We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse and Griffin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Horse and Griffin
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were pleased to stay in The Discovery Room at the top of the house and enjoy the views out over Whitby and watch the seagull on it's nest close by on a chimney pot. The room was well furnished, with some period items and luxury soft carpet, good sized TV, 2 very comfortable sofas, lots of hanging space, en suite bath room and a spare bedroom too. We enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant with first class food. The place is conveniently close to the rest of Whitby and would recommend a stay.

Room Tip: If you are ok with stairs we recommend the Discovery Room - wonderful views out over Whitby from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    158
    61
    17
    23
See reviews for
53
315
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Mostly the staff were very friendly and helpfull. We booked the room in the attic but on viewing found it to be somewhat clostophobic and were relocated to the Warrior Queen Room. Our first impression is that the new owners have refurbished on a budget and paid very little attention to detail in the overal appearance of the general decoration and furnishings. Firstly the door carpet trim was loose, this was however fixed and the following day became loose again when asked for it to be repaired again the complaint was not received graciously as at this point we could not close our door, it was fixed yet again. The mattress protection on the bed was bizare as apparently they did not have a spare double mattress protector so therefore had put two sngle protectors across the bed, when asked this was changed. The room was at the back over the kitchen and we could hear the kitchen fan which was in a boxed area in the bedroom which was off putting but got used to the noise. The bathroom was very compact and did not have a wall mounted shower, the window was permanently open and unable to close with a blind that was unable to be raised. The cooked breakfast was cold and nothing special, although the following morning ordered the omlette which was good and hot. We did eat in the resturant and enjoyed our meal from the limited menu although it was rather expensive. Overal stay was below average mainly due to the room we were staying in the poor facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Right the first thing I should say from the outset is that I won a night b&b so stayed totally free of charge and have debated whether or not I should review at all.

That said being an avid trip advisee I felt like I should still review the stay. I will review the evening meal separately as we did pay for that.

Firstly. So pleased to win a free night but secondly what an historic venue, full of charm and character. The building is I believe over 400 years old so is indeed forgiven for the odd creaky floorboard and squeaky pipe. We stayed in helga Maria (front facing) which was a lovely room with very comfy bed and crisp bed linen. Tea and coffee provided (in abundance) so no having to get supplies topped up. The only gripe a bath instead of a shower however I know that other rooms have a proper shower and again a freebie night so rightly we enjoyed what we were given. Being front facing I found that the room was ever so slightly noisy, tho my hubby wasn't disturbed at all so possibly more due to personal sleeper preference. Breakfast was served In the lovely first floor dining rooms, if I'm honest and I had been a paying guest I would have been annoyed at the breakfast wait. When breakfast arrived it was tasty but nothing spectacular.
Would I stay again and pay next time? Yes indeed I would.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesska92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

First class overnight stay at this old 17th. Century Whitby Coaching Inn. Really great ambience and very friendly helpful staff. They maybe need to ensure that cooked breakfasts arrive at table hotter. The problem seems to be the distance between the Kitchen and the Breakfast Room. However, this didn't really detract from a most plesent stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking01-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We spent Easter Friday in Whitby and after a boat trip decided we wanted a late lunch. Massive ques at the Magpie and many of the other fish and chip restaurants. Then we found this place that was very quiet and cosy with an open fire and a great ambiance. Three of us had fish and chips (it is the seaside after all) and one the fish pie. Huge fish which was fresh and tasted wonderful and chunky real chips. Tony said the fish pie was superb. All this and no stupid queuing or noisy crowds what a gem of a find. We could have staid much longer but had to drive home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seshenviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the WH&G for the third time (the first since new owners have taken over). We stayed for two nights and ate dinner in the restaurant on both nights.

The hotel is lovely and very atmospheric. The staff are helpful, professional and quick to sort out problems.

There is still a way to go on refurbing some of the rooms, which brings me to the 1 negative part of our trip. We stayed Sunday night and were woken before 8am by the bathroom of the next room being ripped out by builders. The walls were literally shaking and the pictures on them threatened to fall off. Surely if you have planned building work you wouldn't allow guests to be diturbed in this way at such an early hour. It turned what was a great start to the break into a complete disaster.
We went and had breakfast then spoke to a member of staff about our concerns (and heard other guests in the hotel complaining about the noise).
To be fair, our complaint was dealt with quickly and efficiently. We packed our bags up and they were moved to another room on the other side of the hotel. Meanwhile, we enjoyed an early morning walk along the seafront.

The second room was in the attic, very cute and lovely (in fact we prefered it to our first room)! The rest of our stay was perfect, I would just question the management for not thinking primarily of their guests when booking such referbishments.

Overall, we left having enjoyed a fabulous stay, I would recommend the hotel and its staff highly.

Room Tip: Check if there is any work going on in the hotel and keep FAR away from it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookiemonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We've been here a couple of times on previous visits to Whitby and the experience has been a little variable previously.

The new owners have changed it around a little, moving the serving counter from the restaurant and creating a bar/ check in desk at the front. It is none the worse for this, and the ambience remains lovely and appealing, particularly on a chilly evening with the lovely warm range to sit Infront of.

My wife had the pork and I had the fish pie. Both were enjoyable and well presented.
Service was attentive.

The only criticism I would level is that prices are probably a little high.
Not outrageously so however, and we'll definitely come back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Juancoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse and Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse and Griffin

Property: White Horse and Griffin
Address: 87 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse and Griffin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse & Griffin is an almost 450 year old Coaching Inn, the first built in Whitby to serve the route to London. Operating these days as a Restaurant with Rooms it is situated on an unspoilt cobbled shambles near the base of Whitby's famous 199 Abbey Steps. The building is technically on 3 floors but is actually on 7 different levels. It boasts 10 unique and quirky bedrooms full of history and character. The walls are bumpy, the stairs are narrow and the ceilings are low. The Bistro/ Restaurant is cosy and heated by an open fire. The food is outstanding with the signature dishes (such as the Seafood Meze for 2 & the Fillet Sharing Platter) saying much about the place - great quality, great quantity, designed for sharing and, as with much in life, you get what you are prepared to pay for. The WH&G is best suited to couples and groups who want to get away, eat great food, drink good wine, meet new people, join in with the atmosphere and then retire to a hand-made bed with a hand stuffed mattress to regroup before a chef-cooked breakfast. As well as a comprehensive English Breakfast choices in the morning also include Fortune's Kippers, Smoked Haddock, Kedgeree, Scrambles, Omlettes, Fresh Fruits and Honeyed Porridge. A major benefit is that the heart of unspoiled North Yorkshire and its Coast is outside the front door in either walking or steam train distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your White Horse and Griffin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse And Griffin Hotel Whitby
White Horse And Griffin Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing