We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Great Service!”
Review of Hadleys

Hadleys
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hadleys
Ranked #102 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We visited Whitby and had fish and chips in Hadleys there is queue because they get you in and out quickly

The fish and chips is great I would advise cod and chips but all the fish there is great

The staff are quick and cheerful and I would definitely recommend that if you go to Whitby have fish and chips at Hadleys

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TheHarry000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, plenty of room but you didn't feel hemmed in. We had Hake and chips which is highly recommended. Cooked to perfection and a pot of tea and bread and butter comes with every order. Only downside was that the tartar sauce was not homemade.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobattisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

we stayed in room 2 for 55.00 at a bargain price no breakfast included. the room was done out lovely and the on suite bathroom was tiled new and very clean couldn't of asked for a better room. the only big downside was that there was a cupboard next to the bed and the boiler in there was on all night and gave off a loud humming noise which kept us both awake all night complained only to be told sorry its usually the seagulls.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2 great room but load boiler so i would avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckycat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Without doubt these are the best fish and chips in the world, they are so good that I'm happy to travel 70 miles to get there as I did yesterday.

FRESH fish GREAT chips, huge fish size (medium is bigger than most shops describe as big), even the child's size was more than my Mum and Dad could manage.

Very reasonable prices and good friendly service, you couldn't ask for better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Not a full 'fish restaurant' like the Magpie (which we also love) but a straightforward fish and chip place, with free tea and bread and butter as standard. But the quality is fantastic - my haddock was fresh and firm textured, with light, perfectly fried and tasty batter, and fat, crisp chips. Perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ephemeraUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We decided to avoid the usual tourist trap of trying to have fish and chips at Magpies in Whitby and took the recommendation of others on this site to try Hadleys instead. There was a small queue and a wait of 5 minutes outside to be finally seated towards the back of the restaurant. Ordering was quick and easy with menus on the table and a waitress on hand within minutes of being seated. We chose the small cod and chips each and were pleased to note they all came with free tea and bread and butter. The meals were delivered within 5 minutes of ordering and we were glad to see that than the portion sizes were as big as we had been told to expect. I can eat quite well but any bigger than these and I might have been struggling! The cost per person was £7.25 and this was very good value. It was nice to be able to sit indoors but you can just as easily order take out. It was a lovely meal with super service and we could see why other people recommend and return to this fish and chip restaurant.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank RedIMPoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We went to Whitby on Tuesday March 27, I had been recommended Hadleys by a work colleague. We had a small cod and chips and a medium as well two teas with bread and butter for under 20£. The small cod was a fair size and obviously the medium a lot bigger, it was more than enough. I have a big appetite but a large cod would have been too much for even me. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heisenberg1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,188 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#6 of 52 in Whitby
284 reviews
3.1 mi away
Netherby House
Netherby House
#91 of 152 in Whitby
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadleys

Address: 11 Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing