We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be outstanding with some investment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Horse and Griffin
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Good but could be outstanding with some investment”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Late booking via their website. Room looked excellent from the pictures, however the reality was a little different.

Very pleasant welcome on arrival and shown the breakfast room on way to our room on the second floor. The corridors are a bit shabby and could do with new carpet.
The room itself was large with one window to the side of the Hotel and a very large bathroom. There was a mishmash of furniture, from ikea to years gone by, the painted chest of draws gave the impression of an artist gone mad. The walls where patched and shabby and in the bathroom the ceiling paint was stripped away and falling over the wash basin.

The bed was comfortable and we had good nights sleep.

Breakfast was excellent with an open fire as a focal feature. There are probably too many table in the rooms and there was very little room to get by.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABRDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    169
    63
    17
    25
See reviews for
60
332
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Very good deal from Living Social which included B + B for 2 nights and dinner for one night. Our room was spacious and clean; breakfast and dinner were both excellent, especially the kipper for breakfast! The staff were friendly and helpful throughout. The hotel is situated right in the heart of the old town near the market and fascinating local shops, yet close to a convenient car park. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Check the website for which room you want as they are all different and some are up flights of stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 126Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I've stayed here before several years ago. We booked at the last minute and went a weekday evening just for the one night.

Great rooms - comfy, clean, great beds and nice bedlinen. Nice decor. Bathrooms slightly let the rooms down as they are a little ulitarian. Corridors are a little scruffy with well worn carpets but I think the building is being refurbed so this may be a job on the list. Quite a hike up steepish stairs to some of the rooms so if there are mobility issues then this is probably not the place for you!

Nice breakfast with lots of choice. I would have preferred to see the waitress with hair drawn back rather than hanging down her face but that's maybe just me! Nice service, unobtrusive, all good.

Would definitely stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turnpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Our room, Scoresby, had one padded bedside chair; no use for drinks or lamp. Nothing on other side despite there being space. No proper place in Bathroom for toiletries. Smaller mirror could have provided shelf space. Heating seemed to be on a timer that had no relation to when the heat was needed. Breakfast lists decaf as available but caused problems on 2 out of 3 days. Breakfast in different room on second morning; very dark, nice for romantic evening meal. Tea light candles on table. If eating in twilight (at breakfast?) at least provide candles that illuminate the food.
Laptop on stairs left open at Bookings page. I thus learned that the owner had booked most of the rooms. Recent 5* reviews from the Harrogate area by new reviewers are probably the result. I guess if I'd wanted to, and it was tempting, I could have learned a lot more about the hotel and its guests from the laptop. Not acceptable.
Service from employees was adequate but it needs someone to pay overall attention to the details. This is a place which feels right. The sort of place you'd want to stay in Whitby. Our room was clean, had good storage, comfy bed, characterful furnishings, TV worked, decent shower. When breakfast all comes together and works it is good. However, the irritations (no bedside table or lamp, heating wrongly set, unpredictable breakfast service, laptop open at guest page on stairs landing, minimal lighting; candles ok but have them to illuminate the food!) left us feeling dissatisfied. Such a shame because the building is unique and with a bit more attention this could have been a 4 or 5* review.

Room Tip: Ask in detail about the room layout and position. All are different and some will suit, some may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Has to be the best hotel in Whitby, the staff were excellent, breakfast was delicious and the bedroom was warm, comfortable and fully of character. Don't come here expecting the Four Seasons but it your after an olde worldly hotel with great food and great staff then there is nowhere better in North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfiedog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in discovery room. Great central location the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room itself was right at the tip in a more attic space, not good for people with walking difficulties or high heels! The bathroom was clean and functional with a nice velux window looking out on the rooftops of Whitby, though they need to fix a few things in there (toilet roll holder, shower head holder no towel rail and broken loo seat) Bedroom had velux windows with views over to the harbour, tastefully decorated and soft loverly bed!! Hospitality tray was well stocked and a television in room as well. I would not stay in that room if I was above about 5'8 tall ( low ceilings)

We never had chance to eat in the restaurant there, though if the breakfast is anything to go by you will not be disappointed.

Would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner often visit Qhitby and decided to have a last minute mid week trip. Popped in to the WH&G on the off chance they had a room for the night which they did. We stayed in the Scorer room for a cost of £70. This price did not include breakfast. The room itself was absolutely stunning. Decor lovely. Big fireplace which would have been lovely if we were able to put it on. Big chair, wardrobes,The bathroom was a little bit dated and could have done with a refurb. Only problem with our room was that it was quite windy on the night we stayed there and the window in our room was constantly banging to the point where at 3.30 in the morning I managed to get up and fix the problem by jamming the curtain underneath the window. This seemed to do the trick and I appreciate that the wind was particularly vicious that night. Having had breakfast before in the WH&G we did not stay there for breakfast but instead went to the marine which I would highly recommend.
All in all I would definitely stay there again. Let's just hope we can get the fire going and that the wind is not as wild next time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Her-Maj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse and Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse and Griffin

Property: White Horse and Griffin
Address: 87 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse and Griffin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse & Griffin is an almost 450 year old Coaching Inn, the first built in Whitby to serve the route to London. Operating these days as a Restaurant with Rooms it is situated on an unspoilt cobbled shambles near the base of Whitby's famous 199 Abbey Steps. The building is technically on 3 floors but is actually on 7 different levels. It boasts 10 unique and quirky bedrooms full of history and character. The walls are bumpy, the stairs are narrow and the ceilings are low. The Bistro/ Restaurant is cosy and heated by an open fire. The food is outstanding with the signature dishes (such as the Seafood Meze for 2 & the Fillet Sharing Platter) saying much about the place - great quality, great quantity, designed for sharing and, as with much in life, you get what you are prepared to pay for. The WH&G is best suited to couples and groups who want to get away, eat great food, drink good wine, meet new people, join in with the atmosphere and then retire to a hand-made bed with a hand stuffed mattress to regroup before a chef-cooked breakfast. As well as a comprehensive English Breakfast choices in the morning also include Fortune's Kippers, Smoked Haddock, Kedgeree, Scrambles, Omlettes, Fresh Fruits and Honeyed Porridge. A major benefit is that the heart of unspoiled North Yorkshire and its Coast is outside the front door in either walking or steam train distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your White Horse and Griffin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse And Griffin Hotel Whitby
White Horse And Griffin Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing