We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy plumbing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chiltern Guest House
Ranked #57 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

my boyfriend and i stayed here for 2 nights for a 'relaxing ' weekend .The room was small, yet clean and comfortable, the view was over a backyard so we kept the blinds closed. We were woken in the early hours by our neighbours, who were showering at 5am, and sounded as though they were in the room with us!, every time a tap was turned on or a toilet flushed it woke us up. The heating only seemed to come on at tea-time, which considering its still March was not acceptable, we were cold after showering and when we tried to get some more sleep in the afternoon we had to put jumpers on. The breakfast was lovely, however we were put in a corner facing a wall!! all in all not a bad stay, just not the relaxing one we had hoped for.....

Room Tip: dont choose room no 2
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Chiltern Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

On arriving for our weekend break and had a lovely welcome.We was in the attic room,no 9 which was nice,cosy and comfortable.The best room for the views I would say.Breakfast was really nice and the nothing was too much trouble.Will definitely stay again if in the area.Whitby is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Welcoming, clean and friendly. Great stay, made to feel nothing was too much to ask. Happy friendly staff, thanks dave and tracy. Will def return for another visit when this way again. I real gem amd would reccomend highly.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here over 3 nights over New Year,Room 3 was Clean and had everything we needed,and was nice and warm on exceptionally cold nights outside.The owners John and Jules were Very Friendly, and gave us some useful local knowledge over a local walk we were doing, The Breakfast was simply Superb, with plenty of Toast and extra Coffee when needed.The Staff were really well organised,and very Friendly,The Location is Great, very near Shops on Skinner Street, and a Great Pub the Granby. Car Parking is unrestricted on local streets, and we got Parked right outside.So were well pleased,Whitby is a great Town, Full of lots to see and do.We will not think twice about Returning to This Guest House. Superb.

Room Tip: We liked room 3 as it had a Baty window with a armchair, great For People watching.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leescottd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Fabulous guest house, rooms were lovely and clean, breakfast was amazing wth various choices, stayed 3 nights and wished we were staying longer, slept very well, no late night noises from other guests, plenty of room to park on the street. Fresh towels were given to us when we got wet through without any prompting. Very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire-ster-rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for new year. Jools and John are fab hosts. Breakfast is the real full English, well cooked, not rushed plenty of hot drinks. Girls who served breakfast are smashing!! Rooms warm and clean. Fluffy towels tea and coffee and hairdryer. located near whale bones and a stroll into town. Will be back !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for low floor if mobility problems
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My friend and I only stayed one night here but I would have like to stay for more.
Upon making a booking we instantly received a call from Jools advising us about the room we had booked. It turned out to be a twin right at the very top and therefore we might want to limit our luggage, but the room was brilliant.
Breakfast was amazing, the room was clean and comfortable and our hosts were superb, what more could you ask for?
Excellent, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSJkjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
635 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pannett House B&B
Pannett House B&B
#15 of 152 in Whitby
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#5 of 52 in Whitby
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Accomodation
Discovery Accomodation
#103 of 152 in Whitby
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#118 of 152 in Whitby
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiltern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Guest House

Address: 13 Normanby Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £60 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chiltern Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chiltern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing