We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food best steak n home made fries I've ever had!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Horse and Griffin
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The chef, I think her name was Natalie, served wonderful food. Not cheap, but worth a visit and worth every penny. I only wished she would move to our town. Staff friendly, some could be trained better. Breakfast a little slow, but excused for the quality of food. In all an excellent experience in a good town centre hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for White Horse and Griffin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

An oldie worldly hotel that fits right in to the style of whitby . Stayed for 2 nights in May for bank holiday weekend and found it very central , never saw anyone in charge all weekend but didn't matter has we had no problems to discuss with anyone . Would go back if was going to whitby again .

Room Tip: Don't go for the attic room if not good on your legs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is THE best place to stay and eat in Whitby. We couldn't find anywhere else to eat that came close. The Seafood Mezze was the best meal I have every had. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Lee and Elliott who, although he hadn't started work, helped us by finding out what was in the Seafood Mezze that night. The rooms were very comfy and the character of the whole building is second to none.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJC1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent two nights b+b here with dinner included on one of them as part of a voucher deal. Having stayed here before and loving Whitby, we were looking forward to it...but came away sadly disappointed on this occasion.
The main problems were with the room (the Mary Ann Hepworth, I think):
1. No shower and not even an attachment to wash/rinse your hair. It seemed very odd, as the ensuite bathroom was large enough for a stand-alone shower let alone a bath/shower combined and seemed to have been renovated fairly recently. I've stayed in plenty of places where there was a shower but no bath...but not the opposite.
2. Double bed but only one bedside table...so nowhere for one of a couple (guess which one!) to put phone, book, glass of water etc. Again, I've never before stayed in a double room which didn't have two bedside tables...very strange.
3. No chair in the bedroom so nowhere to sit other than on the bed.
Mentioned the first two to the extremely polite and helpful young man on reception (in fact all the staff were pretty good) and while he promised to make a note of them, he couldn't, understandably, do much to rectify the problems bar promise to pass on my remarks. He did point out that our room was the only one without a shower (which prompts the question "why?") but couldn't move us to another as the hotel was full.
One last moan about the room...our planned lie-in was disrupted by the clanking of the plumbing and splashing of you know what as the people in the room above went through their morning ablutions. An interesting experience.
Dinner was fine if not quite up to the high standards attained under previous ownership. Also the downstairs bistro room is still a brilliant eating area despite losing some of its unique atmosphere with the removal a couple of years ago of the central partition bookshelf and bar area, presumably to accommodate more tables.
Breakfast on the first morning was a low point. My kipper was badly overcooked and tough - indeed it was a struggle to get any decent flesh off it. A fellow kipper enthusiast on the next table seemed to have suffered the same fate and sympathised as he went past. "That was difficult to negotiate, wasn't it?" he whispered.
On the other hand, my wife's bacon was undercooked to the point of being raw, and she didn't dare risk a mouthful. In fact, the next day she gave breakfast a miss completely while I went for the omelette...a vast improvement on the previous day's kipper.
In summary, the WH + G is a beautiful, ancient building (17th C, I believe) in a great location, and we enjoyed our previous stay, albeit in a different room with no breakfast complaints. With that in mind, I've seriously erred on the side of generosity with a 3 star rating.
You have to accept the fact that there are steep staircases to negotiate (think twice if you've got mobility problems) and probably some very dodgy old plumbing to contend with, but the management really do need to sort out the Mary Ann Hepworth room and breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the Mary Ann Hepworth room. Think twice if you've got mobility problems - stairs are steep...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barstander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Still sitting in the narrow and ancient bar after staying here overnight. Very comfy room up some steep stairs ( hey, this place is a few hundred years old). You should book a table in the restaurant - we REALLY enjoyed dining here last night, and the smoked Haddock omelette at breakfast was superb. Extremely friendly and helpful staff throughout. Would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just come back from a two night stay in this quaint old coaching house. The food was superb and the staff very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is very old and has lots of stairs. It was charming with exposed beams and inglenook fireplaces and range. Our room was warm and compact. The hotel was a little difficult to find as it has a small frontage on a cobbled street. There is on site parking but parking is available in a council car park 500 yards away at £6.50 per day very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were pleased to stay in The Discovery Room at the top of the house and enjoy the views out over Whitby and watch the seagull on it's nest close by on a chimney pot. The room was well furnished, with some period items and luxury soft carpet, good sized TV, 2 very comfortable sofas, lots of hanging space, en suite bath room and a spare bedroom too. We enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant with first class food. The place is conveniently close to the rest of Whitby and would recommend a stay.

Room Tip: If you are ok with stairs we recommend the Discovery Room - wonderful views out over Whitby from the...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse and Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse and Griffin

Address: 87 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £69 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse and Griffin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse & Griffin is an almost 450 year old Coaching Inn, the first built in Whitby to serve the route to London. Operating these days as a Restaurant with Rooms it is situated on an unspoilt cobbled shambles near the base of Whitby's famous 199 Abbey Steps. The building is technically on 3 floors but is actually on 7 different levels. It boasts 10 unique and quirky bedrooms full of history and character. The walls are bumpy, the stairs are narrow and the ceilings are low. The Bistro/ Restaurant is cosy and heated by an open fire. The food is outstanding with the signature dishes (such as the Seafood Meze for 2 & the Fillet Sharing Platter) saying much about the place - great quality, great quantity, designed for sharing and, as with much in life, you get what you are prepared to pay for. The WH&G is best suited to couples and groups who want to get away, eat great food, drink good wine, meet new people, join in with the atmosphere and then retire to a hand-made bed with a hand stuffed mattress to regroup before a chef-cooked breakfast. As well as a comprehensive English Breakfast choices in the morning also include Fortune's Kippers, Smoked Haddock, Kedgeree, Scrambles, Omlettes, Fresh Fruits and Honeyed Porridge. A major benefit is that the heart of unspoiled North Yorkshire and its Coast is outside the front door in either walking or steam train distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your White Horse and Griffin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse And Griffin Hotel Whitby
White Horse And Griffin Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing