We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Horse and Griffin
Nearby Hotels
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hudsons(Whitby)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
243
203
73
23
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
243
203
73
23
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoaching inncharles dickensgin cocktailscobbled streetsunday lunchquirky hotelsteep stairssmoked kippersscallopstop floorbooked a tablefish and chipsan evening mealbreakfast roomfirst morningcooked to perfectionlovely place
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We have stayed and eaten at the White Horse many times , the first time was shortly after the previous owner had opened up. We loved the old place and the food was excellent . Unfortunately the last couple of times we ate there the food was not good so we stopped going. We saw on the internet that new owners have acquired the Hotel and have been busy sorting some issues out and doing some refurbishing and alterations so we booked for a meal. It was excellent , The food was well cooked, the service was spot on and the old place has benefited from a few changes to the bar areas.it is good to see the old inn back on track and we will be staying for a couple of nights as soon as the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed one night in the 'Dickens' room. Very helpful and pleasant staff, room very clean and newly decorated, and warm and comfortable., With very large impressive bathroom. Breakfast very good with lots of options to choose from. Overall very good value and would recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: Would recommend the 'Dickens' room, although its up a few flight of stairs.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodstair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have stayed here several times but this is the first time under the new ownership of Ed Henebury. We were in Discovery, on the top floor, and found it warm and very comfortable - recently repainted and carpeted. Other rooms and the stairways are also being improved this year. Another reviewer complained of the odd mish mash of furniture - if a homogenised, look alike hotel is what you are after this isn't for you but if you like quirky and unusual it is. The staff are welcoming and friendly and the food is excellent

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingingJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked for a one night stay. Booked the bagatelle room (the attic) which I was aware of however not what I expected. Very steep steps and the room was more shabby that shabby chic! Bed was lovely but paint chipping I the walls and holes in some parts. The bathroom was very small but okay, however it stunk when the taps had been used. Staff were nice and friendly. Didn't book breakfast as was not sure of our plans to find on Arrival that it was free for breakfast which is nice. The location was fab but couldn't get in the car park Recommended so ended up parking quite far away. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoriatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We did not stay here but ate here on a saturday evening whilst staying in Whitby. It is quite cosy inside although they have not rammed lots of tables together like some restaurants do. Service was good - efficient and unobtrusive. Food came out in a timely fashion. We both had three courses - it was a birthday treat. I had mackerel, venison and Bakewell tart - all very tasty, my partner had terrine Cod and a Yorkshire mix of pudding - the Yorkshire mix was not great but all the other courses was very well cooked and tasty. We got the impression from the environment/prices/style of food that this was dining in the higher end in Whitby, portions were a little on the smaller side than what you might expect (although for the most part were excellent),. Prices were higher than other restaurants in the area (including drinks) perhaps representative of the market it seems to be aimed at.
Best bits - food quality and cooking
Downsides - perhaps a little pricey and don't expect large portions.

would we eat here again - definitly

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandPORA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews