We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chiltern Guest House
Ranked #48 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights on the way back from Edinburgh and was booked online. The owners were friendly and very helpful on arrival. We stayed in room 2, which may have been small but was very clean and had a modern feel. The bathroom seemed to be newly installed, again small but functionable for what we needed. The bed and breakfast is within a easy walk of the harbour front (all downhill) with plenty of shops, resturants and pubs on the way. Car parking could be an issue in busy times (not for us) we were luckily enough to park at the bottom of the road. The only downside was the noise from the room upstairs but this was only when they used the shower. The breakfast was fantastic, with many choices and up to eight items if you had the full fry up. Very good value for money. We discovered a lovely pie and mash shop not far from the captain cook museum, a very good find. Overall we had a lovely stay and would book here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northfield2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    30
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
88
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bletchley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Lovely guest house is great location - couple of minutes walk from shops, harbour and beach. Jules and John made us feel welcome and gave us lots of local info. We were given a copy of a local map which was really useful. Room clean and tidy. Wifi a bit hit and miss. Great breakfast - lots of choice. Seagulls noisy but it is the seaside!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keely B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After a warm welcome, we went to our room which, although small, was modern and clean and the en suite was a good size. Breakfast was fabulous and we were served by a polite and accommodating waitress. The noise of the seagulls woke us at 4.00 a.m. But this was hardly the fault of the owners. Conveniently situated and within walking distance of Whitby, wewill definitely come back for more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Again, another fantastic stay with John and Jools. These two have hospitality down to an art and set the standard for top notch accommodations. From immaculately clean and incredibly comfortable en-suite rooms to exquisitely prepared and delicious breakfasts in their nice, bright dining room served by delightful Sharon, our stay was relaxing and rewarding. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the premises and the peace of mind knowing we had a lovely room to retire to. We can't wait to get back to see them again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We received a warm welcome and excellent customer service during our stay. The room was great value for money- very clean and comfortable plus the breakfast was excellent. This B&B is in an excellent location, just a short walk to the beach, harbour, shops and pubs. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this lovely friendly B&B fof 1 night with our labrador, Honey. Jules, John and Vanessa were exceptionally friendly and welcoming especially as we had never stayed B&B with Honey before. Our ensuite room was very clean and nicely decorated and the ensuite facility was of a very high standard. Breakfast was first class, with good variety of cereals, fruit, juices and cooked options. I must say one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. Big plus also is the location which is great, 5 mins walk to Whitby harbour, and dog friendly pub just round the corner. All in all great place, location breakfast and value for money. We will be back...thanks.

Room Tip: Fitness centre & swim pool n/a We stayed room 2 first floor which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvnnjff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Absolutely amazing customer service. John and Jools are totally lovely and have their customers at heart. We received clean towels everyday and the breakfast is yummy, with unlimited tea, coffee and toast. The bed was mega comfy and the room is extremely spacious. The description online doesn't do it justice; we had the king size bed and
honestly the room space is ample. Totally recommend this place, you won't be disappointed. To us it's 5 star. We're booking again before we leave xx

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Pannett House B&B
Pannett House B&B
#25 of 151 in Whitby
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#16 of 151 in Whitby
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 52 in Whitby
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiltern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Guest House

Property: Chiltern Guest House
Address: 13 Normanby Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chiltern Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chiltern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing