myself as a pregnant lady!
By this point however we were too disappointed to complain any longer.
After an awful afternoon and night we assumed the bill would be correct following our conversation with the evening duty manager - not the case- they had charged us over what should have been on the bill and topping this off disputing we had even spoken to anyone the evening before about our issues.

After a 10 minute wait we demanded to pay the bill and leave, the duty manager agreed to remove the packages we had booked due to all the issues and terrible attitudes/massages we had received.

The management/owners need to look at their staff, priorites and seriously invest in correct staff training - basic manners and polite communication should be important but clearly is not at The Raithwaite Estate.
As a beauty therapist myself I was disgusted with the spa staffs attitude and the way they dealt with the appointment issues, simply not good enough.
My first visit will definitely be my last and hence no recommendation for this abysmal establishment!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Hall, Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Charlotte N,

It's extremely disappointing for all the Team to read your comments about our Estate and your thoughts on the service we provide. Our philosophy at Raithwaite is to provide a service that is genuinely caring and each member of our team works extremely hard to exceed the expectations of every Guest that joins us.

After your check out I took the time to immediately investigate each issue you had raised. I accept a booking error on our behalf initially in your package. The therapists in the Spa were able to rectify this before the start of any treatments and I'm disappointed you were still unable to relax after been informed of this. It was also agreed that Afternoon Tea could be taken at a later time to ensure we were able to deliver all aspects of the package. I'm sorry if at any point you felt this was not handled in the correct way. As a gesture for the initial mix up, we thought you may like to use the Spa for further treatments the following day.

In regards to the room service charges, so I am able to clarify any doubt the £28 breaks down into £3 per portion of French fries, £13 for the Mushroom Ravioli and £2 per bottle of Coke. A £5 delivery charge is also added on to room service deliveries. French fries were requested. We also offer triple cooked (chunky) chips.

The following morning when reviewing the bill you queried the charges for the Spa asking them to be removed in entirety. It was at this point Tripadvisor was used as a threat against the business three times to our reception team, it therefore does not surprise me to read your posted review. This goes against Tripadvisor's terms and guidelines.

The Receptionist requested that I discuss the issues with you in the hope we could find a resolution. You made it clear to me at this point you would not pay for the spa charges.

Once again, we're all extremely saddened to learn that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with us at Raithwaite, but feel that our staff and management did everything possible to resolve things to your satisfaction.

Best regards,

Mark Ayre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

In our opinion, The Raithwaite Estate is just perfect.
From the moment you arrive until the day you depart, you are treated like one of the family! Everyone is so welcoming, thoughtful and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.

The whole Estate is very impressive, the decor is very tasteful and like new, the cleaning staff are brilliant, not a speck of dust can be found anywhere.

The spa is lovely and well designed, it's very relaxing and the treatments are wonderful.

The food is seriously amazing, the menu caters for all tastes and appetites, we couldn't fault it, and the waiting staff are lovely.

The grounds are just beautiful and perfectly maintained.

We've stayed at some fabulous hotels in the UK, and we have to say that The Raithwaite Estate is at the top of our list for a relaxing getaway, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy and Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I booked a cottage at the Raithwaite Estate as a last minute treat for my family of four. In summary, it would be hard to find fault and the only small issue that we had (a couple of missing items) was quickly resolved.

The cottage (called Pheasant) exceeded our expectations in just about every respect. It was large, comfortable and mostly well appointed. Lack of storage space was the only slight disappointment. There was not a single wardrobe but each bedroom had two hooks on the wall. However, this small inconvenience did not significantly detract from our delight over the standard of the cottage.

We used the pool area on a couple of occasions and really enjoyed the experience. The pool is excellent and was supplemented by a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Parents of younger children should be aware that pool access is restricted to two hours morning and evening for kids. In fact, I don't think it would be too unfair to say that this hotel is not really targeted at young families.

The grounds are lovely. We enjoyed the gardens and lake and, although we did not have time to take advantage, several walks actually started from Raithwaite.

My son and I had breakfast in the dinning room and really enjoyed this indulgence! It is worth noting that the cottage did not include breakfast so this was an additional cost of £11 per head if booked in advance or £19 if you just turn up. At £11 I felt that breakfast was good value for money considering the overall quality and the amount that one could potentially eat!

Raithwaite is situated just outside of Whitby on the road to Sandsend. It is a few minutes drive down in to the town or there is a walking path.

Concluding: Raithwaite was a chance find but we could not have chosen better for our short family break. If your budget allows it, I would strongly recommend the Raithwaite Estate for a stay in the Whitby area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Pheasant cottage. It was on the end of the row of cottages so we had an open aspect on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PhilipTorque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
877 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
647 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 19 in Whitby
463 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 19 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 19 in Whitby
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £91 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing