We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Characteristic property, shame about the service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse and Griffin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Horse and Griffin
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Characteristic property, shame about the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The property was lovely and quaint down a cobbled street centrally located to shops and dining. The room was ok but actually looked better on the website as it needed re-painting. The cleaning staff didn't do any cleaning as the scum remained in the bath from the previous night. The toilet still had talc on the seat from our bath previously. Our main concern was the sash window due to the property being old, anyone could fall out. Surely bars or something could be fitted. The breakfast was rather late to start at 8.30 and the staff kept missing off items on the tables. The breakfast was nice but I would of liked to see more fruit available. The bar was in keeping with the property but just needed more beers on tap. Can be difficult to park near the property.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be unsuitable for elderly or people with walking problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloandStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    158
    61
    17
    23
See reviews for
53
315
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Acomb, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed one night during a walking holiday round NY Moors & coast. Were offered free upgrade to better room nearer top of building, during the week before we set off, so that disabled couple could stay a night longer (in lower room). Beautiful interesting old building, beamed ceiling in our room and partial views to harbour, views of old street below. Manager very helpful carrying our rucksacks up (very welcome after 17 mile walk!) to our clean, well equipped room. Breakfast choice a highlight, unusually good for non meat eaters. Only criticism was that the staff (other than kitchen) seemed to consist of the manager and a young woman, and although both were friendly and helpful, this resulted in having to wait some time to be able to access our room (helped by having a very good pint of Landlord for a while), and initially slow service at breakfast. Seagulls shrieked all (yes, all) night, apparently because of their young requiring feeding, but I'd recommend you take ear plugs anytime of year to avoid very broken sleep, because any lull in the shrieking might be filled with floorboards creaking, water pipes vibrating, as you'd expect in an old house.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newpond16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonedale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I have been visiting here both to stay and eat for 20 years. Took 7 staff for dinner with fond memories of previous visits - will not return. Changed owners and the food was very expensive and poor - we returned several dishes. Service was inexcusably bad - terrible attitude, untrained staff and, after spending £300 on a night when there was only 2 other tables in, we were made to feel very unwelcome and at 10pm given the bill, without having asked for it, whilst staff 'hovered' wanting us to leave. The person in charge needs replaced, I assume he wasn't the owner , the owners need to get involved to save this lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 681Dinnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We did not stay here but had one of the best meals. It is a beautiful place and the chef is something special. Children's portions were created from main meals - and the lamb and beef were exquisite. The dining room is a stunning stone cellar. Warm bad welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed for a few nights in June in the Warrior Queen room and had a wonderful time.

The building is very old and full of character which we loved, but appreciate that people with poor mobility might not be as keen on steep winding stairs.

The room was clean and had everything we needed and the staff were really friendly and helpful and carried our luggage up the stairs to the room.

After enjoying the very good breakfast on the first morning we booked in for a meal in the restaurant one night and it was excellent everything was cooked to perfection and again the staff were very friendly.

Would recommend booking in the restaurant as it seemed to be packed out every night which I think shows how good the food quality is.

Would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noodle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Arriving in Whitby the WH & G was easily located via the GPS on the mobile. Parking was very nearby, at very reasonable 24 hour rates. (Note: Parking is Free from 18:00 till 09:00 in the car park we used, so check before spending unnecessarily)
The hotel from the outside is what we expected as we already viewed on-line, the interior is what you would expect of this period building and had a certain charm. The room we were booked into was called "The Wakefull", we were both a bit disappointed with the lack of attention to detail in the room as far as presentation goes e.g.
En Suite:
Ceiling obviously required a 2nd coat of emulsion.
The bath plug had no chain.
The button to flush the toilet was wobbly but still flushed ok.
Grouting around the walls and floors not completed & maintained.
Room:
Poor general finishing around the room regarding paintwork.
The heavy curtains had bent the brackets holding the curtain poles.
One of the curtain poles was missing a decorative end piece.
The sofa was a bit "tired" and saggy.
The fireplace surround was a bit of a disaster, and generally unpleasant on the eye.
In summary the room could have been presented ever so much better for very little money spent to "snag" the minor faults.
We ate one meal in addition to the breakfasts in the hotel and would say the cuisine was ok, but nothing special. The breakfast menu was fairly extensive.
The staff are very helpful and polite.
The town itself has plenty to do, we had already checked on-line to see what was available but both agreed that it might be an idea for literature to be available within the rooms for guests to manage their time in Whitby or at least on a display within the hotel.
Would we go back to the WH & G - Yes, but would say that the town is more of the attraction. The issues raised with the hotel although cosmetic, would make the stay at the WH & G more pleasurable if rectified.

Room Tip: Rooms near the front of the WH & G can suffer from outside noise later in the evening, and seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulie617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed for just one night in this beautiful old building that's right in the center of Whitby.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly.
Our room was in the loft and would have been no good for the elderly because of the steep stairs, but we loved its charm! With it being the loft room it was very noisy, such as pipes and voices throughout the night. Not good for light sleepers, but the breakfast made up for that completely. Eggs Florentine were perfect and the restaurant menu looks amazing. Would definitely stay again,

Room Tip: The loft room was very noisy but charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse and Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse and Griffin

Property: White Horse and Griffin
Address: 87 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse and Griffin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse & Griffin is an almost 450 year old Coaching Inn, the first built in Whitby to serve the route to London. Operating these days as a Restaurant with Rooms it is situated on an unspoilt cobbled shambles near the base of Whitby's famous 199 Abbey Steps. The building is technically on 3 floors but is actually on 7 different levels. It boasts 10 unique and quirky bedrooms full of history and character. The walls are bumpy, the stairs are narrow and the ceilings are low. The Bistro/ Restaurant is cosy and heated by an open fire. The food is outstanding with the signature dishes (such as the Seafood Meze for 2 & the Fillet Sharing Platter) saying much about the place - great quality, great quantity, designed for sharing and, as with much in life, you get what you are prepared to pay for. The WH&G is best suited to couples and groups who want to get away, eat great food, drink good wine, meet new people, join in with the atmosphere and then retire to a hand-made bed with a hand stuffed mattress to regroup before a chef-cooked breakfast. As well as a comprehensive English Breakfast choices in the morning also include Fortune's Kippers, Smoked Haddock, Kedgeree, Scrambles, Omlettes, Fresh Fruits and Honeyed Porridge. A major benefit is that the heart of unspoiled North Yorkshire and its Coast is outside the front door in either walking or steam train distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your White Horse and Griffin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse And Griffin Hotel Whitby
White Horse And Griffin Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing