We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
readyforadventure14
New York City, New York

Relaxing retreat on the Yorkshire Coast

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Apr 2024
Though a bit remote, Raithwaite Sandsend provided a relaxing getaway from the hustle and bustle of larger cities. Sandsend and Whitby are within walking distance (though the latter is a good 30 minute walk; a taxi is best). Several seaside paths are within 15 minutes of the hotel. The hotel grounds are lovely as is the staff who were very polite and friendly. All meals we ate the hotel were excellent. I enjoyed the common areas with various types of seating, games and fireplaces.

The bar lacks character and warmth, unlike most other areas of the hotel. If the seating and decor is changed, I suspect it would make a world of difference.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Request a room facing the gardens.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£214
  • Skyscanner.com
    £214
  • Agoda.com
    £214
  • Vio.com
    £214
1.0 miles from Raithwaite Sandsend
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £115
  • Priceline
    £115
  • Agoda.com
    £115
1.0 miles from Raithwaite Sandsend
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£111
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £111
  • Skyscanner.com
    £110
  • Agoda.com
    £111
1.3 miles from Raithwaite Sandsend
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£126
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    £126
  • eDreams
    £126
  • Vio.com
    £126
1.8 miles from Raithwaite Sandsend
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£175
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £175
  • Vio.com
    £175
  • eDreams
    £175
0.7 miles from Raithwaite Sandsend
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£136
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £136
  • Skyscanner.com
    £136
  • Agoda.com
    £136
1.8 miles from Raithwaite Sandsend
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£105
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Hotels.com
    £94
  • Agoda.com
    £105
2.9 miles from Raithwaite Sandsend
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£62
  • Vio.com
    £62
  • Agoda.com
    £50
  • Expedia.com
    £62
1.8 miles from Raithwaite Sandsend
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £140
  • Skyscanner.com
    £140
  • Vio.com
    £140
1.9 miles from Raithwaite Sandsend
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Angel Hotel Whitby
Booking.com
£88
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £88
  • Skyscanner.com
    £88
  • Vio.com
    £88
2.0 miles from Raithwaite Sandsend
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Whitby
Reviews (4,476)
Filter reviews
4,476 results
Traveller rating
2,843
891
440
187
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,843
891
440
187
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviews raithwaite hall spa facilities poachers bar steam room golf buggy the main hotel main hall every member of staff birthday treat relaxing break the cottages lovely location high standard scones short break two night stay second to none
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 4,476 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Hotel in a lovely spot between Whitby and Sandsend. Hotel situated in beautiful grounds.
Rooms well furnished, large bathroom with good quality bed linen and fluffy towels.
Breakfast good quality produce and choice.
Added benefit of a spa free to residents. Staff very accommodating and professional. A lovely stay, would recommend highly.

Room tip: Opt for a bedroom with balcony to enjoy lovely grounds
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Magser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

Lovely welcoming stay at Raithwaite, visited a few weeks before Christmas & everything was looking very festive.
We stayed in the main building, which is set in lovely grounds. There had been some confusion with the booking via booking.com, however, when a lady rang me a few days before check-in to check details of booking etc (which I thought was a really nice, professional touch) she apologized for the confusion and confirmed we had been allocated an upgraded room with breakfast, which I thought was excellent customer service.
We were greeted by a very friendly & professional receptionist & when we checked into our room, it was huge with a full bathroom, & as we were visiting for my husband’s birthday they had left him a card & some chocolates. We had pre-booked a slot at the spa (loved the pre-booking system to prevent the spa becoming overcrowded) & had a nice relaxing hour there.
We had pre-dinner drinks at the bar and then ate at the hotel restaurant, there was some confusion over the starters we ordered and we were served something we hadn’t ordered but ended up eating it as wasn’t too dissimilar to our original order. Food was delicious & the restaurant ambiance was lovely too.
My only gripe would be that service for breakfast was very slow, there seemed to be a lot of staff milling about who weren’t really being directed by anyone, we waited over 40 mins for our breakfast. We did raise this with the receptionist when we checked out.
Finished the stay with a nice walk around the grounds/gardens.
Would definitely return, particularly in winter, as makes a lovely winter bolt hole for the evening.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank teens1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2024

Great location and good facilities for our short break and will definitely return. Good breakfast and comfy room and service was friendly and very efficient.
Beach was a short walk or quick drive down the valley

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Timp9434
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2024

Although we enjoyed our stay there were a few niggles , first off the staff are lovely and I hope they manage to get by when RH is closed for refurbishment, we had a lovely room , the spa was great , missed the gym and jacuzzi , we were disappointed that most of the TV channels were not working , looking forward to returning when it’s had a makeover thank you

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nozzar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2024

My favourite coastal getaway, lovely rooms, staff, food, grounds and a spa. Being 'transformed' over next few months by new owners from 'Landan'. Hope they get it right, as it only needs little improvements

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mooshka_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews