We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiltern Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chiltern Guest House
Ranked #41 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Very nice and welcoming,stayed here for 3 nights and will definitely be back,close to harbour, shops and restaurants,lovely breakfast and lots to choose from,beds were comfy and very clean,great hosts x just wished we could of stayed longer x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keelyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    28
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
85
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Went for 3 nights and was very comfortable. The room was perfect. The breakfasts were hot and delicious. Anything you wanted was cooked and served with a smile. Jools and John were so friendly and welcoming. Had a lovely few days there. Will definitely be booking to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozzzzax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

The chiltern is in an easy to find location, has good views and there is plenty things to do just a few minutes away from the bnb, the breakfast was fairly nice and generally most of the staff were lovely. Will definitely be going back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The chiltern is a very clean well managed b&b at Whitbey with very good breakfast and lovely staff. Our biggest problem was trying to park the car because it is all off street parking and proved to be very difficult to find a space. Joules and John were very pleasing hosts and were attentive to our requirements. We enjoyed a lovely stay with them July 20th for a week,

Room Tip: We were unable to stay at the actual b&b but in a flat attached which was very nice so can not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Very good generous full English breakfast every day. Jools the landlady was very helpful when I arrived by explaining about the local area. Ideal for walks down into Whitby and along the sea front towards Sandsend. Room was tidy and bed was comfortable. Just one small criticism - the sink was a bit too small for washing. Would consider coming back though if ever I am in Whitby again.

Room Tip: For light sleepers - pick a room where you are not going to be kept awake by the seagulls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sightseercumrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have just returned from a fab stay at the Chiltern Guest House and I could not recommend this place enough. We were greeted with the warmest of welcomes and given sme great tips on things to do, places to go and even a little map on how to find all of these places......Jools you are wonderful! The whole place is spotless, beds are super comfy, breakfast is top notch, perfect location and the friendliest staff.....what more could you ask for! Our secret though as I don't want word spreading and it being fully booked when we next try and stop....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze_Tony82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Thank you to all the wonderful staff at the Chiltern Guest House for a wonderful stay. Stayed with a friend as part of my hen celebrations and the accommodation was just perfect. The location is great with plenty of parking. We were greeted in such a lovely & friendly way and were given us loads of tips on where to go and how to get around.

The room (twin - attic) was a great size, with really nice deco, comfy beds, loads of room to keep clothes and bits & bobs. Bathroom was equally as nice, extremely clean & loads of room.

Great light in bedroom and bathroom for getting ready.

Breakfast was served in a large dining area at the front of the building so no noise from the kitchen is heard, loads of natural light & each room is assigned a table which was such a good idea.

There is fruit, juice and cereal available as you enter and we didn't wait any time before we were served by a lovely lady. Cooked breakfast is spectacular.

It was a really quiet B&B and had a huge mix of guests from young couples, families with a baby, solo travellers and I think dogs are welcome too.

Room Tip: Beware for light sleepers heading to Whitby - it appears Seagulls choose not to shut up at night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hutchiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Pannett House B&B
Pannett House B&B
#28 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pathway Guest House
The Pathway Guest House
#62 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#50 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 48 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waverley
The Waverley
#25 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiltern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Guest House

Property: Chiltern Guest House
Address: 13 Normanby Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chiltern Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Chiltern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing