We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chiltern Guest House
Ranked #59 of 154 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed for 1 night last week. Great location, not far from the train station (up hill though) and a quiet road although parking looked a nightmare. Had a great greeting and our room was ready. Our room was comfortable but small, bed was very soft for me and had a thick quilt which made it too hot for us, would of been great on a cold day but not on this one. The ensuite was very small - we had room 5, just about got in the shower as we are both tall. The room was okay for one night but any longer you would need a bigger room. It was very clean but no view, which we were not that bothered about. The breakfast was great but a little cramped in the breakfast area but couldn't fault the food. Hosts were great, gave us some great advice on where to eat etc, couldn't fault them at all.

Room Tip: Not room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

Chiltern is a lovely little Guest House and I will be back.
It is on the West Cliff and only a couple of minutes walk away from the train station, town centre and the water front.
I had a warm welcome, was given all the advise about Whitby I wanted and was taken to my room. It was small but very clean and had everything I needed; small en suite, tea making facilities and a comfy bed. I didn't plan to stay indoors anyway.
Breakfast was rich and freshly made and set me up for a days walking. As a tea lover I was positively surprised that I could have green tea or infusions as well as the ordinary. Jools and John are always happy for a chat and recommendations by Jooles for food and places to go were very welcome. You will not be disappointed to go to the lovely places she suggests.
The weather was wonderful too and I was sad to have to go home after three nights in this lovely place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiggiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at the Chltern Guest House for one night. On arrival we received a warm welcome from the owner Jools who was very helpful, giving information about the local area and where to eat that evening. Car parking was excellent as there was plenty of on-street parking, although this was mid-week.

We stayed in room 2 after booking online via Hotels.com, which with hindsight was a mistake. The room was not what we expected and was very dated. We booked this B&B based on Trip Advisor reviews and photos. As we were only here for one night we put up with the room. The window in our room appeared to be broken and you could hear every noise, including banging pipes, guests moving about and the resident shrieking seagull which kept us up all night. The bathroom was tiny and not very modern.

I think room 2 is a bad representation of the guest house, but as we found out on checking out, this room is reserved for online bookers. We were told that regular visitors who book direct get the 'better rooms'. The breakfast was lovely but again the table reserved for room 2 was in a corner facing a wall.

The friendliness and warmth of the owner unfortunately did not make up for the shortcomings we experienced and we left feeling slightly short changed. Lesson learned, book direct next time.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 and book direct with guest house - not online!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My partner and I had a lovely stay at the Chiltern Guest House, John and Jools were great hosts. We have the super king room in the annex. Nice clean modern room, massive bed, sparkling bathroom with a powerful hot shower. Lovely massive bed. Tea and coffee facilities provided in the room. Breakfast was fresh and well cooked. There was plenty of choice and they were happy to offer alternatives for my vegetarian diet. There's plenty free on street parking in the area but as there's lots of guest houses you might not get parked outside the front door - we found a space just at the top of the road.

It's in a great location for Whitby, a stones throw from the river front but easy enough to get to in a car without having the stress of dealing with the tiny cobbled streets.

We paid £65 for the super king B&B and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We have recently stayed at the Chiltern Guest House and had a wonderful break Hosts were so welcoming room luvly bed so comfortable and huge the breakfast was amazing all freshly cooked also plenty of choice highly recommend this hotel x

Room Tip: Great location just a short walk into the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sparkydogDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Again another lovely stay at Chiltern with Joolz & John. Very comfy bed and spotless room. Splendid breakfast as always......nothing too much trouble for J &J. So near to all we wanted to see and do in whitby.
See you in November...... highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heartsutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here for one night at short notice. John and Jools were very accommodating and made us feel welcome.
Had a room at the top of the house, which had everything we needed.
Breakfast was great, and we had really good service. Good quality produce and a great selection.
Will defiantly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#17 of 154 in Whitby
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#48 of 154 in Whitby
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiltern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Guest House

Address: 13 Normanby Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £59 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chiltern Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chiltern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing