We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden getaway in the heart of Whitby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shepherd's Purse
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden getaway in the heart of Whitby”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break (during which we experienced some lovely weather on a bank holiday for once) at the lovely Shepherd's Purse staying in Room 5.

The rooms are situated off a busy cobbled shopping street in the heart of the old town, surrounded by small shops and cafes very close to the harbour and abbey. The rooms were set far enough back for us not to experience any street noise.

The room itself was quite but perfectly adequate for a short stay for two with a very comfy four poster bed, small private balcony and lovely bathroom with corner hydro bath. I was really impressed by the little touches such as a vase of real flowers, a HUGE selection of different teas + coffee and fairy lights around the bed and balcony area. The quality of the products supplied in the rooms (eg. handwash/lotion etc) is above and beyond normal hotel fayre.

The staff we met in the shop, including the girl who showed us to our room were very sweet and friendly and asked us about our stay, and I enjoyed reading about the history of the shop & hotel in the guest information provided in the room. The shop itself is well worth a browse, selling excellent quality food, beauty and clothing products - the Turkish delight is delicious.

The only downside really was the overall cramped-ness of layout - all rooms looked out into a courtyard which could be used but guests and was very nice, but as a consequence we felt a bit overlooked sometimes and guessed others did too - we just closed the curtains so this didn't bother us much. We also heard a fair bit of bumping around on the stairs due to the proximity to other guest and facilities and the guests in the room above on our second night seemed to have no concept of volume (I think it may have been the 'family room').

No breakfast is included, but the adjoining Sander's Yard has a lovely little café/restaurant with a cosy lounge that does a great breakfast. Whitby itself is lovely and the hotel is perfectly situated for browsing shops and walking with some wonderful views to be seen. There are loads of places to eat and many boat trips operate from as little as £2.50 each so you won't spend a fortune. The area was very busy but not loud or brash generally full of families & couples. I've read a fair bit about seagulls in reviews for the area - yes there are lots of seagulls and they are noisy and they will cr*p on people sometimes, that is the great British seaside for you! Personally getting a 7am alarm call from seagulls just reminds me I'm not at home and about to go to work :)

There is no parking at the hotel and car parks were full when we got there mid-afternoon, so I would advise getting there early doors otherwise you'll be looking for a spot a good mile away! Parking for 24hrs at West Cliff car park is £5. We paid £75 per night for the hotel room so all in all very reasonable price-wise, especially over bank holiday w/e.

Room Tip: Have a look on the SP website as they have information and pictures about all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toxicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    56
    18
    14
    4
See reviews for
14
160
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for girlfriends 18th. Very friendly staff that also run the shop down stairs and sell use their produce for the hotel. Room we stayed in had a low ceiling due to it being an attic room and the view was blocked partially by other buildings. APart from that it was a lovely stay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I discovered Shepherds Purse almost by accident. We were in Whitby for the day and made an impromptu decision to say over. We were just by Shepherds Purse at the time and saw their sign. The room we took was small but wonderfully comfortable. We have returned a number of times since and have recommended it to friends and family who have also stayed. On one visit my wife was chatting to one of the young ladies who work in the shop and the fact that it was my birthday was mentioned. A short time later a couple of small cakes were brought to our room as a gift. A very special touch. To summarise.... a truly delightful place to stay and I would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHSSSBNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We booked this hotel for the because its in the centre of Whitby, with council car parks very nearby. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, and guided through a beautiful courtyard to our ground floor room. The room was quaint and endearing with four poster bed, flowing curtains, with fairy lights, and rose garlands. Very romantic! The mattress, pillows and duvet were extremely comfy and we had no problems sleeping. There was a great selection of teas, coffee, and organic herbal teas, along with delicious biscuits which were replenished daily. Its a quaint, endearing hotel and we will definitely return, and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the shepherds purse ( goth weekend). Lovely quaint accomodation, the people who own it run the shop outside, very kind and friendly.Only downside was the inconsiderate guests below our room, arguing at 2am ( no fault of the hotel). Would definately go back. Well done hotel owners and staff

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamilner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My wife booked this as a surprise for my birthday. The room and facilities where near perfect. Situated in a courtyard off the main cobbled street in old Whitby, This place is perfect for all of the sights, amenities and facilities that Whitby has to offer.
A great getaway, hide hole, and comfortable base. Perfect for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Britt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Shepherd's Purse is perfectly located off one of the main streets in Whitby. It's far enough from the main drag to offer privacy, but convenient to shopping and the abbey. We stayed for two nights in November in a small room on the ground floor. The bed essentially filled the room, which was fine for us as we spent little time there other than in the bed. The shower was comfortable and the room was clean. Decorations were a wee bit tacky with heavy reliance on white electric lights and floral designs. The price was reasonable, and the owners did restock tea, coffee and biscuits. Quite nice, albeit a bit cramped and less than warm.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrapin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,043 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
974 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shepherd's Purse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shepherd's Purse

Property: The Shepherd's Purse
Address: The Old Workshops Sanders Yard Church Street | Whitby, North Yorkshire, Whitby YO22 4DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitby
#9 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shepherd's Purse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Accommodation in the heart of the Old Town, situated on Whitby's popular East side. Nestled below the roof tops of Church Street is our hidden garden, with galleried court yard accommodation and pretty bedrooms decorated with stripped pine furniture and lacy curtains, four posters and brass bed steads. Private balconies and china cups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Shepherd's Purse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shepherd`s Purse Hotel Whitby
Shepherds Purse Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing