We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, Quaint cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbey View Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Mand1326
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, Quaint cottage ”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've just come home after a lovely few days at Abbey View Cottage.
With parking, it is a hidden gem. An old fashioned cottage with enough mod cons to be comfortable - the only downside being no wifi, which seems to be a sticking point for quite a few guests, judging by the visitors book, however I did get 4G signal throughout most of my stay (which was only really needed for access to YouTube for a tantrumming toddler!)
It really does have a fantastic view of the Abbey and is located close to shops, pubs, restaurants and the wonderful Pannett Park.
Communication with the owners whilst arranging the booking, and during the stay, has been very helpful.
Most definitely recommended.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Weel equipped charming cottage in a great location!
Liked least: Picking keys up from pub other side of town, but it wasn't a great problem
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MNWorth
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Quaint Cottage in Whitby”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Abbey View Cottage for 3 nights from 13 to 16 June 2015 as a family of 4 to celebrate my fathers 70th birthday. The cottage is in a perfect central location, close to shops, bars and restaurants and only 10-15 minutes walk downhill to the harbour. The cottage is beautifully presented. Has 2 good size double rooms and a single and great living space. It is literally like a tardis inside. Well equipped and very homely. We received excellent support when booking and throughout our stay.

We would definitely return.

My only recommendation would be to get a larger TV for the living room. It is quite small for a family, fine for a bedroom.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel and central location
Liked least: TV size. Difficult with someone older who struggles to go out in the evening.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madakers
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely cottage in a great central location. Everything we needed and more. The cottage had loads of character and it was very well presented.

Date of stay: May 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseberry...
Looe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cottage”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

From the outside, this looks like a tiny cottage, but once inside it's like a Tardis! There were 4 adults and an almost 2 year old and there was more than enough room for all of us. The cottage was spotlessly clean and had all the cooking utensils, pots and pans you could wish for, although there only appeared to be 5 knives in the drawer, which wasn't really a problem but a few more wouldn't come amiss. Bed linen and towels were of a good quality as was the handwash, dishwasher tablets and laundry tablets. As we visited in February we had no need for the fishing nets and buckets and spades or the Christmas decorations! Jigsaws and books were provided in one of the several kitchen cupboards but if you like to play board games of an evening it may be a good idea to take your own. There is no internet in the cottage and our mobile WiFi didn't work inside the cottage for some reason, but that wasn't a great problem. It was a real home from home with a lovely view of the Abbey from the rooms at the front. One day, for a giggle, we timed the walk to The Quayside (best fish and chips in Whitby!). It was 3 minutes. The return trip took a bit longer as it's uphill! The cottage is very well placed for everything Whitby has to offer with shops, restaurants and pubs all within 5 minutes walk. An added bonus was the car parking space, but if you have an estate car you won't be able to use it as it's only suitable for an average saloon. However, there is a pay and display car park nearby so we parked one car in the space provided and the estate car went in the pay and display car park. We enjoyed our stay so much we're already discussing when we will book our next year's break at this lovely cosy cottage.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The street light outside the front bedroom window. Perhaps blackout blinds would help?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Mar 2015
Thank you for the review. Re parking.If a guest makes us aware that their car is bigger than an average sized family car we can swap our parking space for a bigger one, we can also provide an additional space for a nominal fee.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjsummers...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, perfect family cottage.”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Fantastic location with one near parking space. We have always gone to Whitby but never stayed there before. Abbey View cottage is a great choice, fantastic kitchen , living rooms and bedrooms. In a great location ideal for family (5 mins walk from the magpie). We will definitely be staying here again.

Date of stay: September 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scooby2Ba...
barnsley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

When looking to book a place in Whitby we wanted somewhere that captured the charm of the seaside town with a homely feel. As a family it was a particularly personal / emotional weekend for us and Abbey View was the perfect place. There was everything we could have needed. The beds were sooooooo comfortable with lovely linen, dad did keep banging his head in the attic room, probably more suitable for a little one. It did take some finding and you can't park out side (you could unpack) but there are plenty of parking options close by. But this made for the perfect quiet location right in the heart if Whitby. We will be sure to return.

Date of stay: May 2013
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.