We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chiltern Guest House
Ranked #51 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean room with good wifi speeds (I clocked 8mb), really good choice of breakfast and friendly, accommodating staff. Free parking in the street via supplied parking voucher. 5 mins walk to harbour and beach. Would certainly stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    30
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
88
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My first time at the Chiltern and will def not be the last. John and Jools were so welcoming. Rooms are lovely and clean. The breakfast is superb and the staff are very attentive.
Keep it up guys I will be recommending you to everyone x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My husbands 1st visit to Whitby and found what has to be one of the best guest houses there.We were greeted upon arrival told all the best places to eat.Breakfast was first class with plenty of choice.Our room was very comfy with a super king bed and free wifi.will be back to Whitby in the summer and definatly use again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paulamoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

my boyfriend and i stayed here for 2 nights for a 'relaxing ' weekend .The room was small, yet clean and comfortable, the view was over a backyard so we kept the blinds closed. We were woken in the early hours by our neighbours, who were showering at 5am, and sounded as though they were in the room with us!, every time a tap was turned on or a toilet flushed it woke us up. The heating only seemed to come on at tea-time, which considering its still March was not acceptable, we were cold after showering and when we tried to get some more sleep in the afternoon we had to put jumpers on. The breakfast was lovely, however we were put in a corner facing a wall!! all in all not a bad stay, just not the relaxing one we had hoped for.....

Room Tip: dont choose room no 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

On arriving for our weekend break and had a lovely welcome.We was in the attic room,no 9 which was nice,cosy and comfortable.The best room for the views I would say.Breakfast was really nice and the nothing was too much trouble.Will definitely stay again if in the area.Whitby is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Welcoming, clean and friendly. Great stay, made to feel nothing was too much to ask. Happy friendly staff, thanks dave and tracy. Will def return for another visit when this way again. I real gem amd would reccomend highly.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Cumbria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here over 3 nights over New Year,Room 3 was Clean and had everything we needed,and was nice and warm on exceptionally cold nights outside.The owners John and Jules were Very Friendly, and gave us some useful local knowledge over a local walk we were doing, The Breakfast was simply Superb, with plenty of Toast and extra Coffee when needed.The Staff were really well organised,and very Friendly,The Location is Great, very near Shops on Skinner Street, and a Great Pub the Granby. Car Parking is unrestricted on local streets, and we got Parked right outside.So were well pleased,Whitby is a great Town, Full of lots to see and do.We will not think twice about Returning to This Guest House. Superb.

Room Tip: We liked room 3 as it had a Baty window with a armchair, great For People watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leescottd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Pannett House B&B
Pannett House B&B
#21 of 151 in Whitby
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinewood Guesthouse
Pinewood Guesthouse
#77 of 151 in Whitby
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#49 of 151 in Whitby
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiltern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Guest House

Property: Chiltern Guest House
Address: 13 Normanby Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chiltern Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chiltern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing