We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we will definitely return to this little oasis!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shepherd's Purse
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

What a lovely little find in the heart of Whitby...
We managed to book in for one nights stay in this lovely quirky little place.The last remaining room available was a doulble room with a shared bathroom which was fine by us. The only problem we had was that within the shared bathroom there wasn't a shower but a bath with attached shower head to which the water just trickled out making it difficult to get a full wash. Also at night on returning to our room the courtyard and stairway were poorly lit. We have since pointed this out to the owner.

Our room its self was really lovely "shabby chic" in style and very clean and comfortable. We loved the little attention to detail... like the fresh flowers and tea and biscuits. We also had a great view of the little courtyard area. Which was very inviting and a lovely little place to relax in.

The shop attached to the buisness was like a little emporium full of nice things most of which were ethical and organic products.

The Shepherds purse is a gem of a find and we will most definitely be returning again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noah_Gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for The Shepherd's Purse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed here for one night on 7th July, we were upgraded without asking by the lovely woman in the shop, to room 5, which had a corner bath and four poster bed,from a room with a shower, very nice.
The towels and linen were immaculate and there was plenty of coffee and tea in the room, not the usual two cups worth.
The little courtyard was so cute and just like a french farmhouse, I loved it.
The accomodation is right next to everything you could want.
Just a note don't bother with the indians accross the bridge expensive for amount of food we got (Shaniq I think it's called).
Park across the road for £6 a day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merrypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Oh What a beautiful place to stay!!!! Were else do you get real flowers in your room...on your towels and in the bath room!! Candles on the beautiful balcony over looking a "secret garden"... cookies and coffee that is also sold in the shop that is to die for!!!!!...The room may have been small....But every thing was perfect for a romantic stay!!! We stayed in room 5! With the comfortable four poster bed!!! And the corner bath!!!...The room was spotless , with white crisp bedding and towels!!! The place just has such an air of relaxation!!....tranquility!!!.... I just so wished we had booked for 2 nights not one!!!!!!
The girls that run the place are so sweet and help full!!!!
There may not be parking facilities but just round the corner their is an overnight car park 2 min walk away at a cost of 6 pound for 24 hours!
Loved it!!!!! And will be returning!!!!!..............it the little things that make the room!!! You can tell that a lot of thought has gone into the room to make it that extra special.......
Tracy and James

Room Tip: Stayed in room 5! had own balcony and on suite!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettyboop008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed in room 6, lovely room, really quaint, clean - we loved it. The only fault was that the shower didnt work and didn't really fancy a bath with it being a shared bathroom with another room. It didn't bother us though as we were only there one night. Staff lovely and friendly and a great location. Will be back in the future I'm sure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeverleyCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We had wanted to stay at Shepherds purse for some time, it looked so cute. I booked the stay for my partner as a surprise but we were both disappointed. The room was very small and there was only just enough room to get around the bed. The bed was really uncomfortable and we should have complained after the first night but as there was a "no vacancy" sign up we didn't think there was much point. When I went to pay for our stay via the busy shop I was told that if I had complained the day before they would have gone out and bought a new bed....somehow i don't think this was true.We paid £120.00 for 2 nights room only, there are much nicer places to stay and also ones that are better value.Such a shame!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ianandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I could not fault this place, I stayed in one of the cheaper rooms (think it was the cheapest they had!), so not one of the ones with a four poster bed, but it was wonderful! The room overlooked the lovely courtyard, which was very quiet and peaceful. The room itself was a good size, although didn't have a wardrobe as other have noted. This might be a problem if staying for a long time but I was only there for a couple of nights, so it didn't bother me at all. They managed to fit in an armchair, dressing table with chair and two bedside tables as well as the double bed but the room did not feel cramped. The bathroom was shared with one other room but had a proper bath as well as a shower attachment.

The staff were incredibly friendly and polite - they could not do enough for me. I do not drive so the parking did not bother me - you will understand the parking problem if you go to Whitby, this hotel is right in the heart of the old town!

You are moments away from everything and even the beach on the other side of the river is not very far (10-15 minutes walk) - Whitby is a small place!

I would not hesitate to stay here again - I found it utterly charming. I have a couple of photos of the room, which I will try and add later.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatCatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I stayed in a room with a double bed and it was very cramped. Barely any room to move in the space beside the bed. No hairdryer provided, but otherwise the decor was cute. No choice but to park in a pay car park in the town centre, so it was annoying having to bring luggage up to the building. I wouldn't stay there again because the room is too small. The breakfast in the cafe just below the rooms isn't that great either. Next time I would probably stay outside of the town centre to ensure accom with a car spot closer to the room.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
2  Thank gidgette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,139 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shepherd's Purse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shepherd's Purse

Address: The Old Workshops Sanders Yard Church Street | Whitby, North Yorkshire, Whitby YO22 4DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Whitby
#9 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shepherd's Purse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Accommodation in the heart of the Old Town, situated on Whitby's popular East side. Nestled below the roof tops of Church Street is our hidden garden, with galleried court yard accommodation and pretty bedrooms decorated with stripped pine furniture and lacy curtains, four posters and brass bed steads. Private balconies and china cups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Shepherd's Purse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shepherd`s Purse Hotel Whitby
Shepherds Purse Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing