We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Horse and Griffin
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hudsons(Whitby)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
243
202
73
23
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
243
202
73
23
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoaching inncharles dickensgin cocktailscobbled streetsunday lunchquirky hotelsteep stairssmoked kippersscallopstop floorbooked a tablefish and chipsan evening mealbreakfast roomfirst morningcooked to perfectionlovely place
Filter
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We spent Easter Friday in Whitby and after a boat trip decided we wanted a late lunch. Massive ques at the Magpie and many of the other fish and chip restaurants. Then we found this place that was very quiet and cosy with an open fire and a great ambiance. Three of us had fish and chips (it is the seaside after all) and one the fish pie. Huge fish which was fresh and tasted wonderful and chunky real chips. Tony said the fish pie was superb. All this and no stupid queuing or noisy crowds what a gem of a find. We could have staid much longer but had to drive home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Seshenviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the WH&G for the third time (the first since new owners have taken over). We stayed for two nights and ate dinner in the restaurant on both nights.

The hotel is lovely and very atmospheric. The staff are helpful, professional and quick to sort out problems.

There is still a way to go on refurbing some of the rooms, which brings me to the 1 negative part of our trip. We stayed Sunday night and were woken before 8am by the bathroom of the next room being ripped out by builders. The walls were literally shaking and the pictures on them threatened to fall off. Surely if you have planned building work you wouldn't allow guests to be diturbed in this way at such an early hour. It turned what was a great start to the break into a complete disaster.
We went and had breakfast then spoke to a member of staff about our concerns (and heard other guests in the hotel complaining about the noise).
To be fair, our complaint was dealt with quickly and efficiently. We packed our bags up and they were moved to another room on the other side of the hotel. Meanwhile, we enjoyed an early morning walk along the seafront.

The second room was in the attic, very cute and lovely (in fact we prefered it to our first room)! The rest of our stay was perfect, I would just question the management for not thinking primarily of their guests when booking such referbishments.

Overall, we left having enjoyed a fabulous stay, I would recommend the hotel and its staff highly.

Room Tip: Check if there is any work going on in the hotel and keep FAR away from it!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cookiemonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We've been here a couple of times on previous visits to Whitby and the experience has been a little variable previously.

The new owners have changed it around a little, moving the serving counter from the restaurant and creating a bar/ check in desk at the front. It is none the worse for this, and the ambience remains lovely and appealing, particularly on a chilly evening with the lovely warm range to sit Infront of.

My wife had the pork and I had the fish pie. Both were enjoyable and well presented.
Service was attentive.

The only criticism I would level is that prices are probably a little high.
Not outrageously so however, and we'll definitely come back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Juancoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had a great lunch with friends of seafood. The mussels were excellent and the service good can highly recommend, have not stayed in the rooms but based on the food we had here would definitely look at booking in here overnight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodie-YK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We really enjoyed our two night stay. This is a nice old inn with quirks and character. Not a corporate clinical place. The staff were energetic and friendly. The kitchen service could be described as 'leisurely' but why worry if you have the time to wait. The food was worth waiting for. The full English breakfast ticks all the right boxes. I saw some negative comments on Tripadvisor but the comments may have been listened to because we had no issues at all. This is a nice historic inn in the best part of Whitby. We would be glad to come back for another stay.

Room Tip: Great location for a Whitby old town experience. An inn with history and character.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ob1onlyhopeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews