We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (2,984)
Filter reviews
2,984 results
Traveller rating
1,978
616
257
94
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,978
616
257
94
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa facilities brace restaurant executive room poachers bar steam room golf buggy hunters restaurant the main hotel main hall every member of staff luxury hotel underfloor heating small balcony birthday treat relaxing break first class the cottages
Filter
Updating list...
1,549 - 1,554 of 2,984 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

My other half and I stayed here in July 2014 for 2 nights as a treat weekend away. We'd booked a deluxe room, which we later found to be based in the Keep.

The Keep is an odd looking building, and feels characterless inside. We were greeted well by reception and a member of staff insisted on carrying our bags to the room and giving us a guided tour of the same.

The room was very spacious and, although it didn't have air con fitted, the hotel staff had placed a portable air con unit in the room (it was hot that day) that was thoughtful, although large, noisy and ugly looking.

The room felt sparse and characterless, although the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and luxurious with shower and bath. There was no sense of style or interior design to the room, which I would have expected having paid almost £200 per night B&B.

This might sound like an odd criticism, but I think the staff here were too keen. They knocked on our door no fewer than 4 times in the first 2 hours we arrived, to check we had everything we needed. On the last occasion, as we didn't answer immediately (we were sat on the balcony), the staff member let themselves in!!!! The lady said she was there to replenish the tea/coffee etc but I found this to be an unacceptable intrusion of privacy.

After an evening in Whitby, we found that our room had been turned down despite our request not to do so.

The breakfast each morning was average at best, and unlike during the day/evening, the staff were almost too busy to serve us. We waited some 30 minutes to have our order taken.

Overall, I personally would not stay here again. There are too many small things wrong here, which seem systemic rather than one-off issues. This hotel is not worth the hefty price tag that comes with it.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bridge_W_2015_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights we drove past the KEEP as we were not informed that that was where we're staying,having walked from the car park in the pouring rain as the drop off point was full (poor signage) then we were driven to the KEEP,the entrance looks like the back door of a hotel where deliveries are made very underwhelming.once inside looked very nice at first the room was spacious but sparse it felt devoid of any character ,the bathroom almost spotless apart from gunge on bottom of door and some on the grouting.everything is way over priced from the ten quid sandwich to the thirty quid bottle of screw cap wine that retails for less than a fiver.the food was OK porridge was runny,on asking for said porridge I overheard someone giving instructions on how to make it! I asked for an omelette which I could have resoled my boots with,the actual design of the KEEP reminded me of a prison wing with the landing and the rooms off it.
The staff were all very pleasant but I wouldn't go back

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Lovely location just outside Whitby and walking distance to the beach which is a must if the weather is good while the tide is out. Is a shirt taxi, car it bus ride into town. Rooms are lovely and a really good size, service is excellent - we had a fantastic stay and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JamesB5392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

The setting of the hotel is impressive and the welcome by staff on arrival was warm and friendly. The room wasn't really up to the standard you'd expect - it was quite small and there was some mould in the shower. Having said that, the robes and slippers were a nice touch.

We decided to order room service for our evening meal and we were charged an extra £10, despite having paid £180 (dinner, bed and breakfast deal). In our opinion, this charge was excessive. To top it off the food wasn't great when it arrived. The pumpkin soup was fine and the fish cakes were really tasty. However, the main course was a different story. The steak was chewy and full of gristle (could only be described as chewing on the sole of a shoe!) while the large lemon sole was bland and tasteless.

The next morning we had to queue for fifteen minutes at the restaurant entrance (which wasn't busy but had lots of dirty tables) before being seated, only to find there was no hot food left at the self-service buffet. We ordered toast, tea and coffee which came without any milk, butter, jam etc. To be fair, the waitress was very apologetic and brought everything we needed, including fresh coffee etc. Unfortunately, we then had another thirty minute wait until the hot buffet was replenished, only to find it was almost cold... Other guests had waited longer!

When checking out, the reception staff were very apologetic and refunded £12, which basically covered the room service charge from the previous night! At this point we'd written it off as a bad experience and couldn't be bothered to argue.

We genuinely aren't picky travellers and we've stayed in a wide range of accommodation; ultimately this visit left us feeling short changed.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndreaM502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Found this estate after the sat nav took us up a farm track so look for signs rather than trust yours. Very new and modern hotel. Rooms very minimal, no carpet on floors and only blinds and not curtains. Very expensive to stay here but we had a one night deal which made it affordable. several places to stay on the estate, chalets, the Hall and The Keep (a small hotel in the grounds where we stayed). Staff very friendly and approachable, spa facilities very good although the sauna was not very hot. Food in the Hunters restaurant was average, expensive pub grub, a bit disappointing as we had hoped to eat in the restaurant at the hall where the menu looked more interesting but was told it was fully booked. Lovely breakfast but had to pay extra for that as not included in the room price.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews